Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
ams masthead
Steven Hoelscher, Chair Burdine 437, Mailcode B7100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-7277

Graduate Student List

Assistant Instructors

Andrew Gansky

Doctoral Student

agansky@utexas.edu

Interests

  Educational history, critical pedagogy, history of technology, race and gender studies, surveillance, digital humanities, cybernetics

Photo of Brendan C Gaughen

Brendan C Gaughen

Doctoral Student

bgaughen@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  practices of leisure and collecting, material culture, mass/popular/trash culture, space/place/landscape, road culture/transportation/mobility, vintage video games, digital humanities, nostalgia

Susan Quesal

Doctoral Student

susan.quesal@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  black studies, affect theory, home and housing, urban geography, race/class performativity

Kirsten Ronald

Doctoral Student

kirsten.ronald@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  social dance, Texas history & culture, gentrification, mobility studies, gender studies, and space & place

Elissa Underwood

Doctoral Student

elissau@utexas.edu

Interests

  critical prison studies, food studies, surveillance studies, critical race theory, urban studies

PhD Candidacy

Photo of Carrie Andersen

Carrie Andersen

Doctoral Student

candersen@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  military technology; war, media, and emotion; political theory; American conservatism; digital humanities; media studies; 20th century American history; public scholarship

Philis Barragan

Doctoral Student

philismaria@gmail.com

Interests

  Texas-Mexico Border, Childhood Studies, Children's Literature, Women's Studies, United States Social and Cultural History, Latino Literature

Marvin Bendele

Doctoral Student

mcbendele@gmail.com

Interests

  Foodways, Mobility & Migration, Cultural Geography, Borderlands, Texas, Oral History, Hunting/Fishing

Sean Cashbaugh

Doctoral Student

SFCashbaugh@utexas.edu  |  BUR 408

Interests

  Cultures of American Radicalism, Political Aesthetics, Cold War Culture, Cinema Studies, Cultural Studies, the Avant-Garde and Underground Culture

David Croke

Doctoral Student

davecroke@gmail.com

Irene Garza

Doctoral Student

irene.garza@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  Latina/o Studies, Borderland studies, Militarism, War & U.S. empire, Transnationalism, Critical Race Theory, 20th century immigration and migration, comparative raccial and ethnic history of the U.S.

Andrea D Gustavson

Doctoral Student

agustavson@utexas.edu

Interests

  visual culture, memory studies, vernacular photography, Digital Humanities, the Cold War, Twentieth-century American literature

Andrew Hamsher

Doctoral Student

wedway17@hotmail.com  |  BUR 436B

Joshua Holland

Doctoral Student

houndswimming@hotmail.com

Interests

  Intellectual History, American Education, History of Social Movements, History of Alternative Education, Subjectivity

Lily Laux

Doctoral Student

lilylaux@gmail.com

Interests

  public education, political theory, sociology of race and racism, and neoliberalism

Photo of Emily Roehl

Emily Roehl

Doctoral Student

emily.roehl@utexas.edu

Interests

  environmental humanities, oil culture studies, performance studies, visual anthropology

Jacqueline Smith

Doctoral Student

jacquesmith@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

Interests

  Critical Race Theory, Gender Studies, 20th Century Photography, 20th Century African-American History, and Media Studies

PhD Students

Christine Capetola

Doctoral Student

ccapetola@utexas.edu

Interests

  queer theory, black studies, gender studies, performance studies, sound studies, affect theory, disco, house, 80's pop, contemporary synthpop

Jose Centeno-Melendez

Doctoral Student

jcenteno@utexas.edu  |  BUR 437

David Juarez

Doctoral Student

david.juarez@utexas.edu

Interests

  beat studies; Jack Kerouac; 20th century American literature; childhood studies; women’s and gender studies; affect theory; queer studies

B. Duncan Moench

Doctoral Student

duncan.moench@utexas.edu  |  PAR 404

Interests

  American political thought, rhetoric, and ideological formation. Communitarian thought. Public intellectualism. German American history, masculinity, and Mormon studies.

Robert Oxford

Doctoral Student

robertoxford@utexas.edu

Interests

  South Texas Fracking communities, labor cultures, ehtnography, eco-critisism, 21st century American nationalism, petrol-politics, neoliberalism, cultural geography

Caroline Pinkston

Doctoral Student

Interests

  history of education, schools & community identity, collective memory & history, textbook studies, memorials & memorializing, education & curricular philosophy

Photo of Edwin Whitewolf

Edwin Whitewolf

Doctoral Student

ewhitewolf1@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436

Interests

  Cinema Studies and Media Studies, Native American Studies, Museum Studies, Critical Race Theory, Pop Culture and Spectacle, National Memory, 19th Century American History

Photo of Natalie Zelt

Natalie Zelt

Doctoral Student

nzelt@utexas.edu  |  BUR 436B

Interests

  Contemporary American art, contemporary photography and its histories, critical race and gender studies, American cultural history, visual culture studies, material culture studies, curatorial practice

MA Students

Anneleise Azua

Masters Student

avazua@utexas.edu

Interests

  Latin and Latin American history, Mexican folklore, media studies, and traditional healing

Josephine Hill

Masters Student

josephine.hill@utexas.edu

Interests

  food studies, the built environment, utopias, theming, aesthetics, labor, education, memory, intellectual history

Photo of Kerry Knerr

Kerry Knerr

Masters Student

kerryknerr@gmail.com

Interests

  Food studies, cocktail culture, economic history and geography, the erotics of consumption, representations of cannibalism, and affect and embodiment

Photo of Joshua Kopin

Joshua Kopin

Masters Student

kopin@utexas.edu

Interests

  20th century cultural history, comics studies, affect studies, popular cultural studies, American religious history, political art, historiography, fame, men's style, writing pedagogy

bottom border