Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
english masthead
english masthead
Elizabeth Cullingford, Chair CAL 226, Mailcode B5000, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4991

Faculty List

Medieval Studies

Photo of Daniel J Birkholz

Daniel J Birkholz

Associate Professor

birkholz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8807  |  PAR 225

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Minnesota
Photo of Mary E Blockley

Mary E Blockley

Professor

blockley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8362  |  PAR 320

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests

  Old English language and literature; history of the English language; medieval manuscripts; Germanic philology.

Photo of Thomas M Cable

Thomas M Cable

Professor Emeritus

tcable@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 310

Education   

Ph.D., 1969, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  History of the English language; rhythms and rhetoric of English poetry.

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor

heng@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7480  |  PAR 213

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Ernest Kaulbach

University Distinguished Teaching Professor

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8365  |  CAL 17

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University
Photo of Elizabeth Scala

Elizabeth Scala

Associate Professor

scala@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8375  |  CAL 213

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, Harvard University

Interests

  Chaucer; the history of Chaucer studies; the textual environments of medieval literature.

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8383  |  CAL 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  Medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

bottom border