Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
asianstudies masthead
Dr. Joel Brereton, Chair 120 INNER CAMPUS DR STOP G9300 WCH 4.134 78712-1251 • 512-471-5811

Past Events

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 5:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Talk About Grad School and Japanese Studies

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 3:00 PM | PAR 208

Information Regarding the Urdu Placement Exam

Wed, Nov 16, 2011 6:00 PM | AVAYA Auditorium (ACES 2.302)

The Five Percenters: Islam, Hip-Hop and the Gods of New York

Fri, Nov 11, 2011 3:30 PM | Fri, November 11th in Gebauer (GEB 3.312) 3:30-5pm

Book Launch : Tamil Love Poetry

Wed, Nov 9, 2011 12:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

To the Nunnery and Beyond: Becoming a 'Tibetan' Buddhist Nun in Nepal

Tue, Nov 8, 2011 6:00 PM | WEL 2.256

JET (Japan Exchange and Teaching Program) Info Session

Tue, Nov 1, 2011 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

The POSCO-India Story: A Teach-In

Sat, Oct 29, 2011 11:30 AM | Meyerson Conference Room WCH 4.118

Digital Video for Literature

Fri, Oct 28, 2011 6:00 PM | Thursday :Gebauer (GEB 3.312) / Friday: AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

Fall 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Oct 27, 2011 | Thurs: Gebauer (GEB 3.312) / Friday: AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

Fall 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Oct 27, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

The Truth About the Truth Act (Satyakriya)

Thu, Oct 20, 2011 3:30 PM | UTC 4.120

Historical Background of ‘The Taste of Apples'

Mon, Oct 17, 2011 12:00 PM | WCH 4.118

Seminar on Bengali Cinema

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

Fall 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Mon, Oct 10, 2011 6:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Inseparable: The Story of Chinese Punk Rock

Fri, Oct 7, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Japan Seminar: Specialization and Happiness in Marriage: A U.S.- Japan Comparison

Fri, Sep 30, 2011 | Trinity University, San Antonio TX

40th Annual Southwest Conference on Asian Studies

Tue, Sep 20, 2011 7:00 PM | The Etter-Harbin Alumni Center, The Connally Banquet Hall at 2110 San Jacinto Boulevard, Austin, TX 78712

National Book Award Finalist, Karen Tei Yamashita, reading from her novel, I-Hotel

Sat, Sep 17, 2011 | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

Golden Jubilee Celebration

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 | AVAYA Auditorium (ACE 2.302)

Golden Jubilee Celebration

Thu, Sep 15, 2011 7:30 PM | Joynes Reading Room

A Reading and Lecture by the Author, Chang-rae Lee

Fri, Sep 9, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room WCH 4.118

Japan Seminar: On Teaching Comparative Catastrophe: Japanese and Jewish Responses to War

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room (WCH 4.118)

South Asia Institute's Fall Welcome Reception

Fri, May 6, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Koreana in the Japanese Colonial Gaze

Sun, May 1, 2011 5:00 PM | South Performing Arts Center, 2150 Cypress Creek Road, Cedar park TX 78613

Maestros Jugalbandhi

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 3:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Hindi Translation Round Table

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Thu, Apr 21, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Bedbugs and Grasshoppers: Translation, Myth and the Becoming of the Nation-State

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 1:30 PM | Robert A. Welch Hall (WEL 2.256)

South Asia Institute Alternatives Series

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 3:00 PM | PAR 105

Urdu Placement

Thu, Apr 14, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Tue, Apr 12, 2011 12:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Images of Confucius: Teacher, Statesman, Deity

Tue, Apr 12, 2011 5:00 PM | ART 1.120

Mysteries of Kongzhai

Thu, Apr 7, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Mon, Mar 28, 2011 | WCH 4.132 (South Asia Institute)

Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Scholarship Deadline

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Mar 23, 2011 11:00 AM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Session: Wilson Chair candidate

Tue, Mar 22, 2011 2:00 PM | Burdine Hall (BUR) 436A

What is Religious and What is Secular in Premodern Japan?

Thu, Mar 10, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Wed, Mar 9, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Yoga for Cats, Yoga for Dogs: Reflection on Contemporary Yoga Practice

Fri, Mar 4, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

China Seminar: Culture and Citizenship in East Asia: A Historical Perspective

Thu, Mar 3, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Autobiography is Another Story: "Lives" in Hindi

Fri, Feb 18, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Korea Seminar: Christianity and the Transformation of Religion in Korea

Thu, Feb 17, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

Mon, Feb 14, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

China Seminar: Mind-Body Dualism in Early China: A Large-Scale Corpus Analysis

Sat, Feb 12, 2011 9:00 AM | UTC 4.124 (welcome address, all panels, keynote addresses, and closing remarks) and WCH 4.118 (for breakfast and registration)

Texas Asia Conference

Fri, Feb 11, 2011 8:30 AM | UTC 4.124 (welcome address, all panels, keynote addresses, and closing remarks) and WCH 4.118 (for breakfast and registration)

Texas Asia Conference

Thu, Feb 10, 2011 6:00 PM | Flawn Academic Center Auditorium (FAC 21)

Sangeetham

Thu, Feb 10, 2011 4:00 PM | ACES 2.402

Chinese Language Q&A with James Jackson

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 | WCH 4.132 South Asia Institute

FLAS Application Deadline

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 3:00 PM | University of Texas, CMA 5.160 (LBJ Room), Guadalupe and Dean Keeton, Austin

Alternatives Series: Film Screening

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 6:00 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Film Screening: Pyaasa

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 3:30 PM | Meyerson Conference Room, WCH 4.118

Spring 2011 South Asia Seminar Series

bottom border