Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
geography masthead geography masthead
Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach, Chair 305 E. 23rd Street • CLA 3.306 • A3100 • Austin, Tx 78712 • 512-232-1595

Archived News

Mon, Dec 19, 2011

STUDY ABROAD SUMMER 2012

Faculty to lead two Study Abroad Programs: Drs. Crews and Knapp teach new Summer 2012 courses

Mon, Dec 19, 2011

Staff and faculty tour new building to be completed fall 2012

College of Liberal Arts Building under construction

Sun, Nov 13, 2011

The Albatross and the Fish

Professor Doughty publishes book on conservation

Mon, Oct 24, 2011

SWAAG's Annual Meeting

The Southwestern Division of the Association of American Geographers (SWAAG) meets 10-12 November

Sun, Oct 23, 2011

Sedimentary effects of floods along the Lower Mississippi

Dr. Paul Hudson awarded a NSF grant

Fri, Oct 21, 2011

Solar Power Potential on the University of Texas Campus

M. Anwar Sounny-Slitine authors a paper for the 2nd Annual UT Campus Sustainability Symposium

Wed, Oct 19, 2011

Molly Polk and Maria Jose LaRota participate in conference on conservation science

The student conference was carried out at the American Museum of Natural History

Wed, Sep 28, 2011

Adaptation to Climate Change

Graduate student publish article on prospective collaboration in flood control research between UT and Latin America

Wed, Sep 14, 2011

Governing climate change

Wed, Sep 14, 2011

Geographers help evaluate Amazon environmental change

Future hydroelectric sites studied with grant from National Geographic Society

Tue, Aug 23, 2011

New Graduate Students

Fri, Aug 19, 2011

New Faculty Member: Dr. Eugenio Arima

He joins the department fresh from a field season of research in the Amazon

Fri, Jul 22, 2011

IIE Graduate Fellowship for International Study Awarded to Doctoral Student

International Institute of Education fellowship permits farming study in Mexico

Mon, Jun 20, 2011

Geography students make an impact with east Austin gentrification study

Frontiers class compiled report used to protect home owners

Sat, Jun 11, 2011

UT research leads to new law protecting working families

Drs. Heyman and Torres, plus students from the Department of Geography & The Environment, played a key role

Tue, May 24, 2011

Summer 2011 Courses

Mon, May 23, 2011

Geography and Fulbrights

Geography professors successful in using Fulbright Faculty Fellowships for overseas research

Mon, Apr 25, 2011

Music and American Geographies

Eliot Tretter - Branding a City “Live Music Capital of the World”

Tue, Apr 19, 2011

Close to the land: Professor Kelley A. Crews

Working in Botswana's villages and countryside, Professor Kelley Crews explores how ongoing changes affect its people and ecosystems.

Tue, Apr 12, 2011

Reconciling Environmental Concerns with the Human Right to Water in the Middle East

Siree Allers presents at AAG Annual Meeting

Tue, Apr 12, 2011

Eliot Tretter receives HBSA’s Teacher Appreciation Award

UT Hispanic Business Student Association recognizes Dr. Tretter for his teaching excellence

Sun, Mar 27, 2011

2011 Departmental Student Awards

Joshua Rudow, Lindsey Carte, Renata Ponte, Devin Buchhorn recognized by the Department.

Thu, Mar 17, 2011

Research Spotlight: Dr. Karl W. Butzer

Ecological History and Sustainability

Tue, Mar 15, 2011

Niti Mishra awarded the GeoEye Imagery Grant

Graduate student will use grant to study change in the Kalahari

Fri, Mar 4, 2011

Tropical Treelines and Global Change

Change in the high Andes

Mon, Feb 21, 2011

Graduate Students present in AAG National Meeting

2011 Association of American Geographers Annual Meeting, Seattle, Washington

Mon, Feb 21, 2011

The Power of Naming: The Toponymic Geographies of Commemorated African-Americans

Dr. Eliot Tretter publishes work on regional geographical patterns of commemorative place naming of African-Americans in the United States.

Sun, Feb 6, 2011

Geographers in Crete

Biogeography in a changing world

bottom border