Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
frenchitalian masthead frenchitalian masthead
David Birdsong, Chair 201 W 21ST STREET STOP B7600, HRH 2.114A, AUSTIN, TX 78712 • 512-471-5531

Archived News

Tue, Dec 17, 2013

French Majors Inducted into Phi Betta Kappa Honor Society

The Department of French and Italian congratulates Julia Haschke and Caroline Corcoran who recently joined Phi Beta Kappa

Mon, Dec 9, 2013

Paola Bonifazio Awarded a Summer Research Assignment

Paola Bonifazio has been awarded a Summer Research Assignment for 2014 to support her research project entitled "The Genealogy of Postfeminism."

Thu, Oct 31, 2013

The hottest job skill is...

CNNMoney lists fluency in a foreign language as a top job skill

Wed, Oct 16, 2013

Carl Blyth Named Provost's Senior Teaching Fellow

Provost Greg Fenves announced 20 leading faculty innovators at The University of Texas at Austin have been appointed as inaugural Provost's Teaching Fellows.

Fri, Aug 2, 2013

Paola Bonifazio Wins 2013 ISSNAF Award for the Humanities

In conjunction with 2013: Year of Italian Culture in the US

Sat, May 11, 2013

French Linguistics Graduate Student Rebekah Post Receives a National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Grant

The Linguistics Program of the NSF has recommended Rebekah Post's dissertation project, "The impact of social factors on the syntactic patterns of Arabic-French code-switching among Moroccan young adults", for this award.

Tue, May 7, 2013

Three French Majors Awarded Endowed Presidential Scholarships

Leslie Melisa Gloria, Elizabeth D. Gray, and Grace G. Hansen

Tue, Mar 19, 2013

Fall 2012 Departmental Newsletter Published

Click through to download.

Tue, Jan 29, 2013

Hélène Tissières's new book, "Transmigrational Writings between the Maghreb and Sub-Saharan Africa: Literature, Orality, Visual Arts," is published

We are pleased to announce that Associate Professor Hélène Tissières's book "Transmigrational Writings between the Maghreb and Sub-Saharan Africa: Literature, Orality, Visual Arts" was recently released by University of Virginia Press. Congratulations, Hélène!

Thu, Jan 17, 2013

Audition soon for the Spring 2013 FIGSO performance of Molière's Les Précieuses Ridicules

Wednesday, January 23 and Thursday, January 24, 6-8:30 PM in HRH 2.118

Fri, Jan 11, 2013

Three New PhD Alumni in French

Bethel, Bacuez, and Shariat earn doctorates

bottom border