Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
coretexts masthead coretexts masthead
Lorraine and Tom Pangle, Co-Directors BAT 2.116, C4100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-6648

Faculty List

Photo of Jeffrey Abramson

Jeffrey Abramson

Professor of Government

jabramson@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1387  |  MEZ 3.148

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  constitutional law, civil liberties, the jury, and political theory

Photo of Michael W Adams

Michael W Adams

Associate Professor of English

adameve@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4991  |  CAL 316

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Legal writing; history of Western thought; the Bible as literature; the modern short story; the modern American novel

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor of Sociology

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4284  |  BUR 468

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Hina Azam

Hina Azam

Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern Studies

hina.azam@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D.- 2007, Duke University

Interests

  Islamic jurisprudence, theology, exegesis, hadith studies; Women/sexuality and Islam; Sexual Violence in Islamic Law

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor of French and Italian; Director, Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7267  |  HRH 2.110B

Interests

  Comparative Literature, French and Italian, Medieval Studies, Plan II Honors, Renaissance Italy: strategies for being conspicuous, professionalism, propriety, visual and verbal art

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor, Department of French and Italian

mbizer@utexas.edu  |  512-471-7780  |  HRH 3.112B

Education   

PhD, Princeton University

Interests

  early modern Europe & France, classical reception, national identity, gender

Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor of Philosophy

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-4333  |  WAG 403

Education   

PhD, Pittsburgh

Interests

  Philosophy; Logic; Moral Issues; Ethics; Philosophy in Popular Culture; Christian Philosophy.

Steele Brand

Postdoctoral Fellow, Clements Center for History, Strategy, and Statecraft

steele_brand@utexas.edu  |  FAC 248O

Photo of Bruce Buchanan

Bruce Buchanan

Professor

bruceb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7212  |  BAT 3.122

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Presidential and American politics, American institutions, public policy and political behavior

Photo of John S. Butler

John S. Butler

Gale Chair in Small Business and Business Management and Entrepreneurship

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4788  |  CBA 6.424A

Education   

Ph. D. 1974, Organizational Science, Statistics and Methods, Northwestern University
Photo of Larry D Carver

Larry D Carver

Doyle Professor in Western Civilization, Department of English; Director, Liberal Arts Honors Program

carver@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-3458  |  GEB 1.206

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, University of Rochester

Interests

  English, Humanities, Rhetoric and Composition, Restoration, 18th century British poetry and drama

Julie C Casey

Lecturer

jcasey@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-652-8495  |  GEB 1.206

Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7694  |  GAR 2.108

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests

  Early Modern Atlantic History; History of Science and Colonialism; History of Knowledge; Colonial Spanish and British America.

Photo of Eli Cox

Eli Cox

La Quinta Motor Inns Centennial Professor in Business, Department of Marketing

eli.cox@mccombs.utexas.edu

Interests

  business ethics and the works of Adam Smith

Erik Dempsey

Lecturer and Assistant Director of the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas

ed6335@utexas.edu  |  WAG 401

Interests

  human virtue, and the proper place of politics in a well-lived human life, the different ways in which human virtue is understood in different political situations, and the ways in which human virtue may transcend any political situation

Irene Eibenstein-Alvisi

Lecturer, Department of French and Italian

iea@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-5706  |  HRH 2.106B

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of George B. Forgie

George B. Forgie

Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor of History

forgie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7231  |  GAR 3.212

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, Stanford University

Interests

  U.S. political and constitutional history, 1763-1877; northern political writing during the Civil War; Abraham Lincoln

Photo of Gary Freeman

Gary Freeman

Professor, Department of Government

gfreeman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7278  |  BAT 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests

  Politics of immigration, comparative social policy, politics in western democracies

Photo of Karl Galinsky

Karl Galinsky

Floyd A. Cailloux Centennial Professor, Department of Classics; University Dist. Teaching Prof.

