Department of Asian Studies
Department of Asian Studies

Two more Awards for outstanding Telugu students

Thu, February 25, 2010

The San Antonio Telugu Association announced two more awards for outstanding Telugu students at the University of Texas at Austin. On the occasion of the Telugu Language day held here at the GSB Events Hall on February 24th, Dr. Madhava Rao Govindaraju, the president of the Telugu Association, made this announcement. The UT Telugu Students Association and the Telugu Association of North America (TANA) convened this special event to celebrate the success of the Telugu language program at UT-Austin. Mr. Prasad Thotakoora, who participated in this event as the representative of TANA, declared that TANA, along with the collaboration of various Telugu associations in Texas, is committed to working hard to generate more financial sources to develop the program at UT. Professor Joel Brereton, Chairman of the Department of Asian Studies, particularly mentioned the efforts of Dr. Afsar in developing new teaching materials and strategies to continually improve the quality of the Telugu program. The increasing number of students taking Telugu clearly shows the success of the program, he said. Dr. Lakshmanna Vishnubhotla, a representative from the Austin Telugu community congratulated the consistent efforts in developing the program. “It’s our fortune to have a well-known Telugu writer and scholar such as Afsar teaching this program, and the entire Texas community should take advantage of this unique opportunity,” he said. Ramki Chebrolu, Chairman of the TANA Telugu Language Committee, said that TANA, which funds the Telugu language program at UT-Austin, is working with the entire Telugu community to develop more resources for the program.

Divya Yalamanchili and Deepica Mutyala, President and Vice-President of the UT-Telugu Students Association announced the new board of members for the association. Dr. Vennam Murali, Vice-President, TANA regional committee also participated in the event.

With two more awards, the UT-Telugu program now has four awards for outstanding Telugu students. These awards will be given in a special event in Fall, 2010.

Pictures of the event are available here.

Bookmark and Share