Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
frenchitalian masthead frenchitalian masthead
David Birdsong, Chair 201 W 21ST STREET STOP B7600, HRH 2.114A, AUSTIN, TX 78712 • 512-471-5531

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Daniela Bini

Daniela Bini

Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature

bini@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5995  |  HRH 3.112C

Education   

Ph.D, University of Texas, Austin
Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Superior Oil Company-Linward Shivers Cenntenial Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7267  |  HRH 2.110B

Photo of David P Birdsong

David P Birdsong

Professor, Department Chair

birdsong@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7299  |  HRH 2.122

Education   

Ph.D, Harvard University
Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor of French Literature

mbizer@utexas.edu  |  512-471-7780  |  HRH 3.112B

Education   

PhD, Princeton University

Interests

  early modern Europe & France, classical reception, national identity, gender

Photo of Barbara E. Bullock

Barbara E. Bullock

Professor

bbullock AT austin DOT utexas DOT edu  |  512-471-9095  |  HRH 3.108B

Education   

Ph.D., Delaware (Linguistics)

Interests

  Bilingualism and language contact, language variation and change, sociophonetics, and a growing interest in computational and corpus linguistics

Jean-Pierre Montreuil

Professor

jpmontreuil@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6555  |  HRH 3.108A

Interests

  Theoretical phonology and morphology; prosody, dialectology

Photo of Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Professor of French and Comparative Literature, Associate Director of Plan II

akw@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1442  |  CLA 2.102, HRH 3.104C

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  19th-century literature, visual arts, culture, and gender studies in France and Britain

Associate Professors

Photo of Carl S Blyth

Carl S Blyth

Associate Professor

cblyth@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7600  |  HRH 3.114A

Education   

PhD, French Linguistics, Cornell University

Interests

  Applied linguistics (instrutional technology, corpus linguistics, pedagogical grammar); French sociolinguistics (style, stance and interaction); Discourse studies (narrative analysis, cultural scripts, indexicality)

François P Lagarde

Associate Professor

lagarde@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5531

Education   

PhD, Stanford

Guy P Raffa

Associate Professor

guyr@utexas.edu  |  512-232-5492  |  HRH 3.104A

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University

Interests

  Dante Studies, medieval Italian literature and culture, digital humanities, history and philosophy of science, Italo Calvino and Umberto Eco

Photo of Cinzia Russi

Cinzia Russi

Associate Professor

russi@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7024  |  HRH 3.110B

Education   

PhD Linguistics 2003, University of Washington

Interests

  Historical linguistics, Grammaticalization, Aspectualizers, Morphosyntax, Morphology, Italian Dialects, Comparative Romance Linguistics, Cognitive Grammar, Pragmatics, Lexical Semantics

Photo of Hélène Tissières

Hélène Tissières

Associate Professor

htissieres@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5531  |  HRH 3.110C

Education   

Ph.D., New York University

Interests

  African and Caribbean Francophone literatures, African and French film, African contemporary art, African music, Biennale of Dakar.

Assistant Professors

Photo of Paola Bonifazio

Paola Bonifazio

Assistant Professor

pbonifazio@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1561  |  HRH 3.110A

Education   

Ph.D., New York University

Interests

  Italian Cinema; Italian Literature-Modern; Italian Cultural Studies; Film theory and history, including documentary; Futurism; P.P.Pasolini

Photo of Karen A Pagani

Karen A Pagani

Assistant Professor

kpagani@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5737  |  HRH 3.112B

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century moral theory (British, French, German); Seventeenth and eighteenth-century French novel; Diderot and d’Alembert’s Encyclopédie; Historical semantics; Secularization.

Hervé Picherit

Assistant Professor

picherit@utexas.edu  |  512-471-6874  |  HRH 3.114C

Education   

PhD, Stanford

Interests

  20th century French literature, French cinema, the novel, the avant-garde, philosophies of fiction

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Antonella D Del Fattore-Olson

Antonella D Del Fattore-Olson

Distinguished Sr. Lecturer

adolson@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5531/5706  |  HRH 2.106B

Education   

Laurea (Master Degree in Comparative Literature), L'Università degli Studi La Sapienza. Rome, Italy

Interests

  Italian Language and Culture, Teaching Methodology, Play Production, Contemporary Italian Theatre, Modern Italian Literature, Italian dialects

Photo of Nancy C Guilloteau

Nancy C Guilloteau

French Language Program Director

nguilloteau@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5511  |  HRH 2.106A

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers

Robin Benzrihem

Faculty

robin.benzrihem@gmail.com  |  HRH 4.112

Education   

Masters, Paris 7 - Denis Diderot

Interests

  Cultural studies, modern history, popular culture, popular music, gender studies

Irene Eibenstein-Alvisi

Lecturer

iea@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-5706  |  HRH 2.106B

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of Adria Frizzi

Adria Frizzi

Lecturer

adriafrizzi@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7289  |  HRH 3.112A

Education   

PhD, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Research Modern and contemporary literature: Brazilian, Italian, Spanish American, US; Translation studies: theory and practice of translation; Modern and contemporary Itali

Claire C Jones

Lecturer

clairejones@utexas.edu  |  512 471-9308  |  HRH 4.138

Education   

PhD, French Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Gaetan Legrand

Lecturer

gaetanlegrand@utexas.edu  |  HRH 4.108

Photo of Anne McCreary

Anne McCreary

Lecturer

annemccreary@gmail.com  |  HRH 4.166

Heather G. Pelletier

Lecturer

hpelletier@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7470  |  HRH 3.112A

Education   

PhD, Vanderbilt University

Interests

  20th Century French literature; French language and civilization

Beatriz E Schleppe

Lecturer

bea@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5531  |  HRH 3.114C

Education   

PhD, The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Melissa E Skidmore

Melissa E Skidmore

Lecturer

mskidmore@austin.utexas.edu  |  HRH 3.114C

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Professors Emeriti

Mary J Baker

Professor Emeritus

mfjordan@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

PhD, Harvard University
Photo of Jean-Pierre B Cauvin

Jean-Pierre B Cauvin

Professor Emeritus

jpcauvin@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph. D., Princeton University

Interests

  Poetry of the 19th and 20th centuries; Surrealism; The Arts in France; 19th-20th C. French history

Richard B Grant

Professor Emeritus

William W Kibler

Professor Emeritus

wkibler@utexas.edu  |  HRH 308C

Education   

PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Photo of Knud P Lambrecht

Knud P Lambrecht

Professor Emeritus

lambrec@utexas.edu

Education   

PhD, University of California at Berkeley
Photo of Jane N Lippmann

Jane N Lippmann

Professor Emeritus

j.lippmann@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Interests

  Pedagogy; Teaching with Technology; Developing Online Course Materials, Foreign Language Disabilities

Antonella C Pease

Associate Professor Emeritus

Dina M Sherzer

Professor Emeritus

dsherzer@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph. D., University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Slavic, Jewish Literature and Art

Harold A. Wylie, Jr.

Associate Professor Emeritus

hwylie7@att.net

bottom border