galinsky@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8504  |  WAG 215

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton

Interests

  Greco-Roman antiquity; classical heritage of America; memory studies

Photo of James D Garrison

James D Garrison

Archibald A. Hill Regents Professor in American and English Literature

jdgar@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-4991  |  PAR 108

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Benjamin Gregg

Benjamin Gregg

Faculty

bgregg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7274  |  MEZ 3.138

Education   

Ph.D., Politics, Princeton University; Ph.D., Philosophy, Freie Universitaet Berlin

Interests

  Political, social, legal, and sociological theory of complex modern societies

Photo of Elizabeth A Hedrick

Elizabeth A Hedrick

Associate Professor

eahedrick@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1986, Columbia University

Interests

  Feminist theory since 1970; gender and science; eighteenth-century novel and drama; Samuel Johnson; eighteenth-century lexicography; history of charity and philanthropy.

Ann Johns

Lecturer, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts

acjohns@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Jonathan Kaplan

Jonathan Kaplan

Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern Studies

jonathan.kaplan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9453  |  CAL 503

Education   

Ph.D. 2010, Harvard University

Interests

  Hebrew Bible, Second Temple Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Judaism, Midrash, Literary Theory

Ernest Kaulbach

Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of English

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8365  |  CAL 17

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University

Interests

  Classics, English, Medieval Studies, Religious Studies, Language and linguistics

Photo of LTC Joseph Kopser

LTC Joseph Kopser

Professor-ROTC

Joseph.kopser@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

MA, Public Administration, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
Photo of David Kornhaber

David Kornhaber

Associate Professor

david.kornhaber@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2009, Columbia University
Photo of Tatiana Kuzmic

Tatiana Kuzmic

Assistant Professor

tkuzmic@austin.utexas.edu  |  BUR 472

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois

Brent Landau

Faculty

bclandau@utexas.edu

Education   

Th.D., Harvard Divinity School

Elon Lang

Lecturer

emlang@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3458  |  GEB 1.206

Education   

PhD, Washington University in St. Louis
Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Professor of Government

dleal@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.1343  |  BAT 3.140

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Latino Politics and Policy

Hans Mark

John J. McKetta Centennial Energy Chair In Engineering

hmark@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Interests

  spacecraft and aircraft design, development of electro-magnetic railguns and national defense policy, Electro-magnetic guns, Tilt-rotor aircraft applications, Hypervelocity impact physics, Prevention of nuclear weapons proliferation

Photo of Stephen H Marshall

Stephen H Marshall

Assistant Professor of American Studies

stephenmarshall@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-4361  |  JES A232

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Government, Harvard University

Interests

  ancient and modern political theory, the history of political thought, 20th century political and social thought, African American political thought; current research focuses on political evil, democratic theory, and race and social justice

Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Associate Professor of History

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-9426  |  GAR 0.138

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, University of Minnesota

Interests

  History of physics, Einstein, special relativity, history of math, scientific creativity.

Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor of History

matysik@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Luisa Nardini

Assistant Professor of Musicology

nardini@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of David A Newheiser

David A Newheiser

Jefferson Center Postdoctoral Fellow

dnewheiser@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2012, University of Chicago

Interests

  early Christian thought; continental philosophy; the invention of sexuality; mystical theology

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities #1, Department of Asian Studies

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6032  |  WCH 4.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Robert A. Olwell

Robert A. Olwell

Associate Professor of History

rolwell@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7226  |  GAR 3.108

Education   

Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Interests

  Early Modern British-Atlantic World; American Revolution; Early American South; Slavery and Abolition

Photo of Thomas G Palaima

Thomas G Palaima

Professor: Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor and Director, Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory (PASP)

tpalaima@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8837  |  WAG 14AA

Education   

Ph.D. 1980, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  Aegean scripts & prehistory, Greek language, war & violence studies, public intellectual writing, music as social criticism, Dylanology

