Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
caaas masthead
Cherise Smith, Ph.D, Director JES A232A, Mailcode D7200, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1784

Past Events

Wed, Dec 8, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

"The Industrial Womb: Racism, Capitalism and Reproductive Labor" by Dr. France Winddance Twine, Professor of Sociology; The University of California - Santa Barbara

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

A Community Forum: "Higher Education Policies in Texas & It's Impact On Our Community" [State Representative Sylvester Turner]

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 1:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Yoruba Studies Film Series

Mon, Nov 22, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Summer Research Fellows Talk Series

Fri, Nov 12, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Diaspora Talk Series - Poetics of Relations: Thinking, Caribbean, Diaspora

Wed, Nov 3, 2010 1:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Yoruba Studies Film Series

Mon, Nov 1, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Summer Research Fellows Talk Series

Fri, Oct 29, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

African Feminisms Lecture Series: "Crafting an Inclusive Citizenship for Women in the Post-Colonial African Moment"

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 6:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Gallery Talk: “A Glimpse of Tomorrow II”

Mon, Oct 18, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

[POSTPONED] Summer Research Fellows Talk Series [POSTPONED]

Tue, Oct 12, 2010 6:00 PM | Blanton Museum of Art, Auditorium The University of Texas at Austin - MLK at Congress

Lectures on Art in the Black Diaspora

Thu, Oct 7, 2010 6:00 PM | Blanton Museum of Art, Auditorium The University of Texas at Austin - MLK at Congress

Lectures on Art in the Black Diaspora

Mon, Oct 4, 2010 1:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Yoruba Studies Film Series

Thu, Sep 16, 2010 7:00 PM | Book Woman - 5501 North Lamar

Open Book: A Bookmaking Workshop for Writers and Visual Artist

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 11:00 AM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies and African and African Diaspora Studies Department

Undergraduate Student Open House

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 2:00 PM | The Oscar G. Brockett Theatre - Winship Drama Building - 23rd and San Jacinto

Performing Blackness Series: “Sweet Tea”

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 8:00 PM | The Oscar G. Brockett Theatre - Winship Drama Building - 23rd and San Jacinto

Performing Blackness Series: “Sweet Tea”

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 5:00 PM | AT&T Executive Education Center, Tejas Dining Room - 1900 University Avenue, Austin, Texas

Black Faculty & Staff Reception

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 8:00 PM | The Oscar G. Brockett Theatre - Winship Drama Building - 23rd and San Jacinto

Performing Blackness Series: “Sweet Tea”

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 1:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

Yoruba Studies Film Series

Sun, Aug 8, 2010 3:00 PM | New East Arts Gallery @ the Saltillo Lofts - 1601 East 5th Street, Suite 106

Fresh Black Paint 2010

Fri, May 7, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A230)

The Spring 2010 Doctoral Portfolio Presentations

Sun, May 2, 2010 2:00 PM | Please see posted schedule for details

II Annual Freedom Weekend

Sat, May 1, 2010 10:30 AM | Please see posted schedule for details

II Annual Freedom Weekend

Fri, Apr 30, 2010 6:30 PM | Please see posted schedule for details

II Annual Freedom Weekend

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 3:30 PM | Please see posted schedule for details

II Annual Freedom Weekend

Sat, Apr 24, 2010 4:00 PM | The Vortex Cafe - 2307 Manor Road - Austin, Texas 78722

The Austin Project Jam Sessions (Show time is at 4:00pm)

Fri, Apr 23, 2010 12:00 PM | ISES Gallery - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A230)

Yoruba Day - "(Re-)Constructing Yoruba Religion and Culture in the Americas: New Paths to Globalizing Traditions."

