Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
prc masthead
Mark D. Hayward, Director 305 E. 23rd Street, Stop G1800 78712-1699 • 512-471-5514

Brown Bag Seminar Schedule

Spring 2014 Schedule


January 24, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm (Cancelled due to inclement weather)

CLA 1.302B
"Work-Family Reconciliation Policies and Parental Happiness: Evidence from Cross-National Data"
Jennifer Glass - jennifer-glass@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

January 31, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"An Integrated Framework for Candidate Gene and Twin Studies of Gene x Environment Interaction"
Paige Harden - harden@psy.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Psychology, The University of Texas at Austin

February 7, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm (Cancelled due to inclement weather)

BUR 214
"The Changing Face of Politics: Children of Immigrants and their Schools"
Chandra Muller - cmuller@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

February 14, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Work-Family Reconciliation Policies and Parental Happiness: Evidence from Cross-National Data"
Jennifer Glass - jennifer-glass@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

February 21, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Mexican Immigrants and the Early Health and Education of their Children"
Robert Crosnoe - crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

February 28, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302E
"The Predictive Validity of Ideal Partner Preferences"
Paul Eastwickeastwick@austin.utexas.edu
School of Human Ecology - Human Development and Family Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin

March 7, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"De-Mystifying the Epidemiologic Paradox: Toward a Better Understanding of Older Adult Health and Mortality Patterns among the Hispanic Population"
Robert Hummerrhummer@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

March 21, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Toward a Sociology of Inmate Networks"
Derek Kreager - dak27@psu.edu
Population Research Institute, Penn State University

March 28, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Race-ethnic differences in non-marital fertility"
Kelly Raley - kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

April 4, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Romantic Relationships, Pregnancy Desire, and Pregnancy: Some Insights from Dynamic Prospective Data"
Jennifer Barber - jebarber@umich.edu
Population Studies Center, and Department of Sociology, University of Michigan

April 11, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"The Great Recession, Neighborhood Decline, and Health"
Kate Cagney - kacagney@uchicago.edu
Department of Health Studies, The University of Chicago

April 18, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Blame it on My ADD: the Implications of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder for Marital and Cohabiting Relationships in Young Adulthood"
Rhiannon Kroeger - rkroeger@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center, The University of Texas at Austin

April 25, 2014, 12:00-1:00 pm

BUR 214
"Intergenerational Relationships Across the Life Course"
Jenjira Yahirun - jyahirun@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center, The University of Texas at Austin

Fall 2013 Schedule


September 6, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

Canceled
Student Activity Center – Legislative Assembly – Room 2.302
"Fall 2013 Brown Bag Kickoff"
Mark Hayward - mhayward@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

Setptember 13, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Endophilia or Exophobia: Beyond Discrimination"
Daniel Hamermeshhamermes@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Economics, The University of Texas at Austin

September 20, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Contraceptive Access in Austin Texas after the 2011 Funding Cuts: Results from a Prospective Study"
Joseph Potter - joe@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

September 27, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 0.112
"Welfare Policies and the Development of Low Income Children and Adolescents"
Kelly Purtell - kpurtell@prc.utexas.edu
Population Research Center, The University of Texas at Austin

October 4, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"The Policy Implications of the Extension of Morbidity"
Jacqueline Angel - jangel@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs and Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

October 11, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Leveraging the Private Sector to Improve Primary School Enrollment: Evidence from a Randomized Controlled Trial in Pakistan"
Leigh Linden - leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Economics, The University of Texas at Austin

October 18, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Social Change, Gender, and Health over the Life Course in China"
Susan Short - susan_short@brown.edu
Department of Sociology, Brown University

November 1, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Disconnected (and Ethnographic) Thoughts on Violence and its Concatenations"
Javier Auyero - auyero@austin.utexas.edu
Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin

November 8, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 0.112
"Exploring the Co-occurring Patterns of Cigarette Smoking and Alcohol Use Throughout Emerging Adulthood"
Jessica Cance - jdcance@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, The University of Texas at Austin

November 15, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CANCELED
CLA 1.302B
"The Changing Face of Politics: Children of Immigrants and their Schools"
Chandra Muller - cmuller@austin.utexas.edu
Population Research Center and Department of Sociology

November 22, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Older Adults after a Disaster: Evidence from Indonesia"
Elizabeth Frankenberg - e.frankenberg@duke.edu
Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University

December 6, 2013, 12:00-1:00 pm

CLA 1.302B
"Stratification in Multiple Generations"
Robert Mare - mare@ucla.edu
Department of Sociology, UCLA

Many of the presentations from Spring 2010 onward are available on the "Recordings" page.

bottom border