Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
classics masthead classics masthead
Lesley Dean-Jones, Chair 2210 Speedway, Mail Code C3400, Austin, TX 78712-1738 • 512-471-5742

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Joseph C Carter

Joseph C Carter

Centennial Professor of Classical Archaeology; Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

j.carter@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-9321  |  MCC 1.406

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests

  Greek and Roman Art and Archaeology

Photo of Karl Galinsky

Karl Galinsky

Professor: Floyd A. Cailloux Centennial Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

galinsky@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8504  |  WAG 215

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton

Interests

  Roman Literature and Civilization; Cultural Memory in Ancient Rome; Classical Tradition in Popular Culture

Robert J Hankinson

Professor of Philosophy and Classics

rjhankinson@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-5572  |  WAG 409

Education   

PhD, Cambridge

Interests

  Ancient Philosophy and Medicine, Philosophy of Science

Photo of Thomas K Hubbard

Thomas K Hubbard

Professor

tkh@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-0676  |  WAG 9

Education   

PhD; 1980, Yale

Interests

  Greek lyric poetry; Attic drama; Roman elegy and lyric; lesbian and gay studies

Photo of William R Nethercut

William R Nethercut

Professor

nethercut@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-3839  |  WAG 123

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Greek and Roman Literature, Egyptology

Photo of Thomas G Palaima

Thomas G Palaima

Professor: Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor and Director, Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory (PASP)

tpalaima@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8837  |  WAG 14AA

Education   

Ph.D. 1980, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  Aegean scripts & prehistory, Greek language, war & violence studies, public intellectual writing, music as social criticism, Dylanology

Photo of Paula J Perlman

Paula J Perlman

Professor and Graduate Adviser

p.perlman@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-7402  |  WAG 119

Education   

PhD 1984, The University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Greek history of the Archaic and Classical periods, Greek historiography, ancient law, ancient religion, Greek epigraphy

Andrew M Riggsby

Professor of Classics and Art History

ariggsby@utexas.edu  |  471-7442  |  WAG 103

Education   

Ph.D, UC Berkeley

Interests

  Roman Cultural History, Latin Prose, Cognition

Photo of L. Michael White

L. Michael White

Professor of Classics and Religious Studies: Ronald Nelson Smith Chair in Christian Origins

lmwhite@utexas.edu  |  512-232-1438  |  WAG 212

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  New Testament and Christian Origins, Jews & Christians in the Roman World, Graeco-Roman Religions, Archaeology

Photo of Stephen A White

Stephen A White

Professor of Classics and Philosophy; Director, Joint Graduate Program in Ancient Philosophy

sawhite@utexas.edu  |  512 475-7457  |  WAG 117

Education   

PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Ancient philosophy, Greek literature

Photo of Paul B Woodruff

Paul B Woodruff

Professor of Philosophy and Classics; Dean of Undergraduate Studies

paul.woodruff@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-7000  |  FAC 406

Education   

PhD, Princeton

Associate Professors

Photo of Lesley A Dean-Jones

Lesley A Dean-Jones

Associate Professor; Department Chair

ldjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-2352  |  WAG 123B

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford

Interests

  Ancient Medicine, Ancient Philosophy, Greek Literature, Women in Antiquity

Photo of Jennifer V Ebbeler

Jennifer V Ebbeler

Associate Professor

jebbeler@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-7570  |  WAG 14CA

Education   

PhD 2001, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Adam T Rabinowitz

Adam T Rabinowitz

Associate Professor; Assistant Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

arabinow@utexas.edu  |  232-9319, 471-0197  |  WAG 17

Education   

PhD 2004, University of Michigan

Interests

  Greek colonization, cultural interaction, ancient food and drink, archaeology of daily life, digital approaches to archaeology

Photo of Rabun M Taylor

Rabun M Taylor

Associate Professor and Faculty Undergraduate Advisor

rmtaylor@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0677  |  WAG 14B

Education   

PhD 1997, University of Minnesota

Interests

  Greek and Roman art, architecture, archaeology, urbanism, social history, and material culture

