Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
frenchitalian masthead frenchitalian masthead
David Birdsong, Chair 201 W 21ST STREET STOP B7600, HRH 2.114A, AUSTIN, TX 78712 • 512-471-5531

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Candidates - "All But Dissertation"

Melissa Demos

Graduate student

m.demos@utexas.edu  |  HRH 4.154

Education   

MA, University of Pittsburgh (Italian Language and Literature); BA, California State University at Chico (Humanities),

Interests

  Renaissance and baroque art history and literature, text/image relationships, Italian national identity

Photo of Elizabeth Florea

Elizabeth Florea

Graduate student

eflorea@utexas.edu  |  HRH 4.156

Education   

M.A. - Italian Studies, Middlebury College

Interests

  Medieval and Italian Renaissance cultural history, women writers, travel literature and gender studies.

Photo of Meredith Lehman

Meredith Lehman

Graduate student

lehman.meredith@gmail.com  |  471-9853  |  HRH 4.152

Education   

MA French Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  19th century literature and visual culture, technology and the arts, word and image, photography

Photo of Beatrice Giuseppina Mabrey

Beatrice Giuseppina Mabrey

Graduate Student

bmabrey@gmail.com  |  HRH 4.174

Education   

Master of Arts in Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Contemporary Italian Literature

Photo of Ettore Marchetti

Ettore Marchetti

2013-2014 OGS Dissertation Fellow & David Bruton, Jr. Fellow

ettore@utexas.edu  |  PCL 5.543

Interests

  Contemporary Italian linguistics. Language and mass-media. Language and Italian Cinema

Photo of Monique Murphy

Monique Murphy

2013-2014 Walther Scholar

monique.murphy@utexas.edu  |  HRH 4.130

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  psycholinguistics, phonetics/phonology, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition

Megan Oprea

Graduate student

Mgoprea@utexas.com  |  HRH 4.140

Education   

MA French, University of Texas

Interests

  Language contact, French/Arabic bilingualism, langauge attitudes, language choice and sociohistorical linguistics

Photo of Clare Perry

Clare Perry

Graduate student

clare.perry@gmail.com  |  HRH 4.168

Interests

  Theory of the Novel, influences of Horace, the long 17th century

Photo of Rebekah E Post

Rebekah E Post

National Science Foundation Grant Recipient & 2013-2014 Walther Scholar

re@utexas.edu

Education   

MA in French Linguistics, University of Texas, Austin

Interests

  French/Arabic language contact, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, code-switching, syntax

Photo of Matthew Rabatin

Matthew Rabatin

2013-2014 Harry Ransom Center Dissertation Fellow and OGS/CoLA Teaching Fellow

rabatin@utexas.edu  |  HRH 4.158

Education   

Master of Arts, University of Pittsburgh

Interests

  20th century and Contemporary Italian literature, Literature of the Resistance, Literary theory, Sicilian literature, Italian cinema, Queer Theory

Photo of Stephanie Russo

Stephanie Russo

2013-2014 Walther Scholar & David Bruton, Jr. Fellow

stephaniekrilov@gmail.com  |  HRH 4.166

Education   

MA in French Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Endangered Romance dialects, Comparative Romance Linguistics, Contact Linguistics, Historical Linguistics

Photo of Nicholas Spinelli

Nicholas Spinelli

Graduate student

nicholas.spinelli@utexas.edu  |  512-471-6800  |  HRH 2.118B

Education   

M.A. French Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  19th Century French, Queer Studies, The Philosophy of Emotion,

Photo of Anna Troyansky

Anna Troyansky

Graduate student

anna.troyansky@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8458  |  HRH 4.128

Education   

M.A. in French, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  bilingualism, language contact, language acquisition, sociolinguistics, sociohistorical linguistics, dialectology

bottom border