Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
english masthead
english masthead
Martin Kevorkian, Chair CAL 226, Mailcode B5000, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4991

Archived News

Mon, Dec 19, 2005

Writing Contest Results

The English Department is pleased to congratulate the winners of our writing contest.

Fri, Nov 18, 2005

The English Department Congratulates Wanalee Romero

Recepient of an Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Wed, Nov 9, 2005

The 2006 Oxford Summer Program Still Accepting Applications

The 2006 Program will be housed in historic Brasenose College in the heart of Oxford University

Fri, Nov 4, 2005

The English Department Congratulates Daniel Harris and Jessica Krakoski

2005 Recepients of the Rapoport-King Scholarship

Wed, Oct 19, 2005

Jocelyn Harris to Deliver Lecture this Friday

''Domestic Virtues and National Importance''

Mon, Oct 3, 2005

The English Department Welcomes Richard McCann

Presenting a Reading this Thursday

Fri, Sep 23, 2005

Peter LaSalle Honored by Antioch Review

Receives 2005 Award for Distinguished Prose in recognition of his fiction writing

Wed, Sep 21, 2005

The English Department Welcomes Guest Lecturer Stephen Greenblatt

Delivering a Talk on ''Shakespeare and the Ethics of Authority''

Thu, Jul 28, 2005

Actors from the London Stage present: Twelfth Night

Shakespeare's Classic at the B. Iden Payne and Winedale Theaters

Tue, Jul 12, 2005

Professor Adam Z. Newton releases 'The Elsewhere'

A new book published by the University of Wisconsin Press

Mon, Jul 11, 2005

Janine Barchas honored by Phi Beta Kappa

Receives the 2005 Alpha of Texas Award for Distinction in Teaching

Mon, Jun 27, 2005

Ian Hancock Honored by Texas House

Named Harold C. and Alice T. Nowlin Regents Professor in Liberal Arts

Wed, May 11, 2005

20,000 teachers around the world read articles on teaching by UT graduate students!

The Heath Anthology of American Literature has devoted its entire Spring 2005 newsletter to articles by English department graduate students and faculty members.

Fri, Apr 1, 2005

Summer and Fall 2005 Course Descriptions are now online

Course descriptions for the English department may be found online

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

Visiting writer Hayan Charara will teach in Fall 2005

Poet and author of the The Alchemist's Diary

Wed, Mar 16, 2005

All Spring 2005 Writing Contest Deadlines have been extended

Deadline is now Wednesday, April 13. Entries are due to Parlin 114 by 5 PM

Wed, Feb 16, 2005

Women, Gender and Literature Interest Group has a new website

Read about WGL news, student profiles, research resources and more

Fri, Feb 11, 2005

Fourth Annual Sequels Symposium features published works of UT alumni

The Symposium will be held from March 31-April 1, and is organized by current graduate students in the Ethnic and Third World Literature specialization.

Fri, Feb 11, 2005

Poet A. Van Jordan to perform public reading

Jordan will read from his newest collection on Tuesday, February 15th at 4PM in the Chicano Culture Room of the Student Union.

bottom border