Assistant Professors

Photo of Deborah Beck

Deborah Beck

Assistant Professor

deborah.beck@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-5834  |  WAG 21

Education   

PhD 1997, Harvard University

Interests

  Formulas and oral aesthetics in early Greek poetry; cognitive theories of reading and image processing; speech and speech representation in Homeric epic; representations of art and interpretation in Augustan Latin poetry

Photo of Cristina Carusi

Cristina Carusi

Assistant Professor

carusi@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-4967  |  WAG 13

Education   

PhD 2006, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa

Interests

  Greek History; Greek Epigraphy; Law, Economy, and Institutions of Greek City-States; Salt Studies; Documentary Papyrology

Photo of Ayelet Haimson Lushkov

Ayelet Haimson Lushkov

Assistant Professor

ayelet.haimsonlushkov@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7296  |  WAG 109

Education   

PhD 2009, Yale University

Interests

  Roman History and Latin Literature

Denton A. Walthall

Assistant Professor

Lecturers

Jamie Aprile

Lecturer

jamieaprile@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8607  |  WAG 217

Education   

PhD 2010, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests

  Bronze Age Aegean Archaeology, Archaeological Theory, Political Economy

Photo of Todd A. Curtis

Todd A. Curtis

Lecturer

todd.curtis@mail.utexas.edu  |  WAG 200A

Education   

PhD, Newcastle University, UK

Interests

  Ancient medicine and its reception, Rhetoric of ancient science

Joann Gulizio

Lecturer

(512)471-1830  |  WAG 211

Education   

Ph.D. 2011, University of Texas at Austin

Steven J Lundy

Lecturer

steven.lundy@utexas.edu  |  (512)471-8724  |  WAG 227

Education   

Ph.D. 2013, University of Texas at Austin

Jessica Miner

Lecturer

jess.miner@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-9446  |  FAC 22 and WAG 211

Education   

Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests

  Greek Oratory and Comedy

Other faculty

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor of Italian/Medieval and Renaissance Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7267  |  HRH 2.110B

Interests

  Medieval and Renaissance Italian and Latin Literature

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor of French Literature

mbizer@utexas.edu  |  512-471-7780  |  HRH 3.112B

Education   

PhD, Princeton University

Interests

  Reception of Classical Texts in Early Modern France, Renaissance Latin Literature; Classical Tradition, Tragedy and the Tragic

Photo of John R Clarke

John R Clarke

Professor - Art History

j.clarke@austin.utexas.edu  |  DFA 2.114

Education   

PhD, Yale

Interests

  Greek & Roman Art and Architecture

Photo of Penelope Davies

Penelope Davies

Associate Professor - Art History

pdavies@mail.utexas.edu  |  ART 3.435

Education   

PhD, Yale University

Interests

  Roman Art and Architecture

Photo of Steven J. Friesen

Steven J. Friesen

Professor of Religious Studies and Classics: Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies

friesen@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-8629  |  BUR 418

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Religious Studies; Poverty and Inequality in Early Roman Empire; Apocalyptic Literature; Imperial Cults

Photo of Ulf R Hansson

Ulf R Hansson

Research Fellow

ulf.hansson@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-5742

Education   

PhD 2005, University of Gothenburg

Interests

  Etruscan Art and Archaeology; Sphragistics; History of Archaeology

Sara E Kimball

Associate Professor of English

skimball@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  471-8363  |  PAR 108

Education   

Ph.D., 1983, University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Hittitology

Photo of Amy Papalexandrou

Amy Papalexandrou

Lecturer - Art History

apapalex@mail.utexas.edu  |  Department of Art and Art History

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton

Interests

  Late Antique and Byzantine Art, Architecture, and Culture

Photo of Athanasio Papalexandrou

Athanasio Papalexandrou

Associate Professor - Art History

papalex@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5021  |  ART 3.404

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  471 8383  |  CAL 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  Latin Palaoegraphy, Medieval Manuscripts, Medieval and Neo-Latin, History of Rhetoric, and the Classical Tradition (esp. in Pedagogy)

