Research & Education


Apr 29, 2015
2015-2016 LIFT Proposal Solicitation is open until July 10th, 2015

Aug 07, 2014
The Longhorn Innovation Fund for Technology (LIFT) winners have been announced!

May 10, 2014
The Longhorn Innovation Fund for Technology (LIFT) has Launched!


The Research and Educational Technology Committee focuses on coordination and communication to support research and educational technologies across campus. This group provides leadership for the University's research capabilities, learning management system, teaching and collaboration tools, and classroom technology tools. Through the Longhorn Innovation Fund for Technology (LIFT), the committee leads the effort to identify initiatives and allocate seed money to innovative technology projects that support students and faculty at the University.

Committee Members

Chair: Pat Davis

Research & Educational Technology Committee Members
Name Position & Organization

Alan Cline, Ph.D.

Jr. Centennial Professor in Computer Science, Department of Computer Sciences

Allan Shearer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, School of Architecture

Ann Molineaux, Ph.D.

Curator, Jackson School of Geosciences

Ariel Schwartz

Doctoral Student, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Bill Barth, Ph.D.

Research Scientist, Texas Advanced Computing Center

Brad Englert

University Chief Information Officer and ITS Chief Operating Officer, Office of the Chief Information Officer

Bruce Pennycook, D.M.A.

Professor, Director of Digital Arts, College of Fine Arts

Catherine Weaver, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Chris Webb, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research Operations, Dell Medical School

Cynthia Fisher

Learning Technologies Librarian, University of Texas Libraries

Hemat Patel

College Senate Representative

Isaac Barchas

Director, Austin Technology Icubator

James Henson, Ph.D.

Director of Texas Politics Project, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts

James Pennebaker, Ph.D.

Professor, Department Chair, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Kelley Crews, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts

Mario Guerra

Project Manager, Center for Teaching and Learning

Matt Mangum

Director I, Cockrell School of Engineering

Matthew Lease, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, School of Information

Megan Reiss

Doctoral Candidate, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Monette McIver

Manager of Community Services, College of Natural Sciences

Pat Davis, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean, Professor, College of Pharmacy

Wenhong Chen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio Television Film

Download Adobe Reader. Trouble viewing linked documents? Download Adobe Reader.

Meeting Information

Third Thursday of every month 9-10:15 a.m., FAC 228D (subject to change).

Jan 21
Dec 17
No Meeting
Oct 15
Sep 17
Aug 20
No Meeting

Current Projects