Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
culturalstudies masthead
John Hartigan, Director SAC 4.102, 2201 Speedway Stop C3900, Austin TX 78712 • 512-471-4206

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Richard R. Flores

Richard R. Flores

Faculty

flores@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-9209  |  GEB 3.212

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of John Hartigan

John Hartigan

Director, APCCS

johnhartigan@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-9201  |  SAC 4.158

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Interests

  Whiteness and critical race theory, urban studies, plant sciences and biodiversity, cultural analysis of nonhumans

Photo of Elizabeth L. Keating

Elizabeth L. Keating

Professor

elizabeth.keating@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8518  |  SAC 4.156

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Linguistic Anthropology, Micronesia, Language and Status, American Sign Language, New Communication Technologies, Computer-Mediated interaction, Multimodal Communication, Visual Anthropology

Photo of Martha Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Faculty

mmen@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-7537  |  SAC 5.158

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Social anthropology, ethnicity, gender, oral history, Chicano studies: US/Mexican culture, Latin America.

Photo of Kathleen C. Stewart

Kathleen C. Stewart

Faculty

kstewart@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8521  |  SAC 4.102

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests

  Cultural generativity, affect, ordinary life, public culture, political imaginaries, ethnographic writing, narrative, ethnopoetics, post-structuralism, U.S. popular culture, Appalachia, Las Vegas.

Photo of Pauline Strong

Pauline Strong

Director of Humanities Institute, Professor of Anthropology, Professor of Women's and Gender Studies

pstrong@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8524  |  SAC 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology. Identity and difference. Politics of representation. Public culture. Youth organizations. Museum studies. US, Indigenous North America.

Associate Professors

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Faculty

asdar@austin.utexas.edu  |  Office: (512) 471-7531, South Asia Institute: (512) 471-3550  |  SAC 5.126

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Maria Franklin

Faculty

mfranklin@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8513  |  SAC 4.150

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, Anthropology, University of California at Berkeley
Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Faculty

ward.keeler@gmail.com  |  (512) 471-8520  |  SAC 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; Buddhism and meditation; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.

Assistant Professors

Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4342  |  SAC 4.122

Education   

Ph.D., University of Alberta

Professors Emeriti

Photo of Joel F. Sherzer

Joel F. Sherzer

Professor Emeritus

jsherzer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8516  |  EPS 1.206

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Linguistics

bottom border