Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
ams masthead
Elizabeth Engelhardt, Chair Burdine 437, Mailcode B7100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-7277

Graduate Student List

Assistant Instructors

Sean Cashbaugh

Doctoral Student

SFCashbaugh@utexas.edu  |  BUR 408

Interests

  Cultures of Radicalism, Political Aesthetics, Popular Culture, Cinema Studies, Science Fiction, Underground Art

Eric Covey

Doctoral Student

ericcovey@utexas.edu  |  BUR 404

Interests

  Western Colorado, the railroad, foodways, whiteness studies, U.S. imperialism

David Croke

Doctoral Student

davecroke@gmail.com

Jennifer Doane

Doctoral Student

jdoane@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436B

Andrew J Friedenthal

Doctoral Student

andrewfriedenthal@gmail.com  |  BUR 404

Interests

  Comic Books, Tourism, Amusement Parks/Theming/Immersive Environments, Theatre,Performance Studies, American Cold War Social & Popular Culture

Andrea D Gustavson

Doctoral Student

agustavson@utexas.edu

Interests

  visual culture, memory studies, vernacular photography, Digital Humanities, the Cold War, Twentieth-century American literature

Andrew Hamsher

Doctoral Student

wedway17@hotmail.com  |  BUR 436B

PhD Candidacy

Philis Barragan

Doctoral Student

philismaria@gmail.com

Interests

  Texas-Mexico Border, Childhood Studies, Children's Literature, Women's Studies, United States Social and Cultural History, Latino Literature

Marvin Bendele

Doctoral Student

mcbendele@gmail.com

Interests

  Foodways, Mobility & Migration, Cultural Geography, Borderlands, Texas, Oral History, Hunting/Fishing

Ellen Cunningham-Kruppa

Doctoral Student

eckruppa@utexas.edu  |  BUR 386

Interests

  Cultural Policy studies, history of preserving cultural records, cultural memory, history of technology, material culture

Irene Garza

Doctoral Student

irene.garza@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  Latina/o Studies, Borderland studies, Militarism, War & U.S. empire, Transnationalism, Critical Race Theory, 20th century immigration and migration, comparative raccial and ethnic history of the U.S.

Brendan C Gaughen

Doctoral Student

brendanisgone@gmail.com  |  BUR 437

Interests

  practices of leisure and collecting, material culture, popular culture, space & place, road culture and transportation

Anne Gessler

Doctoral Student

agessler@utexas.edu

Interests

  cooperative development, gentrification, urban social movements

Joshua Holland

Doctoral Student

houndswimming@hotmail.com

Interests

  Intellectual History, American Education, History of Social Movements, History of Alternative Education, Subjectivity

Andrew Jones

Doctoral Student

andrewjones@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  Photography, American Landscape, Road Culture, Postmodernity, the American Avant-Garde

Jennifer Kelly

Doctoral Student

jennifer.kelly@utexas.edu

Interests

  Israel/Palestine, transnational American studies, U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East, comparative colonial histories, critical race studies, feminist studies, queer criticism and theory, tourism studies, carceral studies, militarism

Lily Laux

Doctoral Student

lilylaux@gmail.com

Interests

  public education, political theory, sociology of race and racism, and neoliberalism

Lisa Powell

Doctoral Student

nationalparksclass@gmail.com

Interests

  cultural geography, food, agriculture, environmental history, sustainability, national parks, the American South, Appalachia, pumpkins

Jacqueline Smith

Doctoral Student

jacquesmith@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  Critical Race Theory, Gender Studies, 20th Century Photography, 20th Century African-American History, and Media Studies

Elissa Underwood

Doctoral Student

elissau@utexas.edu

Interests

  critical prison studies, food studies, surveillance studies, critical race theory, urban studies

Jeannette Vaught

Doctoral Student

jvaught@utexas.edu  |  BUR 408

Interests

  Western American history and iconography, science studies and the history of veterinary and human medicine, animal studies, food studies, literature and film

PhD Students

Carrie Andersen

Doctoral Student

candersen@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  military technology; war, media, and emotion; political theory; American conservatism; digital humanities; media studies; 20th century American history

Skyler Collins

Doctoral Student

skylercollins@yahoo.com  |  BUR 437

Andrew Gansky

Doctoral Student

agansky@utexas.edu

Interests

  Video, surveillance, documentary, feminist film studies

B. Duncan Moench

Doctoral Student

duncan.moench@utexas.edu  |  PAR 404

Interests

  American political thought, rhetoric, and ideological formation. Communitarian thought. Public intellectualism. German American history, masculinity, and Mormon studies.

Susan Quesal

Doctoral Student

susan.quesal@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  black studies, affect theory, home and housing, urban geography, race/class performativity

Emily Roehl

Doctoral Student

emily.roehl@utexas.edu

Interests

  public art, historical memory, environmental history, cultural geography, visual anthropology, performance studies, critical pedagogy

Kirsten Ronald

Doctoral Student

kirsten.ronald@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  Social dance, gentrification, space and place, technology and culture, Austin, the built environment, glocalization

Edwin Whitewolf

Doctoral Student

ewhitewolf1@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  Cinema Studies and Media Studies, Native American Studies, Critical Race Theory, Pop Culture and Spectacle, National Memory, 19th Century American History

MA Students

Jose Centeno-Melendez

Masters Student

jcenteno@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Ashlyn Davis

Masters Student

ashlyn.davis@utexas.edu

Interests

  History of Photography, History of American Art, Visual Culture Studies, Southern Studies, Museum Studies

David Juarez

Masters Student

david.juarez@utexas.edu

Interests

  Beat Studies, 20th Century Literature, Childhood Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, LGBTQ Studies

Joshua Kopin

Masters Student

kopin@utexas.edu

Interests

  20th century cultural history, intellectual history, religious studies, popular cultural studies, historiography, comics studies, cultural criticism, fame, men's style, writing pedagogy

Caroline Pinkston

Masters Student

Interests

  history of education, schools & community identity, collective memory & history, textbook studies, memorials & memorializing, education & curricular philosophy

Tynisha Scott

Masters Student

tynishascott@utexas.edu

Interests

  Sex Work, Black Feminist Philosophy, Queer & Sexuality Studies, Racialization in Popular Culture, Geek Culture, Constructions of the American South

Natalie Zelt

Masters Student

nzelt@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436B

Interests

  Visual Culture Studies, Material Culture, History of Photography, History of American Art, American Design and Architecture, Popular Culture, Food Culture Studies, Museum Studies

bottom border