Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
caaas masthead
Cherise Smith, Ph.D, Director JES A232A, Mailcode D7200, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1784

Past Events

Mon, Nov 26, 2012 2:00 PM | JESTER A230

Brazil Black Consciousness Day

Fri, Nov 9, 2012 1:00 PM | Blanton Museum Auditorium -200 E. Martin Luther King Blvd.

Forum: THE STATE OF BLACK UT

Tue, Oct 30, 2012 5:00 PM | Santa Rita Suite Texas Union 3.502

The Power to Swing the Election? Black and Latina/o Voters in 2012

Wed, Oct 17, 2012 2:00 PM | Isese Gallery -- Jester A230

Faculty Seminar: "Sovereign Violence: Illicit Intimacy" - RSVP Required

Mon, Oct 15, 2012 4:00 PM | Isese Gallery -- Jester A230

Roundtable Discussion: Post-Fisher: Post-Race?

Sat, Sep 29, 2012 11:00 AM | The John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies, the George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center

Food for Black Thought

Fri, Sep 28, 2012 11:00 AM | The John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies, the George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center

Food for Black Thought

Thu, Sep 13, 2012 3:00 PM | Isese Gallery -- Jester A230

Presentation by Representative Sylvester Turner

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 3:30 PM | Avaya Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

"Why Asian American Studies Matters Now" talk by George Lipsitz

Thu, May 10, 2012 7:00 PM | WIN 2.180

Performance of "Ache What Make" by Lenelle Moise

Thu, May 3, 2012 5:30 PM | Isese Gallery/ Jester Center A230

Film Screening: "Passing for Almost Straight" with Dr. Mark Broomfield

Wed, May 2, 2012 3:00 PM | Warfield Center/ISESE Gallery A230

Doctoral Portfolio Presentation

Tue, May 1, 2012 12:00 PM | MLK Statue on the University of Texas Campus (23rd street and Speedway)

Peace and Justice Day

Sat, Apr 28, 2012 6:30 PM | North Endzone Club - DKR Stadium (2100 San Jacinto)

Black Essence Awards

Thu, Apr 26, 2012 6:30 PM | KLRU Main Studios

"Blackademics": Black Studies New Media Conference

Tue, Apr 24, 2012 3:30 PM | PAR 1 (Parlin building)

"Black in Ukraine" with Terrell Starr, Journalist and Fulbright Scholar

Fri, Apr 20, 2012 9:00 AM | Warfield Center/ISESE Gallery A230

The Performance of the Un-thought: Blackness and Diaspora

Fri, Apr 13, 2012 12:00 PM | Warfield Center/ISESE Gallery A230

Yoruba Day

Thu, Apr 5, 2012 7:00 PM | Bookwoman - 5501 N. Lamar Boulevard, Austin, TX 78751

Book Launch Party with Dr. Meta Jones and Dr. Cherise Smith

Fri, Mar 30, 2012 11:00 AM | TBA

POSTPONED: Symposium : Food for Black Thought Event

Wed, Mar 28, 2012 5:30 PM | Warfield Center - Isese Gallery/Jester Center A230

Roundtable Discussion: Linsanity and Afro-Asian America

Thu, Feb 16, 2012 3:30 PM

AADS/Harry Ransom Center Workshop

Thu, Feb 9, 2012 3:00 PM | Student Activity Center, 2201 Speedway, Black Box Theater

Film Screening and Panel Discussion: 'W.A.R. Stories: Walter Anthony Rodney'

Mon, Jan 16, 2012 8:45 AM | MLK Statue on the University of Texas Campus

19th Annual MLK March

bottom border