Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
eastasia masthead eastasia masthead
Robert Oppenheim, Director WCH 4.134, Mailcode G9300, Austin, TX 78712 78712 • 512-471-5811

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6036  |  WCH 4.124

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Chinese Area IV and Literature

Rowena Fong

Professor, Ruby Lee Piester Centennial Professor in Services to Children and Families

rfong@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1393  |  School of Social Work: 3.122G

Education   

Ed.D., Harvard University
Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7910  |  GAR 3.202

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; Imperial China; Chinese culture and religion; Gender and family; Agrarian studieS; Comparative studies of development and globalization

Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor

jtrap@utexas.edu  |  512-232-0874  |  BUR 520

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests

  Medical anthropology, gender and aging, globalization, family and kinship, religion and ritual

Associate Professors

Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor

kcather@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0031  |  WCH 4.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Japanese literature and film; censorship; fictional and non-fictional representations of suicide; literary and filmic adaptations

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4071  |  CMA 6.118

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9469  |  GAR 3.222

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Asian American studies, migration, transnationalism, and ethnic studies

Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@gmail.com  |  512-471-8520  |  SAC 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

   Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.

Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Associate Professor

projectfamily@gmail.com  |  (512) 471-5524  |  SEA 2.322C

Education   

Ph.D. HDFS, University of California, Davis
Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1724  |  BAT 3.150

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Interest group behavior in Japan; Japanese postal politics and reform; consumerism in advanced industrial democracies; comparative political institutions.

Mark Metzler

Associate Professor

mmetzler@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-7262  |  GAR 3.404

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

rmo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7279  |  WCH 5.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6044  |  WCH 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Interests

  20th century cultural history, new religious movements, gender

Photo of Wei-Hsin Yu

Wei-Hsin Yu

Associate Professor

whyu@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8339  |  MAI

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Gender; Social Organizations

Assistant Professors

Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4952  |  CMA 6136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Assistant Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1667  |  WCH 4.104G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Nhi T. Lieu

Nhi T. Lieu

Assistant Professor

nlieu@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2792  |  BUR 444

Education   

Ph.D., American Culture, 2004, University of Michigan

Youjeong Oh

Assistant Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6032  |  WCH 5.120A

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Korean popular culture; Gender and space

Photo of David M Sena

David M Sena

Assistant Professor

dsena@utexas.edu  |  512-471-7965  |  WCH 5.104C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Early Chinese history, language, and culture

Yun-Chiahn Sena

Assistant Professor

ysena@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4970  |  DFA 2.118

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Assistant Professor

tsai@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1302  |  WCH 5.104B

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Scott Wolford

Scott Wolford

Faculty

swolford@austin.utexas.edu  |  BAT 4.152

Education   

Ph.D., Emory University

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer

aiday@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6049  |  WCH 5.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer

camilla@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6046  |  WCH 5.132

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests

  Chinese language pedagogy

Chiu-Mi Lai

Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6054  |  WCH 5.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington
Photo of Kyung Park

Kyung Park

Senior Lecturer

pkyung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6045  |  WCH 5.130

Education   

MA, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea

Interests

  Korean Language

Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8497  |  WCH 5.105

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests

  Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology

Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer

whteng@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6047  |  WCH 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy

Lecturers

Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6041  |  WCH 5.116

Education   

MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin
Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer

jeanettechen@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6041  |  WCH 5.116

Interests

  Languages

Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1843  |  WCH 5.136

Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6042  |  WCH 5.124

Education   

MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University

Min Jung Jee

Lecturer

mjjee@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6043  |  WCH 5.126

Education   

Ph.D, The University of Texas at Austin

Akemi Katayama

Lecturer

akataya@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6043  |  WCH 5.126

Education   

MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests

  Second language acquisition and language pedagogy

Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6042  |  WCH 5.124

Education   

M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.

Midori Tanaka

Lecturer

midori@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7104  |  WCH 5.138

Education   

MA, University of Oregon

Interests

  Japanese language and lingustics; pedagogy

Other faculty

Tracy Dahlby

Professor, Frank A. Bennack, Jr. Chair in Journalism

tracy.dahlby@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6272  |  CMA 5.150F

Education   

MA, Harvard University

Susan Mays

Faculty Fellow at Peking University; Lecturer and Research Fellow at UT

smays@utexas.edu  |  BUR 482

Education   

PhD, Columbia

Interests

  East Asian economic & technological development; modern China; US-East Asia relations; global economic history

Meng-Fen Su

East Asian Studies Librarian

msu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-495-4323  |  PCL 2.302A

bottom border