Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
prc masthead
Mark D. Hayward, Director 305 E. 23rd Street, Stop G1800 78712-1699 • 512-471-5514

Faculty List

Faculty Research Associates

Photo of Jason Abrevaya

Jason Abrevaya

Professor of Economics; Fred Hofheinz Regents Professor in Economics

abrevaya@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8527  |  BRB 3.130

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Associate Professor of Anthropology

asdar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7531, 512-471-3550  |  SAC 4.102

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Edward Anderson

Edward Anderson

Associate Professor of Human Ecology

edward.anderson@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5808  |  SEA 2.426

Education   

Ph.D., University of Virginia
Photo of Jacqueline L. Angel

Jacqueline L. Angel

Professor, LBJ School

jangel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-2956  |  SHR 3.239

Education   

Ph.D., Rutgers University
Photo of Ronald J. Angel

Ronald J. Angel

Professor of Sociology

rangel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6315  |  CLA 3.530

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor of Sociology

auyero@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8073  |  CLA 3.624

Education   

Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Photo of Aprile D Benner

Aprile D Benner

Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

abenner@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1964, 512-471-8353  |  SEA 2.442; CLA 2.406D

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of S. Natasha Beretvas

S. Natasha Beretvas

Associate Professor of Educational Psychology

tasha.beretvas@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0724  |  SZB 504; CLA 2.408D

Education   

PhD, University of Washington
Photo of Sandra E. Black

Sandra E. Black

Professor of Economics, Audre and Bernard Rapaport Centennial Chair in Economics and Public Affairs

sblack@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-4713294  |  BRB 2.102D; CLA 2.408F

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Deborah A. Bolnick

Deborah A. Bolnick

Associate Professor of Anthropology

deborah.bolnick@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7532  |  SAC 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Photo of Marika Cabral

Marika Cabral

Assistant Professor of Economics

marika.cabral@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8522  |  BRB 2.152

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Rebecca M. Callahan

Rebecca M. Callahan

Assistant Professor of Curriculum and Instruction

callahan@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8347  |  SZB 436G; CLA 2.408H

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Photo of Esther Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Professor of Social Work

esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Florida
Photo of Jessica Cance

Jessica Cance

Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Health Education

jdcance@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8184  |  BEL 504

Education   

Ph. D., Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina
Photo of Shannon E. Cavanagh

Shannon E. Cavanagh

Associate Professor of Sociology

scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8319  |  CLA 2.708A

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor of Radio-Television-Film

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4592  |  CMA 6136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Kelley A. Crews

Kelley A. Crews

Associate Professor of Geography & the Environment

kelley@utexas.edu  |  512.232.5909  |  CLA 3.424

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Interests

  Spatio-temporal Scaling of Landscape Change Dynamics and Dynamism, Resilience and Vulnerability of Socio-Ecological Systems in Developing States, and Ecologies of Global Health

Photo of Robert Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Professor of Sociology; Elsie and Stanley E. (Skinny) Adams, Sr. Centennial Professor in Liberal Arts

crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8329  |  CLA 2.406F

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford

Interests

  Human Development, Education, Family, Health, Immigration

Photo of Catherine Cubbin

Catherine Cubbin

Associate Professor of Social Work

ccubbin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-0625  |  SSW 3.130M

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor of Educational Psychology

toni@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8020  |  CLA 2.622F

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Karen Fingerman

Karen Fingerman

Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

kfingerman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0618  |  SEA 2.326

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Michele Forman

Michele Forman

Professor of Nutritional Sciences-Epidemiology, Bruton Endowed Chair

mforman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-495-4701  |   DPI 3.228

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Photo of W. Parker Frisbie

W. Parker Frisbie

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

frisbie@prc.utexas.edu  |  

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Omer R. Galle

Omer R. Galle

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

org@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Elizabeth Gershoff

Elizabeth Gershoff

Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

liz.gershoff@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0018  |  SEA 2.456; CLA 2.406E

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Michael Geruso

Michael Geruso

Assistant Professor of Economics

mike.geruso@austin.utexas.edu  |  BRB 2.118

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor of Sociology

jennifer-glass@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8355  |  CLA 2.702F

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Marci Gleason

Marci Gleason

Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

mgleason@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1617  |  SEA 2.458

Education   

Ph.D., New York University

Shannon M. Greene

Research Associate

smgreene@mail.utexas.edu  |  SEA 1.430

Education   

Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Photo of Daniel S. Hamermesh

Daniel S. Hamermesh

Sue Killam Professor in the Foundations of Economics

hamermes@eco.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8526  |  BRB 2.162

