Assess students

Parts of a rubric

Rubrics are generally comprised of four essential parts: a scale, descriptors, criteria, and standards.

A scale indicates points to be assigned in scoring a piece of work on a continuum of quality. High numbers are typically assigned to the best work. Scale examples:

Criteria that describe the conditions that any performance must meet to be successful

Descriptors for each level of performance that describe criteria and standards by which the performance will be judged. Indicators are often used in descriptors to provide examples or signs of performance in each level.

Standards that specify how well criteria must be met.


Task: Solve calculus problem

  • Scale: 1 to 3
  • Criteria: Solve the problem with clear and appropriate logic (method) and substantiation (content)
  • Indicators for “Clear and appropriate logic”: provides an explanation, includes a diagram, identified elements of the problem
  • Standard for “Clear and appropriate logic” score of “3”: Gives a complete response with clear, coherent, unambiguous and elegant explanation; includes a clear and simplified diagram; identified all the important elements of the problem

Page last updated: Sep 21 2011
Copyright © 2007, The University of Texas at Austin