UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
anthropology masthead
Anthony Di Fiore, Chair SAC 4.102, Mailcode C3200 78712 • 512-471-4206

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of James R. Denbow

James R. Denbow

Professor

jdenbow@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8512  |  SAC 4.152

Education   

Ph.D., University of Indiana

Interests

  Africa, prehistory, history, and social thought, archaeological method and theory

Photo of Anthony Di Fiore

Anthony Di Fiore

Department Chair of Anthropology and Professor

anthony.difiore@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-2318  |  SAC 5.150

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Interests

  Population genetics, comparative socioecology, mating systems, molecular ecology, phylogenetics, tropical ecology, computational modeling; South and Central American primates

Photo of Richard R. Flores

Richard R. Flores

Senior Associate Dean For Academic Affairs; Professor

flores@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-9209  |  GEB 3.210

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Folklore and expressive culture of Greater Mexico; anthropology of symbols; anthropology

Photo of Charles R. Hale

Charles R. Hale

Director of Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS); Professor

crhale@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-2409  |  SRH 1.314E and SAC 5.140

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Race/ethnicity, identity politics, consciousness and resistance, activist anthropology; Latin America, the Caribbean

Photo of John Hartigan

John Hartigan

Director of Américo Paredes Center for Cultural Studies; Professor; Faculty Graduate Advisor for Cultural Forms

johnhartigan@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-9201  |  SAC 4.158

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Interests

  Urban cultures; Science, Technology, and Race; Social theory; Ethnography; Ethnicity in North America.

Photo of John W. Kappelman Jr

John W. Kappelman Jr

Professor

jkappelman@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0055  |  SAC 5.160

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Elizabeth L. Keating

Elizabeth L. Keating

Professor

elizabeth.keating@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8518  |  SAC 4.156

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Linguistic Anthropology, Micronesia, Language and Hierarchy, American Sign Language, New Communication Technologies, Computer-Mediated interaction, Multimodal Communication, Visual Anthropology

Paul Kockelman

Professor

paul.kockelman@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-2084  |  CLA 4.406

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Martha Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Professor

mmen@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-7537  |  SAC 5.158

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Social anthropology, ethnicity, gender, oral history/oral traditions, legal anthropology, immigration, Chicano studies: US/Mexican culture, Latin America.

Photo of Arlene Rosen

Arlene Rosen

Professor

amrosen@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-2081  |  CLA 4.402

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Environmental archaeology, Prehistory of the Near East and China, origins of agriculture, climate change and society, phytoliths, geoarchaeology.

Photo of Liza J. Shapiro

Liza J. Shapiro

Professor

liza.shapiro@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-7533  |  SAC 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook

Interests

  Primate evolution and functional morphology, locomotion.

Photo of Kathleen C. Stewart

Kathleen C. Stewart

Professor

kstewart@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8521  |  CLA 4.408

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests

  Affect, experimental ethnographic writing, non-representational theory, post-phenomenology, new materialisms, worldings, place; United States, New England.

Photo of Pauline Strong

Pauline Strong

Director of the Humanities Institute; Professor of Anthropology and Women's and Gender Studies

pstrong@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8524  |  SAC 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology. Identity and difference. Politics of representation. Public culture. Youth organizations. Museum studies. US, Indigenous North America.

Photo of Brian M. Stross

Brian M. Stross

Professor

bstross@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0059  |  SAC 4.124

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Linguistic Anthropology, Indigenous Mesoamerica, Maya Iconography and Epigraphy, Anthropology of Food, Ethnobotany, Cultural Forms.

Photo of Fred Valdez, Jr.

Fred Valdez, Jr.

Professor

fredv@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0060  |  SAC 4.162

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Samuel M. Wilson

Samuel M. Wilson

Professor

s.wilson@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1176  |  CLA 4.404

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Archaeology, ethnohistory; Caribbean, and U.S. Southeast

Associate Professors

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Director of the South Asia Institute; Associate Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-7531  |  SAC 5.126

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Interests

  Gender, Health, Development, Labor History, Political Economy; Post-Colonialism;

Photo of Darrell G. Creel

Darrell G. Creel

Director of Texas Archaeological Research Laboratory (TARL); Associate Professor

dcreel@tarl.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-6007  |  PRC BLDG 5

Education   

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests

  Archeology; Texas, Plains, Southwest, Southeast U.S.

Maria Franklin

Associate Professor of Anthropology and African and African Diaspora Studies; Faculty Graduate Advisor

mfranklin@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8513  |  SAC 4.150

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, Anthropology, University of California at Berkeley

Interests

  Historical archaeology, archaeological theory, African Diaspora studies, race and gender, feminist theory, colonialism and slavery.

Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@gmail.com  |  (512) 471-8520  |  SAC 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; Buddhism and meditation; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.

