Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
creees masthead
Mary Neuburger, Director BUR 452, 2505 University Avenue, Stop F3600, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-3607

Faculty List

Professors

Elliot Antokoletz

Professor

antokoletz@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-0698  |  MRH 3.832

Photo of Katherine Arens

Katherine Arens

Professor

arens@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6363  |  BUR 320

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Austrian and Central European Intellectual, literary and cultural history since 1750

Photo of Joseph C Carter

Joseph C Carter

Centennial Professor of Classical Archaeology; Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

j.carter@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9321  |  MCC 1.406

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests

  Greek and Roman Art and Archaeology

Photo of David Crew

David Crew

Professor

dfcrew@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7232  |  GAR 2.126

Education   

Ph.D., 1975, Cornell University

Dennis Darling

Professor

dennis.darling@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-1973  |  BMC 3.3156

Education   

MFA, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Photo of Robin Doughty

Robin Doughty

Professor

rdoughty@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1591  |  GRG 422

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Professor

eaton@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8972  |  SRH 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Itzik N Gottesman

Faculty

itzikgottesman@gmail.com  |  512-471–4123  |  BUR 336

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1993

Interests

  Yiddish; Jewish culture

Photo of Sabine Hake

Sabine Hake

Texas Chair of German Literature and Culture

hake@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6379  |  BUR 332

Education   

Ph.D., University of Hannover, Germany
Photo of Ian Hancock

Ian Hancock

Harold C. and Alice T. Nowlin Regents Professor In Liberal Arts

xulaj@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-7684  |  CAL 420

Education   

Ph.D., London University

Linda Henderson

David Bruton, Jr. Centennial Professor in Art History, University Distinguished Teaching Professor and Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Professor

dnehl@austin.utexas.edu  |  232 2474  |  DFA 2.122

Education   

Ph. D., Yale University
Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Research Professor

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7236  |  BAT 4.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Photo of Michael Craig Hillmann

Michael Craig Hillmann

Professor

mchillmann@aol.com  |  475-6606   |  WMB 5.146

Photo of John Hoberman

John Hoberman

Professor; Chair, Germanic Studies

hoberman@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6368  |  BUR 322

Education   

Ph.D. Scandinavian Languages and Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Robert Hutchings

Dean, LBJ School of Public Affairs

rhutchings@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-3200  |  SRH 3.384B

Daene McKinney

W.A. (Bill) Cunningham Professor

daene@aol.com  |  471 5644  |  PRC 119

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7278  |  BAT 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7219  |  GAR 2.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University
Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor and Director of CREEES

burgerm@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  BUR 456

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Interests

  Southeastern europe, urban culture, consumption, gender, ethnic conflict, and nationalism.

Photo of Glenn Peers

Glenn Peers

Professor

gpeers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2594  |  DFA 2.508

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Faegheh Shirazi

Faegheh Shirazi

Faculty

fshirazi@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512- 232-9416  |  CAL 502

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Interests

  Textiles and Clothing, particularly the Islamic veil (hijab), issues of women, rituals, and rites of passage as they relate to material culture in popular Islamic societies.

Photo of Pauline Strong

Pauline Strong

Director of Humanities Institute, Professor of Anthropology, Professor of Women's and Gender Studies

pstrong@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8524  |  EPS 1.140

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology. Identity and difference. Politics of representation. Public culture. Youth organizations. Museum studies. US, Indigenous North America.

Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor

suri@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7242  |  GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education   

Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University
Photo of R. Harrison Wagner

R. Harrison Wagner

Professor

rhwagner@utexas.edu  |  512-232-7271  |  BAT 3.134

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Associate Professors

Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Faculty

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6400  |  CAL 528E

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests

  Islamic studies, Shi'ism, modern Iranian and Middle Eastern history; secondary areas of interest: world history, historiography, religious studies, nationalism, gender studies and economic history

Photo of Kirsten

Kirsten "Kit" Belgum

Associate Professor

belgum@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6375  |  BUR 324

Education   

Ph.D., German, University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Photo of Pascale Bos

Pascale Bos

Associate Professor

pascalebos@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6373  |  BUR 314

Education   

Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of Minnesota (Twin Cities)

Interests

  20th-century Comparative Western European and US literature; cultural studies, gender and memory, autobiography, Holocaust (history/culture/literature), sexual violence in armed conflict

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu  |  232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Harry Cleaver, Jr.

Associate Professor

hmcleave@eco.utexas.edu  |  512.475.8535  |  BRB 3.162

Photo of Thomas Garza

Thomas Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor and Director, Texas Language Center

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  BUR 458

Education   

Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests

  Russian language teaching methodology/Applied linguistics/Contemporary Russian culture/The Chechen wars and the media/Post-Soviet youth culture/Language teaching pedagogy/Russian popular culture/Modern Russian language/Contemporary Russian media

Kate Gillespie

Associate Professor

kate.gillespie@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512.471.5438  |  CBA 7.258

Education   

Ph.D., London Business School
Photo of Peter Hess

Peter Hess

Associate Professor

phess@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6352  |  BUR 336B

Education   

Ph.D., German Literature, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

William Inboden

Executive Director of the Clements Center and Associate Professor of Public Affairs

inboden@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-2601, 512-471-2411   |  FAC 248, SRH 3.368

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Alan Kuperman

Alan Kuperman

Associate Professor

akuperman@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-8245   |  SRH 3.354

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Keith Livers

Keith Livers

Associate Professor

kalivers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9128  |  BUR 468

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Julia Mickenberg

Julia Mickenberg

Associate Professor

mickenberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-7277  |  BUR 420

Education   

Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Interests

  History of the Left/Radical Cultures, Children's Literature, Women's History, History of Childhood, Russian Studies, Americans abroad, utopia

