Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
economics masthead
Jason Abrevaya, Chair 2225 Speedway, Stop C3100, Austin, TX 78712 • Admin: 512-471-3211 & Advising: 512-471-2973

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Jason Abrevaya

Jason Abrevaya

Professor and Department Chair

abrevaya@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8527  |  BRB 3.130

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Venkataraman Bhaskar

Professor

512-475-8535  |  BRB 3.162

Education   

Ph.D., University of Oxford
Photo of Sandra E. Black

Sandra E. Black

Professor

sblack@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8519  |  BRB 2.102D

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Douglas C Dacy

Professor

dacy@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8511  |  BRB 2.134D

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Stephen Donald

Stephen Donald

Professor

donald@eco.utexas.edu  |  471-8907  |  BRB 3.102D

Education   

Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Photo of Richard Dusansky

Richard Dusansky

Professor

dusansky@eco.utexas.edu  |  471-3664  |  BRB 2.102E

Education   

Ph.D., Brown University
Photo of Daniel S. Hamermesh

Daniel S. Hamermesh

Professor

hamermes@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8526  |  BRB 2.162

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of David A Kendrick

David A Kendrick

Professor

kendrick@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8542  |  BRB 3.134E

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Eugenio J Miravete

Eugenio J Miravete

Professor

eugenio@eugeniomiravete.com  |  232-1718  |  BRB 3.134A

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of David S Sibley

David S Sibley

Professor

sibley@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8545  |  BRB 3.102A

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Daniel T Slesnick

Daniel T Slesnick

Professor

slesnick@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-4363  |  MAI 201 & BRB 2.134C

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Dale O Stahl

Dale O Stahl

Malcolm Forsman Centennial Professor

stahl@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8541  |  BRB 3.134F

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Maxwell B Stinchcombe

Maxwell B Stinchcombe

Professor

max.stinchcombe@gmail.com  |  475-8515  |  BRB 2.102A | On Leave 2014-15

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Stephen J. Trejo

Stephen J. Trejo

Professor and Associate Department Chair

trejo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8512  |  BRB 2.132

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Associate Professors

Photo of Svetlana Boyarchenko

Svetlana Boyarchenko

Associate Professor

sboyarch@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8521  |  BRB 2.160

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Associate Professor

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8556  |  BRB 2.156

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Gerald S Oettinger

Gerald S Oettinger

Associate Professor

oettinge@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8523  |  BRB 2.148

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Stephen Ryan

Stephen Ryan

Associate Professor

sryan@utexas.edu  |  512-475-8543  |  BRB 3.134D

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University
Photo of Thomas E Wiseman

Thomas E Wiseman

Associate Professor

wiseman@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8516  |  BRB 2.114

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Assistant Professors

Saroj Bhattarai

Assistant Professor

512-475-8539  |  BRB 3.148

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Marika Cabral

Marika Cabral

Assistant Professor

marika.cabral@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8522  |  BRB 2.152

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Olivier Coibion

Olivier Coibion

Assistant Professor

ocoibion@gmail.com  |  BRB 3.156

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests

  Macroeconomics

Photo of Michael Geruso

Michael Geruso

Assistant Professor

mike.geruso@austin.utexas.edu  |  BRB 2.118

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests

  Economics of Health and Healthcare

Photo of Andrew Glover

Andrew Glover

Assistant Professor

andrew.glover@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-7004  |  BRB 3.134B

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Photo of Sukjin Han

Sukjin Han

Assistant Professor

sukjin.han@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8600  |  BRB 3.152

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Matthias Kehrig

Matthias Kehrig

Assistant Professor

matthias.kehrig@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-6843  |  On Leave 2014-15

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of Brendan Kline

Brendan Kline

Assistant Professor

brendan.kline@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8524  |  BRB 2.144

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of Dayanand Manoli

Dayanand Manoli

Assistant Professor

dsmanoli@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8518  |  BRB 2.102C

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Richard Murphy

Assistant Professor

512-475-8525  |  BRB 2.142

Education   

Ph.D., University College London
Photo of Caroline Thomas

Caroline Thomas

Assistant Professor

caroline.thomas@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-8451  |  BRB 3.122

Education   

Ph.D., University College London
Photo of Haiqing Xu

Haiqing Xu

Assistant Professor

h.xu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8528  |  BRB 3.160

Education   

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Interests

  Econometrics

Affiliated Faculty

Andres Almazan

Professor, Department of Finance

andres.almazan@mccombs.utexas.edu

Chandra R Bhat

Director, Center for Transportation Research

bhat@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4535  |  ECJ 6.810

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University

John Hatfield

Associate Professor, Department of Finance

john.hatfield@gmail.com  |  CBA 6.254

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Carolyn Heinrich

Carolyn Heinrich

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs

cheinrich@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Tim Landvoigt

Assistant Professor, Department of Finance

tim.landvoigt@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232 6822  |  CBA 6.276

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Stephen Magee

Professor, Department of Finance

stephen.magee@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5777  |  CBA 6.264

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Brian Roberts

Brian Roberts

Professor, Government Department

brian.roberts@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7243  |  BAT 4.156

Education   

Ph.D., Washington University

Michael Sadler

Senior Lecturer, Department of Finance

msadler@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8603  |  CBA 6.304C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Sheridan Titman

Professor, Department of Finance

titman@mail.utexas.edu

Andrew Whinston

Professor, Department of Information, Risk, and Operations Management

abw@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Valerie R. Bencivenga

Valerie R. Bencivenga

Senior Lecturer

benciven@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8509  |  BRB 3.102C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Wayne R Hickenbottom

Wayne R Hickenbottom

Senior Lecturer

hicken@austin.utexas.edu  |  475-7816  |  BRB 3.102B

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Photo of Stephanie Houghton

Stephanie Houghton

Senior Lecturer

shoughton@utexas.edu  |  512-475-8504  |  BRB 2.126

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University

Lecturers

Mark Feldman

Lecturer

mark.feldman@gmail.com  |  BRB 3.118

Education   

Ph.D., UC Davis
Photo of Beatrix Paal

Beatrix Paal

Lecturer and MA Program Director

professorpaal@gmail.com  |  475-8531  |  BRB 3.114

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Helen Schneider

Lecturer

hschneider@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-1734  |  BRB 3.116

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell
Photo of Brian M Trinque

Brian M Trinque

Lecturer

trinque@eco.utexas.edu  |  475-8557  |  BRB 2.102B

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas

Professors Emeriti

Vincent J Geraci

Professor Emeritus

geraci@eco.utexas.edu  |  471-3211  |  BRB 1.116

Education   

Ph.D. Economics, 1974, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests

  Econometrics, Human Resources, Public Finance

Photo of William Glade

William Glade

Professor Emeritus

gladew@att.net  |  512.471.3211  |  BRB 2.158

Niles M Hansen

Professor Emeritus

nmhansen@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-3211

Forest G Hill

Professor Emeritus

fhill@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-3211  |  BRB 1.116

F Tomasson Jannuzi

Professor Emeritus

jannuzi@austin.utexas.edu  |  ftjannuzi@msn.com  |  471-3211

Daniel C Morgan Jr

Professor Emeritus

471-3211

Photo of Alfred L Norman

Alfred L Norman

Professor Emeritus

norman@eco.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
bottom border