Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
classics masthead classics masthead
Lesley Dean-Jones, Chair 2210 Speedway, Mail Code C3400, Austin, TX 78712-1738 • 512-471-5742

Past Events

Wed, Dec 9, 2009 12:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Classics Holiday Party

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 3:30 PM | Classics lounge, WAG 116

Elizabeth Fentress: "Selling People"

Sat, Nov 21, 2009 1:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

First Neoplatonism Lectio: Plotinus, Ennead 5.1

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 11:20 AM | TRINITY UNIVERSITY, Chapman Auditorium

Jen Ebbeler, U.T. Austin: "Apuleius' Golden Ass"

Wed, Oct 28, 2009 3:00 PM | UT Rec Sports Center 2.112

The Great Debate: Palaima vs. Graglia on UT football

Sat, Oct 24, 2009 10:00 AM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116 / AT&T Conference Center

Texas Classical Association Annual Meeting

Sat, Oct 24, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Classics Department Family Weekend Reception

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 10:00 AM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116 / AT&T Conference Center

Texas Classical Association Annual Meeting

Mon, Oct 19, 2009 5:00 PM | Texas Union African-American Culture Room, UNB 4.110

David Lambert, U.T. Austin: “The Composition of the Torah in the Pseudepigraphic Imagination”

Fri, Oct 16, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Christopher Moore, U.T. Austin: "Socrates, Persuasion, and Teaching"

Tue, Oct 13, 2009 11:20 AM | TRINITY UNIVERSITY, Chapman Auditorium

Stephen White, U.T. Austin: "Plato's Symposium"

Mon, Oct 12, 2009 12:00 PM | WCH 4.118, Meyerson Conference Room

"Conversing with the Ancients: A Brown Bag Discussion on the Art and Archaeology of Ancient Worlds."

Tue, Oct 6, 2009 4:00 PM | Texas Union 3.128, Sinclair Suite

Jennifer Ebbeler, U.T. Austin: "Augustine, the Donatists, and Letters of Peace"

Sat, Oct 3, 2009 9:00 AM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Livy and Intertextuality

Sat, Sep 26, 2009 | Arthouse at the Jones Center

Building Rome in a Day

Wed, Sep 2, 2009 10:00 AM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Welcome Back Taco Soiree

Mon, Aug 31, 2009 1:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Farewell Gathering for Matt

Fri, Jul 10, 2009

Exams for short Summer Session

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

From Practice to Metaphor in Seneca's Moral Epistles

Thu, Jun 4, 2009

First day of Summer Session

Fri, May 1, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

Forms and Conceptions of "Dike" in Euripidean Tragedy

Fri, Apr 24, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

Music and the art of seduction: Lucian's musical lovers

Tue, Apr 21, 2009 4:00 PM | ART 1.120

Mapping India: Ancient Fantasies.

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

"Scire Nefas": Knowledge and Impiety in Statius' "Thebaid"

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 1:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Eta Sigma Phi Research Symposium

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Lemnian Deeds in Hypereides' "Against Timandros"

Wed, Apr 1, 2009 8:00 PM | JGB 2.218

The Looting of the Iraq Museum

Thu, Mar 26, 2009 2:00 PM | Eastwood room (Texas Union 2.102)

Theologies of Almsgiving in Early Judaism and Christianity.

Wed, Mar 25, 2009 4:00 PM | ART 1.120

A Regional Center in East Crete: Makrygialos Revisited

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 9:00 AM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

Review for the Texas ExCET Exam in Latin

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

The Wolf and the Dragon: Empire in Ancient Rome and China

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

In loco parentis: Familial Hierarchies and Political Office in Republican Rome

Sat, Feb 21, 2009 11:00 AM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Getting Rid of Africanus, or, Closural Anxiety in the Scipionic Trials

Fri, Feb 13, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge (WAG 116)

Tragic Ways of Looking at Archaizing Sculptures:

Thu, Feb 12, 2009 4:00 PM | ART 1.120

Hercules, Histrionics, and a Dead Husband:

Mon, Feb 9, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Time for Eloquentia?

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Begging, Pleading, and Supplicating:

Mon, Feb 2, 2009 4:00 PM | Classics Lounge, WAG 116

Laws, Courts, and Culture in Rome's Eastern Provinces

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 3:00 PM | WMB 6.146

Islam in a Rural Setting:

Thu, Jan 29, 2009 5:00 PM | RAS 218

Trading and Raiding on the Eurasian Steppe:

Sun, Jan 25, 2009 | Meadows Museum, SMU, Dallas

From the Temple and the Tomb

Fri, Jan 23, 2009 4:00 PM | WAG 116

The Fertile Shores of Sobek:

bottom border