Photo of Lorraine Pangle

Lorraine Pangle

Professor of Government; Co-Director, Jefferson Center

lorrainepangle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1447  |  MEZ 3.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Benjamin Franklin; Philosophy of education; Ancient political philosophy and ethics; Modern political philosophy to 1900

Photo of Thomas Pangle

Thomas Pangle

Joe R. Long Endowed Chair In Democratic Studies, Department of Government; Co-Director, Jefferson Center

tpangle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1529  |  MEZ 3.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Classical political philosophy; the eighteenth century theoretical foundations of modern and especially American constitutionalism and political culture; nineteenth and twentieth century German political philosophy; post-modern political theory; the moral-philosophic basis of international relations; the dialogue between political theology and political philosophy

Photo of David Prindle

David Prindle

Professor of Government

dprindle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7214  |  BAT 4.104

Education   

Ph.D., MIT
Photo of Adam T Rabinowitz

Adam T Rabinowitz

Associate Professor of Classics; Assistant Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

arabinow@utexas.edu  |  512-232-9319, 512-471-0197  |  WAG 17

Education   

PhD 2004, University of Michigan

Interests

  Greek colonization, cultural interaction, ancient food and drink, archaeology of daily life, digital approaches to archaeology

Photo of Wayne A Rebhorn

Wayne A Rebhorn

Celanese Centennial Professor, Department of English

warebhorn@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8759  |  PAR 328

Education   

Ph.D., 1968, Yale University

Interests

  English, Italian, French, Spanish, and Neo-Latin Renaissance literature; seminal texts in Renaissance rhetoric

Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor of Sociology

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6307  |  CLA 3.524

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Penne L. Restad

Faculty

restad@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of John P Rumrich

John P Rumrich

Arthur J. Thaman and Wilhelmina Dore' Thaman Endowed Professor in English #1

rumrich@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1981, University of Virginia

Alan M Sager

Lecturer, Department of Government

amsag@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-7233  |  MEZ 3.232

Photo of David M Sena

David M Sena

Assistant Professor

dsena@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-7965  |  WCH 5.104c

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Early Chinese history, language, and culture

Photo of Dana Stauffer

Dana Stauffer

Lecturer, Department of Government

danastauffer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1448  |  MEZ 3.136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto

Interests

  political thought, and women in political thought

Photo of Devin Stauffer

Devin Stauffer

Associate Professor of Government

dstauffer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1462  |  MEZ 3.144

Education   

Ph.D., Boston College

Interests

  classical and early modern political thought; the origins of liberalism; the theoretical foundations of modernity; the divide between ancient and modern political thought

Photo of Paul V Sullivan

Paul V Sullivan

Lecturer

sullivan@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2005, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Jeffrey Tulis

Jeffrey Tulis

Associate Professor of Government

tulis@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7244  |  MEZ 3.152

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Political Theory, and American Politics

Photo of James M. Vaughn

James M. Vaughn

Faculty

jmvaughn@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, University of Chicago
Photo of Maurizio Viroli

Maurizio Viroli

Professor

maurizio.viroli@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7256  |  MEZ 3.150

Education   

Ph.D., European University Institute in Florence

Interests

  History of political thought; classical republicanism and neo-republicanism; Niccolò Machiavelli; Jean Jacques Rousseau; republican iconography; the relationship between religion and politics; patriotism; constitutionalism, classical rhetoric; political communication; citizenship and civic education

Photo of Paul B Woodruff

Paul B Woodruff

Professor of Philosophy; Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies

paul.woodruff@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-7000  |  FAC 406

Education   

PhD, Princeton

Interests

  Ancient philosophy, early Greek philosophy, aesthetics, democracy, virtue ethics, Socrates, Plato

Photo of David S Yeager

David S Yeager

Faculty

dyeager@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Stanislav Zimic

Stanislav Zimic

Professor of Spanish and Portuguese

nszim@aol.com  |  512-232-4526  |  BEN 3.128

Education   

Ph.D.-Romance Languages, Duke University

Interests

  Golden Age literature

bottom border