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Kathryn Paige Harden

Kathryn Paige Harden

Assistant Professor of Psychology

harden@psy.utexas.edu  |  512 471 1124  |  SEA 3.246

Education   

Ph.D., University of Virginia
Photo of Mark D. Hayward

Mark D. Hayward

Director, PRC; Professor of Sociology & Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts

mhayward@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8382  |  CLA 2.622E

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington

Interests

  Life course origins of health disparities, morbidity and mortality, biodemography

Photo of Carolyn Heinrich

Carolyn Heinrich

Professor, LBJ School

cheinrich@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3779  |  SRH 3.244

Photo of Kristine Hopkins

Kristine Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor of Sociology

khopkins@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8313  |  CLA 2.620D

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Robert A. Hummer

Robert A. Hummer

Professor of Sociology, Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts #1 Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Fellow

rhummer@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8391   |  CLA 2.622C

Education   

Ph.D., Florida State University
Photo of Aletha C. Huston

Aletha C. Huston

Professor Emeritus of Human Development & Family Sciences; Pricilla Pond Flawn Regents Professor of Child Development

achuston@utexas.edu  |  512-471-0753  |  SEA 2.444

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Photo of Ted L. Huston

Ted L. Huston

Professor of Human Ecology; Amy Johnson McLaughlin Centennial Professor

huston@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5606  |  SEA 2.448A

Education   

Ph.D., State University of New York, Albany
Photo of Yasmiyn Irizarry

Yasmiyn Irizarry

Assistant Professor of African and African Diaspora Studies

yirizarry@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington
Photo of Deborah B. Jacobvitz

Deborah B. Jacobvitz

Professor; Chairperson, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences

debj@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4276  |  SEA 2.414

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Photo of Yuri Jang

Yuri Jang

Associate Professor of Social Work

yjang12@austin.utexas.edu  |  SWB 3.130C

Education   

Ph.D., University of South Florida
Photo of Matthias Kehrig

Matthias Kehrig

Assistant Professor of Economics

matthias.kehrig@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6843  |  BRB 3.144

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

projectfamily@gmail.com  |  (512) 471-5524  |  SEA 2.322C

Education   

Ph.D. HDFS, University of California, Davis
Photo of David Kirk

David Kirk

Associate Professor of Sociology

dkirk@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0141  |  CLA 2.406C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Gregory W. Knapp

Gregory W. Knapp

Associate Professor of Geography and the Environment

gwk@utexas.edu  |  512.232.1588  |  CLA 3.712

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Professor of Government

dleal@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.1343  |  BAT 3.140

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Latino Politics and Policy

Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Assistant Professor of Sociology

lin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9412   |  CLA 2.702D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst
Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Associate Professor of Economics and Public Affairs

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8904  |  BRB 2.156; CLA 2.702C

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Timothy J. Loving

Timothy J. Loving

Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Sciences

tjloving@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8800  |  SEA 2.322D

Education   

Ph.D., Purdue University
Photo of Dayanand Manoli

Dayanand Manoli

Assistant Professor of Economics

dsmanoli@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Leticia Marteleto

Leticia Marteleto

Associate Professor of Sociology

marteleto@prc.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8302  |  CLA 2.708D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Julie Maslowsky

Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Health Education

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Photo of Eric McDaniel

Eric McDaniel

Associate Professor of Government

emcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7268

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Photo of John Mirowsky

John Mirowsky

Professor of Sociology

mirowsky@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7064  |  CLA 2.622G

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Chandra L. Muller

Chandra L. Muller

Professor of Sociology

cmuller@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8377, 512-232-6322  |  CLA 2.408G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Marc A. Musick

Marc A. Musick

Professor of Sociology, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, College of Liberal Arts

musick@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6326  |  BUR 548

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University
Photo of Cynthia Osborne

Cynthia Osborne

Associate Professor, LBJ School

cosborne@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9412  |  2.702D

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Yolanda C. Padilla

Yolanda C. Padilla

Professor of Social Work

ypadilla@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-6266  |  SSW 3.130K

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor of Sociology, Christine and Stanley E. Adams, Jr. Centennial Professor in the Liberal Arts

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6323

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

David Pedulla

Assistant Professor of Sociology

dpedulla@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6463  |  CLA 2.702C

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Becky Pettit

Professor of Sociology

bpettit@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Joseph E. Potter

Joseph E. Potter

Professor of Sociology

joe@prc.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8341  |  CLA 2.620C

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Daniel A. Powers

Daniel A. Powers

Professor of Sociology

dpowers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6335  |  CLA 2.622J

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests

  Health/Mortality Disparities

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Assistant Professor of Sociology

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.622D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests

