Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
english masthead
english masthead
Martin Kevorkian, Chair CAL 226, Mailcode B5000, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4991

Faculty List

Poetry & Poetics

Photo of Samuel Baker

Samuel Baker

Associate Professor

sebaker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8389  |  CAL 308

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, University of Chicago
Photo of J.K. Barret

J.K. Barret

Assistant Professor

jkbarret@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8390  |  CAL 310

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, Princeton University

Interests

  Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century literature; the Renaissance future; time; literature and the visual arts; early modern legal theory; classical reception; narrative.

Photo of Chad Bennett

Chad Bennett

Assistant Professor

chad.bennett@utexas.edu  |  PAR 319

Education   

Ph.D., 2011, Cornell University
Photo of Brian A Bremen

Brian A Bremen

Associate Professor

bremen@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7842  |  PAR 127

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Princeton University

Interests

  American literature; modernism; the digital humanities; writers of the Harlem Renaissance; literary theory.

Photo of Thomas M Cable

Thomas M Cable

Professor Emeritus

tcable@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 310

Education   

Ph.D., 1969, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  History of the English language; rhythms and rhetoric of English poetry.

Photo of Elizabeth Cullingford

Elizabeth Cullingford

University Distinguished Teaching Professor

cullingford@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4991  |  CAL 226E

Education   

Ph.D., Oxford University

Interests

  Only children, Irish literature, politics, and culture; modern poetry; women's studies; drama and film; Shakespeare; the relation between high and popular culture

Photo of Kurt Heinzelman

Kurt Heinzelman

Professor

kheinz@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6688  |  PAR 121

Education   

Ph.D., 1978, University of Massachusettes

Interests

  British Romanticism 1750-1850; poetry and poetics; creative writing; archives and collecting; modernism and cultural economics.

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor

heng@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7480  |  PAR 213

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of Coleman Hutchison

Coleman Hutchison

Associate Professor, Interim Associate Chair of the English Department

coleman.hutchison@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8372  |  CAL 314

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, Northwestern University

Interests

  U.S. literature and culture to 1900; poetry; print culture; the U.S. south; the American Civil War

Photo of Lisa L Moore

Lisa L Moore

Professor

llmoore@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1837  |  PAR 217

Education   

Ph.D., 1991, Cornell University

Interests

  Eighteenth-century English and American literature; women's literature; LGBT literature and culture; poetry and poetics; visual studies and garden history; feminist and queer theory; history of sexuality.

Photo of Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor, Director of the Program in Comparative Literature

emrg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5708  |  PAR 119

Education   

Ph.D., 1992, Columbia University

Interests

  Nineteenth- and twentieth-century European drama; Renaissance drama; Oscar Wilde; the Gothic and Orientalism; decadence; aesthetic and literary theory; literature and the fine arts.

Photo of John P Rumrich

John P Rumrich

Professor

rumrich@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8115  |  PAR 315

Education   

Ph.D., 1981, University of Virginia
Photo of William J Scheick

William J Scheick

J.R. Millikan Centennial Professor Emeritus

scheick@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8383  |  CAL 301

Education   

Ph.D., 1969, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana

Interests

  American literature and culture, especially colonial and nineteenth through early twentieth century; turn-of-the-century British; narrative and poetic morphology.

Photo of Jeffrey Walker

Jeffrey Walker

Professor & Chair, Department of Rhetoric & Writing

jswalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7843  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Rhetorical theory, history of rhetoric, ancient rhetoric, rhetoric and poetics, modern rhetoric and literature

David A Wevill

Professor Emeritus

wevill@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8767  |  PAR 229

Education   

M.A., 1958, Cambridge University
Photo of Thomas B Whitbread

Thomas B Whitbread

Professor

whitbread@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8750  |  PAR 216

Education   

Ph.D., 1959, Harvard University

Interests

  Poetry, poetics, and literary criticism

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8383  |  CAL 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  Medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

Photo of Dean H Young

Dean H Young

William Livingston Chair of Poetry

deanyoung@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8394  |  CAL 312

Education   

M.F.A. in Creative Writing, 1984, Indiana University

Interests

  Poetry

bottom border