Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
caaas masthead caaas masthead
Cherise Smith, Ph.D, Director JES A232A, Mailcode D7200, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1784

Past Events

Mon, Dec 1, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Mon, Dec 1, 2008 6:00 PM | (FAC 419) Flawn Academic Center

Second Annual World AIDS Day Conference

Thu, Nov 20, 2008 5:00 PM | Calhoun Hall Room 100

"Sites of Memory: The Atlantic and Other Crossings"

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Thu, Nov 13, 2008 | TBD

Making Race Making Health Conference

Fri, Nov 7, 2008 3:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

Official Re-Naming Ceremony of the Center for African and African American Studies-John L. Warfield

Mon, Nov 3, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Mon, Oct 27, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Sun, Oct 19, 2008 3:00 PM | WIN 2.180

delta dandi

Mon, Oct 13, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Fri, Oct 3, 2008 3:00 PM | Intellectual Property - 2402 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX 78705

"Incognegro" (book reading)

Fri, Oct 3, 2008 12:15 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

"Progressive Publishers and Academics: The Last Word on Social Justice?"

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 3:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Lectures on Art in the Black Diaspora: What Difference Does Diaspora Make? Art History After Globalization (SEMINAR)

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 5:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Lectures on Art in the Black Diaspora: What Difference Does Diaspora Make? Art History After Globalization

Mon, Sep 29, 2008 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Documentaries of the African Diaspora: The African Experience Screend and Discussed

Fri, Sep 26, 2008 3:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

Workshop in African Studies: "Race and the Anthropology of Africa"

Fri, Sep 19, 2008 5:30 PM | TBD

Black Faculty Staff Reception

Sun, Sep 14, 2008 2:00 PM | Brockett Theater

Performing Blackness Series

Fri, Sep 12, 2008 3:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Diaspora Talk: "White Ignorance"

Thu, Sep 11, 2008 8:00 PM | Brockett Theater

Performing Blackness Series

Fri, Sep 5, 2008 4:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Black Graduate Student Association (BGSA) Kick Off Event

Fri, Aug 29, 2008 11:30 AM | TBD

CAAAS New Faculty Luncheon

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 11:30 AM | TBD

CAAAS Graduate Student Orientation

Fri, May 2, 2008 3:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Doctoral Portfolio Presentations

Fri, May 2, 2008 12:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Student Open House

Thu, May 1, 2008 | MLK Statue

Peace and Justice Day

Sun, Apr 27, 2008 2:00 PM | WIN 2.180

"Moments We Know"

Sun, Apr 27, 2008 6:30 PM | Alumni Center

Black Essence Banquet

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 | CAAAS Conference Room

Brazil Symposium

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 7:30 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Chord Shift and Blue Notes

Fri, Apr 11, 2008 12:00 PM | Texas Union Room 4.118

Index for Ranking African American Quality of Life

Fri, Apr 11, 2008 | CAAAS Conference Room

Yoruba Day

Sat, Apr 5, 2008 | TBD

Austin Project

Fri, Apr 4, 2008 3:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

CAAAS Faculty Meeting

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 | Texas Union

2008 Africa Conference

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 7:00 PM | Thompson Conference Center

Heman Sweatt Symposium on Civil Rights

Tue, Mar 25, 2008 7:00 PM | Prothro Theater (HRC)

Heman Sweatt Symposium on Civil

Sat, Mar 22, 2008 8:00 PM | WIN 2.180

"The Pork Chop Wars"

Mon, Mar 17, 2008 8:00 PM | WIN 2.180

"Imagining"

Fri, Mar 7, 2008 12:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Africa Seminar

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 4:00 PM | UTC 4.134

"The Obama Phenomenon"

Mon, Feb 25, 2008 4:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

The dynamics of shame and humor in Maryse Condé's Célenire cou-coupé

Thu, Feb 21, 2008 | San Jacinto Conference Center, The University of Texas at Austin

Activist Scholarship at the Tejas Global Crossroads

Thu, Feb 21, 2008 8:00 PM | The Off Center

"Sugar"

Fri, Feb 1, 2008 3:00 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

CAAAS Faculty Meeting

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 12:30 PM | CAAAS Conference Room

Diaspora Talk: Jos Repertory Theatre of Nigeria

Mon, Jan 21, 2008 9:00 AM | MLK Statue

MLK CELEBRATION

bottom border