Photo of Chris Kirk

Chris Kirk

Associate Professor; Faculty Undergraduate Advisor

eckirk@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0056  |  SAC 5.154

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University
Photo of Rebecca J. Lewis

Rebecca J. Lewis

Associate Professor

rjlewis@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-5386  |  SAC 5.152

Education   

Ph.D., University Biological Anthropology and Anatomy (2004), Duke University
Photo of Denné N. Reed

Denné N. Reed

Associate Professor

reedd@mail.utexas.edu  |  Office (512) 471-7529, Lab (512) 232-6380  |  SAC 5.146

Education   

Ph.D., Stony Brook University

Interests

  human evolution, micromammal paleoecology, taphonomy, GIS, remote sensing

Photo of Enrique R. Rodriguez-Alegría

Enrique R. Rodriguez-Alegría

Associate Professor

chanfle@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0786  |  SAC 4.144

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  archaeology, history, ethnohistory, Mesoamerica, the Spanish empire in Latin America, Mexico, Puerto Rico, archaeometry (INAA and LA-ICP-MS), colonialism, religious conversion, food

Photo of Shannon Speed

Shannon Speed

Director of Native American & Indigenous Studies; Associate Professor

sspeed@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0061  |  SAC 5.120 and CLA 2.106B

Interests

  Human rights, indigenous rights, indigenous migration, immigration detention, gender, Mexico, and activist research; Latin America, Chiapas.

Photo of Circe Sturm

Circe Sturm

Associate Professor; Faculty Undergraduate Honors Advisor

circe@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-1561  |  SAC 5.122

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Photo of Kim TallBear

Kim TallBear

Associate Professor

kim.tallbear@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-3832  |  SAC 5.138

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Interests

  Anthropology and cultural studies of science, technology, and nature; indigenous studies; race and genetics

Photo of Kamala Visweswaran

Kamala Visweswaran

Associate Professor

kvis@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8516  |  SAC 5.156

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Mariah D. Wade

Mariah D. Wade

Associate Professor

m.wade@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4876  |  SAC 4.146

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Anthony K. Webster

Anthony K. Webster

Associate Professor

awebster@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4529  |  SAC 4.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Linguistic anthropology, ethnopoetics, speech play and verbal art, Navajo, Apache, Native American language and culture, language and emotion, ethnohistory of communication, iconicity, anthropology of sound, linguistic landscapes.

Assistant Professors

Photo of Cecilia Ballí

Cecilia Ballí

Assistant Professor

cballi@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8522  |  SAC 5.134

Education   

Ph.D., Rice University

Interests

  U.S.-Mexican borderlands, gender and violence, Latino expressive culture, narrative writing.

Photo of Deborah A. Bolnick

Deborah A. Bolnick

Assistant Professor

deborah.bolnick@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-7532  |  SAC 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Interests

  Genomic anthropology, ancient DNA studies, human biological variation, race, population genetics, Native American prehistory, anthropology of science

Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4342  |  SAC 4.122

Education   

Ph.D., University of Alberta
Photo of Kaushik Ghosh

Kaushik Ghosh

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Asian Studies

cayocan@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0052  |  SAC 5.142

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Sofian Merabet

Sofian Merabet

Assistant Professor

sofian.merabet@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0057  |  SAC 5.164

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Socio-Cultural Theory/Psychoanalysis/Urban Studies/Gender Studies/Queer Theory/Muslim World, Europe, South America

Photo of Christen Smith

Christen Smith

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and African and African Diaspora Studies

christen.smith@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-6332  |  SAC 5.136

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Performance, racial formation, the black body, violence, black women and transnational struggle, black liberation and resistance in the Americas (particularly Brazil and the United States)

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Suzanne Seriff

Suzanne Seriff

Senior Lecturer

sseriff@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0816  |  SAC 4.126

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers

Mariah E. Hopkins

Lecturer

hopkins@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-0054  |  SAC 5.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Aimee Hosemann

Lecturer

ahosemann@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-2858  |  SAC 5.166

Other faculty

Photo of Edmund T. Gordon

Edmund T. Gordon

Chair and Associate Professor of African and African Diaspora Studies

etgordon@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-1784  |  GRG 340

Education   

Ph. D., Stanford University

Interests

   Culture and power in the African Diaspora, gender studies (particularly Black males), critical race theory, race education, and the racial economy of space and resources.

Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor of Religious Studies

jtrap@utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-0874  |  BUR 520

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests

  Religion and ritual, Japanese religion and society, anthropology of religion, medical ethics, gender and aging, family and kinship.

João H. Costa Vargas

Associate Professor of African and African Diaspora Studies

costavargas@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-6591  |  GRG 234

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Interests

  Race, politics, and social inequality, cultural studies, social theory; U.S., Brazil, African diaspora.

Affiliated Scholars

Jennifer Raff

Research Fellow

jenniferraff@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-5689  |  SAC 4.142

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington

Interests

  Anthropological genetics, Peopling of the Americas, Arctic prehistory, human evolution and variation

Professors Emeriti

Richard N. Adams

Professor Emeritus

rnadams80@yahoo.com  |  011-502-77652001

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Latin America, especially Central America; anthropology theory, energy and evolution

Photo of Claud A. Bramblett

Claud A. Bramblett

Professor Emeritus

cbramblett@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Berkeley
Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests

  Social anthropology of South Asia, especially Sri Lanka; agrarian change, economic development, colonialism, nationalism, ethnicity, globalization.

Photo of Robert A. Fernea

Robert A. Fernea

Professor Emeritus

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

James A. Neely

Professor Emeritus

neely@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests

  Archaeology of the Middle East, Mesoamerica, and the American Southwest, with a focus on prehistoric and early historic agricultural strategies, agricultural intensification, as well as water management and technology.

Photo of Joel F. Sherzer

Joel F. Sherzer

Professor Emeritus

jsherzer@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
bottom border