Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
economics masthead
Jason Abrevaya, Chair 2225 Speedway, Stop C3100, Austin, TX 78712 • Admin: 512-471-3211 & Advising: 512-471-2973

Fall 2014 Seminar Schedule

Monday, September 1, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor Day    
 

Wednesday, September 3, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Making Collusion Hard:  Asymmetric Information as a Counter-Corruption Measure  (PDF) 
Sylvain Chassang
Princeton University

Friday, September 5, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk
Title of Paper - TBD
Ozan Senturk
University of Texas

Monday, September 8, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar
The Psychic Cost of Children
Dan Hamermesh
University of Texas

Monday, September 8, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Ain't it "Suite"?  Bundling in the PC Office Software Market 
Neil Gandal
University of Tel Aviv

Wednesday, September 10, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk

Title of Paper - TBD 
Anna Klis
University of Texas

Friday, September 12, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Title of Paper - TBD
Dean Spears
Delhi School of Economics

Monday, September 15, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 15, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Existence and Characterization of Conditional Density Projections  (PDF)
Ivana Komunjer
University of California, San Diego

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk

Title of Paper - TBD 
Neal Ghosh
University of Texas

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Robustness and Linear Contracts  (PDF)
Robust Incentives for Information Acquisition  (PDF)
Gabriel Carroll
Stanford University

Thursday, September 18, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Do People Understand Monetary Policy?  (PDF) 
Fernanda Nechio
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Friday, September 19, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Should Schools Recognize or Award Achievement  (PDF)
How Does Peer Pressure Affect Educational Investments  (PDF)
Robert Jensen
University of Pennsylvania, Wharton

Monday, September 22, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 22, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
The Prison Boom and the Lack of Black Progress after Smith and Welch
Derek Neal
University of Chicago

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD
David McAdams
Duke University, Fuqua

Friday, September 26, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk
Title of Paper - TBD 
Chet Polson
University of Texas

Monday, September 29, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 29, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD
Michael Noel
Texas Tech University

Wednesday, October 1, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD
Eran Shmaya
Northwestern University / Tel Aviv University

Friday, October 3, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk
Title of Paper - TBD 
Qian Lu
University of Texas

Monday, October 6, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 7, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
 
Title of Paper - TBD 
Florian Kuhn
University of Texas

Wednesday, October 8, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk

Title of Paper - TBD 
Ben Sperisen
University of Texas

Friday, October 10, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk
Title of Paper - TBD 
Jeff Denning
University of Texas

Monday, October 13, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 13, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Confidence Sets for Continuous and Discontinuous Functions of Parameters 
Tiemen Woutersen
University of Arizona

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk

Title of Paper - TBD 
Sunjoo Hwang
University of Texas

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper 
Roee Teper
University of Pittsburgh

Thursday, October 16, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper 
Rostislav Bogoslovskiy
University of Pittsburgh

Friday, October 17, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Practice Job Talk
Title of Paper - TBD 
Megan Thomas
University of Texas

Monday, October 20, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 22, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Labor and Capital Dynamics Under Financing Frictions 
Ryan Michaels
University of Rochester

Friday, October 24, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Hospitals as Insurers of Last Resort 
Tal Gros
Columbia University

Monday, October 27, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Friday, October 31, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Theory / General Interest
Broad Matching and the Market for Search Platforms  (PDF) 
Kfir Eliaz
Tel Aviv University

Monday, November 3, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD 
Fabrizio Perri
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development

Title of Paper - TBD 
Michael Chernew
Harvard University

Monday, November 10, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 10, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD   
Nikhil Agarwal
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD 
James Cloyne
Bank of England

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD 
Takuo Sugaya
Stanford University

Friday, November 14, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Title of Paper - TBD   
Daniele Paserman
Boston University

Monday, November 17, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 17, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD
Yanqin Fan
University of Washington

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD 
Andrew Ellis
London School of Economics

Thursday, November 20, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Procrastination, Present-Biased Preferences, and Financial Behaviors 
Jeff Brown
University of Illinois

Friday, November 21, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
2014 Labor Economics Conference

Monday, November 24, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 24, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD
Nese Yildiz
University of Rochester

Wednesday, November 26, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Title of Paper - TBD 
Alex Monge-Naranjo
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Monday, December 1, 2014 • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Applied Micro Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 1, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Econometrics / Industrial Organization   
Title of Paper - TBD 
Bob Town
University of Pennsylvania, Wharton

Wednesday, December 3, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Macroeconomics / Theory / General Interest

Mechanism Design with Maxmin Agents:  Theory and an Application to Bilateral Trade  (PDF)     
Alexander Wolitzky
Stanford University

Friday, December 5, 2014 • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM • BRB 1.118
Labor / Public Finance / Development
Title of Paper - TBD
Aline Butikofer
Norwegian School of Economics

bottom border