Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
aas masthead
Sharmila Rudrappa, Director BUR 480, Mailcode A2200, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6427

Faculty List

Core Faculty

North Cooc

Assistant Professor

ncooc@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7923  |  SZB 532A

Education   

Ed.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Disabilities and special education, education policy and evaluation, immigration and international education, childhood literacy

Rowena Fong

Professor

rfong@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1393  |  SSW 3.122G

Education   

Ed.D., Harvard University
Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Assistant Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1667  |  WCH 4.104G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7850  |  GAR 3.222

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Migration, Transnationalism and Diaspora, Chinese Overseas, and Ethnic Studies.

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com  |  512-475-6031  |  WCH 4.134

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assistant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9239  |  CMA 5.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  online articulations of racialized, brown, and transnational cultural identities within a South Asian American contex

Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7279  |  WCH 5.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  Comparative Race and Ethnicity, Feminist Theory, Labor, Immigration, and Citizenship.

Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Assistant Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8114  |  PAR 27

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6044  |  WCH 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University
Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7229  |  GAR 3.106

Education   

PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison
Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Urban Policy Research & Analysis; Division of Diversity and Community Engagement

erictang@utexas.edu  |  512-471-4380  |  BEL 243E

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, American Studies, New York University

Interests

  Racism & Anti-racism; The Poetics of Displacement; Urban unrest; Activist research

Photo of Kamala Visweswaran

Kamala Visweswaran

Associate Professor

kvis@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8516  |  SAC 5.156

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Affiliated Faculty

Mia Carter

Faculty

miaC@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8733  |  PAR 123

Education   

Ph.D., English and Modern Studies, 1992, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4952  |  CMA 6.136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto

Miyong Kim

Professor | Associate Vice President for Community Health Engagement | La Quinta Centennial Endowed Professor

mkim@nursing.utexas.edu  |  NUR 5.141

Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Associate Professor

projectfamily@gmail.com  |  512-471-5524  |  SEA 2.322C

Education   

Ph.D. HDFS, University of California, Davis

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3498  |  CMA 5.124

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington

Amy Liu

Assistant Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

Beili Liu

Associate Professor

beili@austin.utexas.edu  |  512–471–6071  |  ART 4.414

Education   

MFA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Teaching Affiliates

Aarti Bhalodia

Lecturer

bhalodia@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Alexander Cho

Assistant Instructor

alexcho47@gmail.com

Education   

M.A., Media Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Social media, critical race theory, critical mixed race studies, gender and sexuality studies

Photo of Peter Hamilton

Peter Hamilton

Assistant Instructor

peter.e.hamilton@gmail.com

Education   

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin, B.A, Yale College

Ramey Ko

Lecturer

ramey.ko@gmail.com

Education   

J.D., University of Chicago Law School
Photo of Charles Lu

Charles Lu

Lecturer

charles.lu@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Student identity, STEM education, the education pipeline, study abroad experiences

Susan Mays

Faculty

smays@utexas.edu  |  BUR 482

Education   

PhD, Columbia
Photo of Sheela Jane Menon

Sheela Jane Menon

Assistant Instructor

sjmenon@utexas.edu

bottom border