Photo of Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Associate Professor; Director, Program in Comparative Literature

emrg@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-5708  |  PAR 119

Education   

Ph.D., 1992, Columbia University

Interests

  Nineteenth and twentieth century European drama, Renaissance drama, Oscar Wilde, the Gothic and Orientalism, Decadence, Aesthetic and literary theory, literature and the fine arts

Danilo Udovicki-Selb

Associate Professor

selb@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-1922, 471-0159  |  BTL 118, GOL 2.308

Education   

Ph.D. History, Theory, and Criticism of Architecture, MIT

Interests

  Critical History 20th Century Architecture; Soviet Architecture 1917-1937; Modernism in France 1920s-1930s; Italian Architecture 1400-1600; Architectural Theory; Historiography; Architectural Design Studio; Architectural Criticism

Photo of Charters Wynn

Charters Wynn

Associate Professor

wynn@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7234  |  GAR 1.120

Education   

Ph.D., 1987, Stanford University

Assistant Professors

Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu  |  EPS 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Alberta

Interests

  Siberia, Central Siberia, Indigenous Siberians, Evenki, Evenkiia, Reindeer hunting and herding, Travel and mobility, Socialist colonialism, early forms of Sovietization. Visual and intermedia ethnography

Photo of Yıldıray Erdener

Yıldıray Erdener

Assistant Professor

y.erdener@mail.utexas.edu  |  475-6503  |  WMB 6.150

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University
Photo of Tatiana Kuzmic

Tatiana Kuzmic

Assistant Professor

tkuzmic@austin.utexas.edu  |  BUR 472

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois
Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-6171   |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Assistant Professor, Graduate Advisor

mpesenson@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-9132  |  BUR 464

Education   

Ph.D, Yale University

Lorinc Redei

Faculty

lredei@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7566  |  SRH 3.273

Education   

Ph.D., Central European University in Budapest
Photo of Sonia Seeman

Sonia Seeman

Assistant Professor

stseeman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-2854  |  MBE 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., UCLA

Interests

  Middle Eastern music and culture; Roma ("Gypsy") and minority communities; former Ottoman territories of Southeastern Europe; cosmopolitanism; nationalism; gender.

Michael Webber

Assistant Professor

webber@mail.utexas.edu  |  475 6867   |  ETC 6.106EA

Education   

Ph.D, Stanford University
Photo of Rachel Wellhausen

Rachel Wellhausen

Assistant Professor

rwellhausen@utexas.edu  |  512 232 7202   |  BAT 4.138

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Yetkin Yildirim

Yetkin Yildirim

Research Assistant Professor

yetkin@engr.utexas.edu  |  512 232 3084  |  UTA 4.202

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Brian Doherty

Brian Doherty

Lecturer

bfd@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8798  |  PAR 326

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Linda Gerber

Faculty

linda.gerber@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5480  |  CBA 6.442

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers

Photo of Christian Hilchey

Christian Hilchey

Lecturer

hilchey@austin.utexas.edu  |  BUR 586

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Language pedagogy, Czech instructional material development, Texas Czech communities, food culture, Czech linguistics, verbal prefixes, Czech dialects

Photo of Mark Hopkins

Mark Hopkins

Lecturer

markhopkins@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  BUR 462

Education   

PhD, UT Austin

Interests

  Language pedagogy/applied linguistics, 20th- & 21st-century Czech and Russian literature, contemporary Czech language, contemporary Russian language, Texas Czech dialect and community, music for language and culture education

Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9127  |  BUR 470

Education   

Ph.D., UT Austin
Photo of Bernadeta Kaminska

Bernadeta Kaminska

Lecturer

BernadetaKaminska@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9133  |  BUR 406

Education   

M.A., Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań (Poland)

Interests

  Polish language and culture

Photo of Jeannette Okur

Jeannette Okur

Lecturer

jeannette.okur@austin.utexas.edu  |  512 471 1280   |  WMB 6.120

Education   

Ph.D., Ankara University, 2007
Photo of Marina Potoplyak

Marina Potoplyak

Lecturer

marina.potoplyak@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  BUR 466

Education   

PhD, UT Austin

Interests

  Russian Modernism, Russian Avant-Garde, Russian Pedagogy, Instructional Technology, Russian Food History

Aviezer Tucker

Lecturer

atucker@energy.utexas.edu  |  471-5735   |  FAC 428

Other faculty

Inga Markovitz

"The Friends of Joe Jamail" Regents Chair in Law

imarkovits@law.utexas.edu  |  232 1356  |  TNH 3.248

Photo of Leslie O'Bell

Leslie O'Bell

Associate Professor, Retired

lobell@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-3607  |  CAL 415

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Petre Petrov

Visiting Scholar

petrov@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-9130  |  BUR 402

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Stephanie Richards

Lecturer

skrichards@wisc.edu  |  471-3607  |  CAL 429C

Interests

  19th century Russian literature, Pushkin, Pushkin and history, Dostoevsky, Christianity, Christianity in literature, Christianity as a historical phenomenon

Professors Emeriti

David Braybrooke

Professor Emeritus

braybrookeb@yahoo.com  |  512-232-7281  |  MEZ 3.206

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of William Glade

William Glade

Professor

gladew@att.net  |  512.471.3211  |  BRB 1.116

Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3607  |  CAL 415

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Sidney Monas

Sidney Monas

Professor Emeritus

smonas@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5001  |  HRC 3.325

Photo of Gilbert Rappaport

Gilbert Rappaport

Professor Emeritus

grapp@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., UCLA
Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu  |  512 471 5531  |  HRH 3.114A

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Assistant Instructors

Photo of Yekaterina Cotey

Yekaterina Cotey

Assistant Instructor

ycotey@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-9131  |  BUR 578

bottom border