Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
english masthead
english masthead
Martin Kevorkian, Chair CAL 226, Mailcode B5000, Austin, TX 78712 • Admin: 512-471-4991 & Advising: 512-471-5736

Six Faculty Members Chosen to Receive Prestigious President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Posted: October 20, 2009

AUSTIN, Texas — Six faculty members from The University of Texas at Austin have been selected to receive the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award for 2009-2010 for demonstrating a consistent level of excellence in teaching.

Vice Provost Gretchen Ritter told the recipients in a letter informing them of their award that their commitment and outstanding performance, as well as their high academic standards, "not only instruct but also inspire" the students.

The recipients include: Assistant Professor Timothy Loving, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences; Assistant Professor James H. Cox, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; Associate Professor Elizabeth Hedrick, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; Assistant Professor Benjamin Carrington, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts; Professor Douglas Bruster, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts; and Associate Professor Devin Stauffer Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts.

Ritter said the award recipients would be recognized during an academic awards dinner during the spring semester. She said the recipients also would each receive a $5,000 honorarium provided through contributions from university supporters of the awards program.

bottom border