Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
classics masthead classics masthead
Lesley Dean-Jones, Chair 2210 Speedway, Mail Code C3400, Austin, TX 78712-1738 • 512-471-5742

Classics Junior Timothy Grayson Awarded CAMWS Scholarship

Posted: April 20, 2009

Only six of these scholarships are awarded each year, to students drawn from a pool of candidates nominated by Classicists from around the country, excepting the Northeast and the West Coast. With this award, Timothy joins the stalwart ranks of past UT Classics majors and Stewart Scholars Christian Skelton (in 2007) and Jason Nethercut (in 2003).

On Friday, April 17th, attendees at the Eta Sigma Phi 2009 Undergraduate Research Symposium were able to hear Timothy's presentation on the topic of "Homer, Dylan, and Beyond: Understanding Warfare through Music."

Two other presentations included:

Dhananjay Jagannathan, Classics, Philosophy, and Plan II Senior, on "Protagoras and Education for Citizenship"


David Safranek, Ancient History and Classical Civilization and Spanish Senior on "Alexander the Great and Persian Kingship"

bottom border