Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
asianstudies masthead
Dr. Martha Selby, Chair 120 INNER CAMPUS DR STOP G9300 WCH 4.134 78712-1251 • 512-471-5811

Department Holds 2005 Spring Festival

Annual Reception Honors Outstanding Students

Posted: April 1, 2005

The following students received awards at the Spring Festival:

Vivian Morrow, Thomas Whitley and Austin Simmons received the Asian Studies Scholarship for Study Abroad.

Zachary Acreman and Michael Perry received the China Studies Scholarship.

Anthony Bonville, Judy Oum, and Michael Pearson were awarded the Korea Studies Scholarship.

Mary Maddox was named Outstanding Chinese Language Student.

Thomas Zoth and Elizabeth Diamond were recognized as Outstanding Student in Japan Studies.

Laura Marie Nielson, Calynda Ruth Pellika, and Amanda Corbett were named Best Japanese Language Students.

Sunny Cristina Crooks, Viet Nguyen, and Tiantian Zhang were awarded the Korean Language Achievement Prize.

Christopher T. Lee was recognized for the best essay in the Korean Studies Essay Contest.

Congratulations to all our award recipients!

The festival was begun six years ago as a way to both recognize outstanding performances in departmental language and area studies courses, and also as a way to attract majors. It is one of the highlights of the year and generally draws large crowds. This year proved no exception as more than 50 people gathered to socialize and enjoy the excellent Asian refreshments.

bottom border