skip navigation

Continuing and Innovative Education, The University of Texas at Austin

Outstanding Migrant Students Recognized - Luz Hinojosa

Let’s give a round of applause for the great musical entertainment that our local Mariachi Cocula group has provided this afternoon. Thank you Mr. Baltazar and Juan Diaz.

I am also going to ask you to help me welcome the 2010 Exemplary Migrant Students from The University of Texas at Austin escorted today by the Texas Cowboys. Honorees please come in.

Good afternoon. Muy buenas tardes. At this moment we will recognize this year’s selected Exemplary Migrant Students. It is important to note that this year we had more student nominations than any other year and our selection committee found it a challenge to decide on the final recipients of the award.

I am going to invite the following individuals to come onto the stage to help recognize our exemplary students:

Continuing & Innovative Education Dean Judy Ashcroft and K-16 Education Center Director Ms. Gisela Greco-Llamas please join me on my right hand side to pose for photographs.

The Director of Migrant Program at the Texas Education Agency, MS. Christina Villarreal and the Program Coordinator of K-16 Programs, Dr. Amy Pro, please join me on the left-hand side to award the student medals.

Exemplary students, as I call your name please come forward to accept your award and pose for photographs.


Ladies and gentlemen please help me congratulate this amazing group of students—the 2010 UT Exemplary Migrant Students—with your applause.

The next item in our agenda is the presentation of the college scholarships.

During the past nine years, the Exxon Mobil Foundation has awarded college scholarships to 22 of our Exemplary Migrant Students. Six of those students have earned college degrees and the remaining recipients are still attending college, some of them at a University of Texas campus. Today we are awarding scholarships to five additional students through a gift from the Exxon Mobil Foundation.

Texas State Representative Aaron Peña for District 40 in Hidalgo County will announce the names of three of the recipients.

The first honored scholarship recipient is our Creative Award winner. As Dr. Glessner mentioned earlier, this year we invited students to showcase their creativity and talents by submitting their work for consideration. We received six entries—all of them with high levels of creativity.

The next two honorees were third and fourth highest ranked students by the selection committee, which places them under the scholarship recipient category.

Our top two-ranked students, also known as our Students of the Year, will be recognized later in the ceremony.

Without further delay, please welcome Representative Peña.