Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
geography masthead geography masthead
Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach, Chair 305 E. 23rd Street • CLA 3.306 • A3100 • Austin, Tx 78712 • 512-232-1595

Archived News

Tue, Dec 14, 2010

¿Tacos or Tacos?

Geography Ph.D. Student Robert Lemon produces short documentary film on urban food culture in Austin.

Mon, Dec 6, 2010

Jon Gehring attending COP16

Master's Student is part of AAG Delegation to United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change Conference in Cancun

Wed, Nov 17, 2010

Dr. Je-Hun Ryu visits alma mater and presents current research

His talk was entitled "Contested Identities in Postcolonial Incheon, South Korea"

Wed, Nov 10, 2010

Ingrid Haeckel receives award for Best Presentation

the Student Conference on Conservation Science in New York City

Thu, Oct 7, 2010

Geography professor returns from Botswana with data and inspiration

Dr. Kelley Crews’ Colloquium Presentation

Sun, Sep 19, 2010

Professor Robert Dull shows that human land use affected climate before the Industrial Revolution

"The Columbian Encounter and the Little Ice Age: Abrupt Land Use Change, Fire, and Greenhouse Forcing" is in the Annals of the AAG Special Issue on Climate Change October 2010

Tue, Sep 14, 2010

Professor Edgardo Latrubesse serves as a guest editor and contributer

This special issue is titled Hydro-geomorphology, sediment transport and human impacts in large South American rivers

Wed, Sep 1, 2010

Research Spotlight: Dr. Jennifer Miller

Spatial autocorrelation and species distribution models

Fri, Aug 20, 2010

Register for Fall 2010 Courses

Mon, Aug 2, 2010

Mexico Fast Forward: Austin American-Statesman

Dr. William E. Doolittle contributes to Newspaper in the article "From the 19th to the 21st century in three decades"

Tue, Jul 20, 2010

Biogeomorphic and Ecological Influence of Stones on Haleakala Silverswords

Dr. Francisco L. Pérez Presentation on Geography YouTube Channel

Fri, Jun 11, 2010

Graduate Students Featured in Daily Texan

Lindsey Carte, Othoniel Vazquez-Dominguez, and Josh Rudow were featured in the Daily Texan about issues surrounding their summer research in Mexico.

Thu, Apr 15, 2010

Graduate Students present in AAG National Meeting

2010 Association of American Geographers Annual Meeting, Washington, DC

Wed, Apr 14, 2010

Robert Lemon invited to talk at Yale School of Architecture's symposium, "Positioning Global Systems."

Measuring the Social Constructs of Space: Using GIS to Quantify Boundary Perceptions of Demographically Distinct Neighborhoods in Oakland, CA

Mon, Apr 5, 2010

Eliot Tretter given the Cesar E. Chavez "Si Se Puede" Award

Award is for work on land-use issues in east Austin

Fri, Apr 2, 2010

Professor Gregory Knapp presented research at University of Puerto Rico

Talk was titled "Agriculture and Culture in the Equatorial Andes"

Tue, Mar 30, 2010

2010 Departmental Student Awards

Sharon W. Adams, Lindsey Carte, Kimberly Horndeski. and Andrew McCown recognized by the Department.

Wed, Mar 10, 2010

UT students and faculty carry out a field trip to the Lower Mississippi Valley and Delta.

Large River Management in a Changing Environment

Tue, Feb 9, 2010

Professor Latrubesse is guest editor for a special issue of Geomorphology

Speical issue entitled "Short and long term processes, landforms and responses in large rivers"

Tue, Feb 9, 2010

Sharon W. Adams wins the 2010 AAG Cultural Geography Specialty Group's Terry Jordan-Bychkov Award

Award for best student paper at the PhD level with an entry entitled "Spotted in the Wilderness: Documenting the Jaguar in the Nineteenth Century."

Thu, Feb 4, 2010

Paul Hudson and Greg Knapp honored with SSD Appreciation Award

Hudson and Knapp receive award in appreciation of their efforts on behalf of those with disabilities

Mon, Feb 1, 2010

Environmental Change in the Western Amazon

Dr. Ken Young's Presentation on Geography YouTube Channel

Tue, Jan 26, 2010

Ophelia Wang co-authored a climate change publication

GIS analysis for species affected by climate change

Thu, Jan 21, 2010

Reena Patel appointed as Public Diplomacy Officer

Ph.D. alum to work with the US State Department

Wed, Jan 20, 2010

M. Anwar Sounny-Slitine featured in the Daily Texan of 1/21/2010

Article "UT students back from Copenhagen" focuses on student reactions to the Copenhagen Accords

Mon, Jan 18, 2010

Prof. Robin Doughty lectures about Bird Representation in Art to Travis Audubon Society

"What Bird is That?" explores people relationship with birds

Wed, Jan 13, 2010

Rebecca Torres featured in the Daily Texan

Professor Torres discusses immigration issues about the chaing nature of immigration

Sun, Jan 10, 2010

Benjamin Hargrove plays key role in Small Business Development Research for the City of Austin.

Through the GISc Center, Hargrove produced maps and spatial analysis for the reports and presentation.

Thu, Jan 7, 2010

Bruce Bacia works with Smithville to develop sidewalk infrastructure for school children

UT Geography Undergrad voulnteers through the GISc Center to develop GIS information for Smithville, Texas

bottom border