Fri, Apr 23, 2010 8:00 PM | WIN 2.180

The Austin Project Jam Sessions

Fri, Apr 16, 2010 12:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

Diaspora Talk Series: The Obamas and the New Politics of Race - "White Anger, Crazy Patriotism, and (Post)Black Performativity

Sat, Apr 10, 2010 6:30 PM | Texas Union Ballroom

Black Essence Awards Banquet

Fri, Apr 9, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A230)

Diaspora Talk Series: The Obamas and the New Politics of Race - "A Return to the Archive: Obama, the Novel, and the Challenge of the Present"

Fri, Apr 9, 2010 11:00 AM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies - Carver Museum and Cultural Center - 1165 Angelina Street - Austin, TX 78702-2034

The 1st Annual “The Blackness and Media Project”

Mon, Apr 5, 2010 10:00 AM | ISES Gallery - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A230)

Brazil Symposium

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 3:00 PM | Location and Time TBA

Guest Lecture: Bill Fletcher, Executive Editor of The Black Commentator

Sun, Mar 28, 2010 | The Texas Union (Room TBA) - The University of Texas at Austin

African History Conference "Women, Gender and Sexualities in Africa"

Sat, Mar 27, 2010 | The Texas Union (Room TBA) - The University of Texas at Austin

African History Conference "Women, Gender and Sexualities in Africa"

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 | The Texas Union (Room TBA) - The University of Texas at Austin

African History Conference "Women, Gender and Sexualities in Africa"

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 3:45 PM | The Texas Union (Room TBA) - The University of Texas at Austin

African Feminisms Seminar: “And She Became A King: Female Radical Politics in a Changing Igbo (Nigerian) World”

Thu, Mar 25, 2010 3:00 PM | ISES Gallery (JES A230) - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

Diaspora Talk Series: The Obamas and the New Politics of Race - “Things Behind the Sun: Obama and the Politics of Good Times”

Fri, Mar 19, 2010

SPRING BREAK

Thu, Mar 18, 2010

SPRING BREAK

Wed, Mar 17, 2010

SPRING BREAK

Tue, Mar 16, 2010

SPRING BREAK

Mon, Mar 15, 2010

SPRING BREAK

Thu, Mar 4, 2010 6:00 PM | ISES Gallery - Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A230)

Gallery Talk: My Life Behind the Window - the unintended portraits of the Meninas de Sinhá, Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Sun, Feb 28, 2010 | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center - The University of Texas at Austin

Big XII Conference on Black Student Government - "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Sat, Feb 27, 2010 | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center - The University of Texas at Austin

Big XII Conference on Black Student Government - "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Fri, Feb 26, 2010 | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center - The University of Texas at Austin

Big XII Conference on Black Student Government - "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Thu, Feb 25, 2010 | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center - The University of Texas at Austin

Big XII Conference on Black Student Government - "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 9:30 AM | The Texas Union - The University of Texas at Austin

Abriendo Brecha VII Conference: Scholarship - Opening a Path; A Conference on Scholarship - Activism - Social Justice

Sat, Feb 20, 2010 8:00 PM | WIN 2.180

Performing Blackness Series: “ring shout”

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 9:30 AM | The Texas Union - The University of Texas at Austin

Abriendo Brecha VII Conference: Scholarship - Opening a Path; A Conference on Scholarship - Activism - Social Justice

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 9:30 AM | The Texas Union - The University of Texas at Austin

Abriendo Brecha VII Conference: Scholarship - Opening a Path; A Conference on Scholarship - Activism - Social Justice

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 3:00 PM | ISESE Gallery/Warfield Center (Jester Center A232A)

Workshop in African Studies: "Land and Politics in Contemporary Africa"

Thu, Feb 11, 2010 6:00 PM | ISESE Gallery (JES A230) - The John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

CELEBRATE NEW BEGINNINGS! With Faculty Promotions and New Academic Units!

Tue, Feb 2, 2010 12:00 PM | Hackett Room, SRH 1.313

Talk in LLILAS: The Natural/Social Disaster in Haiti Tomorrow

Fri, Jan 22, 2010 12:00 PM | John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies (JES A232)

**Haiti Relief Effort**

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 9:00 AM | MLK Statue (University of Texas)

Martin Luther King Day March/Celebration

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 6:00 PM | Crowne Plaza Hotel - 6121 North IH 35 Austin, Texas 78752 (Grand Ballroom)

The Leadership Enrichment Arts Program (LEAP) - "20 Years and Continuing to Rise..."

bottom border