Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
english masthead
english masthead
Martin Kevorkian, Chair CAL 226, Mailcode B5000, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4991

Faculty List

Renaissance Literature

James B Ayres

Shakespeare at Winedale Regents Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

Education   

Ph.D., 1964, Ohio State University
Photo of J.K. Barret

J.K. Barret

Assistant Professor

jkbarret@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8390  |  CAL 310

Education   

Ph.D., 2008, Princeton University

Interests

  Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century literature; the Renaissance future; time; literature and the visual arts; early modern legal theory; classical reception; narrative.

Photo of Daniel J Birkholz

Daniel J Birkholz

Associate Professor

birkholz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8807  |  PAR 225

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Minnesota
Photo of Mary E Blockley

Mary E Blockley

Professor

blockley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8362  |  PAR 320

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests

  Old English language and literature; history of the English language; medieval manuscripts; Germanic philology.

Photo of Douglas S Bruster

Douglas S Bruster

Professor

bruster@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3635  |  PAR 220

Education   

Ph.D., 1990, Harvard University

Interests

  Shakespeare; drama; Renaissance literature; film; theory.

Photo of Thomas M Cable

Thomas M Cable

Professor Emeritus

tcable@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 310

Education   

Ph.D., 1969, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  History of the English language; rhythms and rhetoric of English poetry.

Photo of Elizabeth Cullingford

Elizabeth Cullingford

Chair, Department of English, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

cullingford@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4991  |  CAL 226E

Education   

Ph.D., Oxford University

Interests

  Only children, Irish literature, politics, and culture; modern poetry; women's studies; drama and film; Shakespeare; the relation between high and popular culture

Photo of Alan W Friedman

Alan W Friedman

Professor

friedman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8376  |  CAL 214

Education   

Ph.D., 1966, University of Rochester

Interests

  British and American modernism; the novel; drama, especially Shakespeare; international programs, faculty governance and academic freedom.

Photo of Coleman Hutchison

Coleman Hutchison

Associate Professor

coleman.hutchison@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8372  |  CAL 314

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, Northwestern University

Interests

  U.S. literature and culture to 1900; poetry; print culture; the U.S. south; the American Civil War

Ernest Kaulbach

University Distinguished Teaching Professor

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8365  |  CAL 17

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University
Photo of James N Loehlin

James N Loehlin

Shakespeare at Winedale Regents Professor; University Distinguished Teaching Professor

jnloehlin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4993  |  CAL 205

Education   

Ph.D., 1993, Stanford University

Interests

  Shakespeare in performance (stage and film); Renaissance drama; modern drama.

Eric S Mallin

Associate Professor

emall@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1697  |  PAR 317

Education   

Ph.D., 1986, Stanford University

Interests

  Shakespeare; sixteenth- and seventeenth-century English drama; new historicism; queer theory; Shakespearean/early modern themes as they transmogrify and metastasize in contemporary cinema.

Photo of Wayne A Rebhorn

Wayne A Rebhorn

Professor

warebhorn@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8759  |  PAR 328

Education   

Ph.D., 1968, Yale University

Interests

  English and European Renaissance literature and Renaissance rhetoric.

Photo of Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor, Director of the Program in Comparative Literature

emrg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5708  |  PAR 119

Education   

Ph.D., 1992, Columbia University

Interests

  Nineteenth- and twentieth-century European drama; Renaissance drama; Oscar Wilde; the Gothic and Orientalism; decadence; aesthetic and literary theory; literature and the fine arts.

Photo of John P Rumrich

John P Rumrich

Professor

rumrich@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8115  |  PAR 315

Education   

Ph.D., 1981, University of Virginia
Photo of Elizabeth Scala

Elizabeth Scala

Associate Professor

scala@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8375  |  CAL 213

Education   

Ph.D., 1994, Harvard University

Interests

  Chaucer; the history of Chaucer studies; the textual environments of medieval literature.

Jo A Shea

Specialist, Associate Dean

jshea@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7076  |  LAC 1.204E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Early modern literature and culture.

Photo of Paul V Sullivan

Paul V Sullivan

Lecturer

sullivan@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-8776  |  PAR 318

Education   

Ph.D., 2005, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Early modern drama, rhetoric, and education

Photo of Jeffrey Walker

Jeffrey Walker

Professor & Chair, Department of Rhetoric & Writing

jswalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7843  |  PAR 3

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Rhetorical theory, history of rhetoric, ancient rhetoric, rhetoric and poetics, modern rhetoric and literature

Photo of Frank F Whigham

Frank F Whigham

Professor

ffw@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8794  |  PAR 316

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of California, San Diego
Photo of Hannah C Wojciehowski

Hannah C Wojciehowski

Professor

gemelli@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8768  |  PAR 230

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University
Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8383  |  CAL 301

Education   

Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests

  Medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

bottom border