  Biodemography, Biopsychosocial Gerontology, Aging, Mortality, Cancer, Diabetes, Population Health Disparities

James Pustejovsky

Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology

pusto@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of Kelly Raley

Kelly Raley

Professor of Sociology

kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6333  |  CLA 2.702E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor of Sociology

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6307  |  CLA 3.524

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Pedro Reyes

Pedro Reyes

Ashbel Smith Professor in Educational Policy; Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Planning & Assessment

preyes@utsystem.edu  |  (512) 499-4233  |  O' Henry Hall 312

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction

riegle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8642  |  CLA 2.408E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

Professor of Sociology; C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations

brr@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6329  |  CLA 3.608

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Keith Robinson

Keith Robinson

Assistant Professor of Sociology

keith@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8641, 512-471-8399  |  CLA 2.408J

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests

  Early Achievement, Poverty, Stratification

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor of Sociology

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu  |     |  CLA 3.528

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Catherine E. Ross

Catherine E. Ross

Professor of Sociology

cross@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7064, 512-471-8339  |  CLA 6.22G

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor of Sociology

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  BUR 574

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Delida Sanchez

Delida Sanchez

Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology

delida.sanchez@austin.utexas.edu  |  SZB 262H

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University Teachers College
Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Assistant Professor of Sociology

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8075   |  CLA 3.636

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University
Photo of Chandler Stolp

Chandler Stolp

Associate Professor, LBJ School; Director, Brazil Center; Director Inter-American Policy Studies Program

stolp@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8951  |  SRH 3.310A

Education   

Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University
Photo of Patricia A. Stout

Patricia A. Stout

Professor of Advertising; John P. McGovern Regents Professor in Health and Medical Science

pstout@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-475-9158

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Photo of Rebecca M. Torres

Rebecca M. Torres

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment

rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.426

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor of Religious Studies, Centennial Commission in the Liberal Arts Fellow #2

jtrap@utexas.edu  |  512-232-0874  |  BUR 520

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Photo of Stephen J. Trejo

Stephen J. Trejo

Associate Director, PRC; Professor of Economics

trejo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8512  |  BRB 2.132

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Elliot Tucker-Drob

Elliot Tucker-Drob

Assistant Professor of Psychology

tuckerdrob@utexas.edu  |  512-232-4225  |  SEA 4.218

Education   

Ph.D., University of Virginia
Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor of Sociology, Christine and Stanley E. Adams, Jr. Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts

umberson@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6330  |  CLA 2.708B

Education   

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests

  Gender, Marriage and Relationships, Mental Health, Health Behavior, Social Determinants of Health, Stress, Same-Sex Couples, Grief and Bereavement

Photo of Paul von Hippel

Paul von Hippel

Assistant Professor, LBJ School

paulvonhippel@austin.utexas.edu  |  SRH 3.384

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University
Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, LBJ School; C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471-6302  |  CLA 3.730, SRH 3.228

Education   

Ph.D., University of Liverpool
Photo of E. Mark Warr

E. Mark Warr

Professor of Sociology

mwarr@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6317  |  CLA 3.612

Education   

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests

  Crime, Delinquency, Deviance.

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor of Sociology

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0437  |  CLA 2.620E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Social and political demography, data collection methods, sociology of Judaism

Photo of Ahmed Whitt

Ahmed Whitt

Assistant Professor of Social Work

ahmedwhitt@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1003  |  SWB 3.106C

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Photo of Robert H. Wilson

Robert H. Wilson

Associate Dean and Mike Hogg Professor of Urban Policy, LBJ School; Director, Policy Research Institute

rwilson@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8947  |  SRH 3.213

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Photo of David S Yeager

David S Yeager

Assistant Professor of Psychology

dyeager@utexas.edu  |  SEA 5.224

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Social-cognitive development, Motivation, Aggression, Adolescence, Research methodology, and Psychological interventions

Photo of Kenneth R. Young

Kenneth R. Young

Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment

kryoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.8311  |  CLA 3.422

Education   

Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Postdoctoral Fellows

Photo of Elaine Hernandez

Elaine Hernandez

NICHD Postdoctoral Fellow

ehernan [at] indiana [dot] edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Photo of Kyungmin Kim

Kyungmin Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

kkim@utexas.edu  |  SEA 2.454

Education   

Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Photo of Rhiannon Kroeger

Rhiannon Kroeger

NICHD Postdoctoral Fellow

rkroeger@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9850  |  CLA 2.708E

Education   

PhD, The Ohio State University
Photo of Giuseppina Valle Holway

Giuseppina Valle Holway

NICHD Postdoctoral Fellow

gvalle@prc.utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.708F

Education   

Ph.D., The Florida State University
bottom border