Professors Emeriti

Photo of David Armstrong

David Armstrong

Professor Emeritus

davidarm@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-5742  |  WAG 110

Education   

PhD, The University of Texas Austin

Interests

  Latin Poetry, Ancient Literary Criticism, Hellenistic and Roman Literature

Photo of Ingrid M Edlund-Berry

Ingrid M Edlund-Berry

Professor Emerita

iemeb@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-3071  |  WAG 110

Interests

  Etruscan and Italian archaeology and culture

Photo of Michael Gagarin

Michael Gagarin

James R. Dougherty, Jr. Centennial Professor Emeritus

gagarin@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-8864  |  WAG 15

Interests

  Greek Law, Literature, and Philosophy

Peter M Green

James R. Dougherty, Jr. Centennial Professor Emeritus of Classics

peter-green-1@uiowa.edu  |  471-5742  |  WAG 123

Interests

  Greek History, Greek Literature, Roman Satire and Elegy

James A Hitt

Associate Professor Emeritus

471-5742  |  WAG 123

John H Kroll

Professor Emeritus

jhkroll@mail.utexas.edu

Interests

  Greek Archaeology and History, Numismatics

M. Gwyn Morgan

Professor Emeritus of Classics and History

512-471-5742

Education   

Ph.D., 1962, University of Exeter, U.K.

Interests

  Roman History, Latin Literature

Photo of Alexander Mourelatos

Alexander Mourelatos

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Classics

apdm@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-6749  |  WAG 200C

Education   

PhD, Yale

Interests

  Ancient Philosophy, Early Greek Science, Linguistic Theory, Modern Greek Studies

Photo of Cynthia W Shelmerdine

Cynthia W Shelmerdine

Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor Emerita of Classics

cwshelm@gmail.com  |  471-5742  |  N/A

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Aegean Bronze Age

Assistant Instructors

Margaret K Clark

Assistant Instructor

margaret.clark@utexas.edu  |  WAG 111

Interests

  Historiography, Latin prose, geography and the natural environment

Stephanie P Craven

Assistant Instructor

spcraven@utexas.edu  |  WAG 14C

Interests

  Hellenistic History, Greek Epigraphy

Don Carlo Goduto

Assistant Instructor

dcgoduto@utexas.edu  |  WAG 14C

Interests

  The Archaeology of Italy from the Iron Age to Late Roman period, especially South Italy from 750 BCE to the Roman Conquest; Culture Contact and Interaction; Network Approaches to Archaeology

Paul Hay

Assistant Instructor

pauljhay@utexas.edu  |  WAG 14C

Education   

M.A. in Classics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Augustan Literature, Literary and Critical Theory

Amy K. Lather

Assistant Instructor

amy.lather@utexas.edu  |  WAG 207

Jonathan Maclellan

Assistant Instructor

jmaclellan@utexas.edu

Education   

MA in Classics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  History of Ancient Theatre, History of the Polis, Voluntary Associations in the Ancient World, Greek Tragedy and Comedy, Epigrams (Inscribed and literary)

Charles Oughton

Assistant Instructor

c.w.oughton@utexas.edu  |  WAG 11

Interests

  Greek and Latin Historiography, Latin Biography, Roman Republican and Greek Classical History

James Patterson

Assistant Instructor

james_patterson@utexas.edu  |  WAG 205

Interests

  Latin Literature, Augustine

Andrea Pittard

Assistant Instructor

apittard@utexas.edu

Laura Brooke Rich

Assistant Instructor

laurabrich@utexas.edu

Interests

  Roman cultural history, Latin literature, women in antiquity, linguistics

Kyle Sanders

Assistant Instructor

kyle.sanders@utexas.edu  |  WAG 14C

Interests

  Tragedy, autochthony, chorality, performance theory, Augustan Literature

Colin W Yarbrough

Assistant Instructor

cyarbrough@austin.utexas.edu  |  WAG 14C

Interests

  Greek and Hellenistic Moral History and Historiography, Friendship in the Ancient World, Ethnic and National Identity in Ancient Historiography

bottom border