Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
european_studies masthead
Douglas Biow, Director MEZ 3.126, Mailcode A1800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-3470


Economist James Galbraith and Yanis Varoufakis of the LBJ School of Public Affairs are organizing a two-day symposium that will be live webcast from Nov 4-5 to examine alternative policies to keep the Eurozone intact.

More information at

The meeting will feature:

  • Yves Leterme,      Deputy Secretary-General of the OECD,
  • Monica Frassoni,      co-President of the European Green Party,
  • and Alexis Tsipras,      Leader of the Opposition in Greece.

Experts on labor, finance and European policy, including:

  • Stuart Holland, an      architect of the European Union,
  • Heiner      Flassbeck, former senior adviser to      German Finance Minister Oskar Lafontaine,
  • and Jorge Braga De Macedo,      former Finance Minister of Portugal.

American participants will include:

  • Robert Kuttner of The American Prospect,
  • Landon Thomas of The New York Times,
  • Richard Parker of      Harvard,
  • Michael Lind of the New America Foundation,
  • and Damon Silvers,      Policy Director of the AFL-CIO.
bottom border