Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
germanic masthead germanic masthead
Peter Hess, Chair 2505 University Avenue, Burdine Hall 336, Mailcode C3300, Austin TX 78712-1802 • 512-471-4123

Graduate Student List

Elizabeth Alexander

Graduate Student

lizalexander@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Matt Anderson

Graduate student, Assistant Instructor

andersmo@utexas.edu  |  BUR 366

Interests

  19th century German literature, historiography, nationalism and national sentiment, canonicity, collective memory, Swedish literature and culture

John Benjamin

Graduate student

johndbenjamin@utexas.edu  |  BUR 366

Margo Blevins

Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant

mblevins@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Collin Brown

Graduate student

browncl@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 362

Interests

  Creoles & pidgins, Dutch/Afrikaans, language contact, historical linguistics, Sprachinseln, folklore

Devon Donohue-Bergeler

Graduate student, Foreign Language Education

devon.donohue@utexas.edu

Education   

M.A. in German Studies/Culture and Communication, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany

Interests

  foreign language acquisition in a study abroad setting, experiential learning, motivation and inter-cultural learning

Ryan Dux

PhD Candidate, Graduate Research Assistant

ryandux@utexas.edu

Interests

  Syntax, Semantics, Historical Linguistics, Grammatical Change, Language Pedagogy, German-American Dialects

Matthias Fingerhuth

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

fingerhuth@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Jenny Fischer

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

jennyfischer@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

M.A. in German as a Foreign Language (DaF), University of Leipzig, Germany and Federal University of Paraná, Brazil

Interests

  Second Language Acquisition, Foreign Language Pedagogy, Multilingualism, Critical Bicultural Pedagogy, Linguistic Relativity, Translation Studies

Katrin Fuchs

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

k.fuchs@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Maggie S Gemmell

Assistant Instructor, Ph.D. Candidate

gemmell@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

M.A. Germanic Studies - Linguistics, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Metaphor, Politeness, Lexical Semantics, Conversation Analysis, Foreign Language Pedagogy

David Huenlich

PhD Candidate, Assistant Instructor

david.huenlich@googlemail.com  |  Burdine 362

Dale Jones

Graduate student

BUR 362

Cornelia Loos

Graduate student, Department of Linguistics; Assistant Instructor

cornelia.loos@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Alexander Lorenz

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

alorenz@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Education   

MA, University of Mississippi

Interests

  Second Language Acquisition, Curriculum Development, Language Contact & Variation, Syntax & Phonology, Multilingualism

Reinhard Mueller

Graduate student (Comparative Literature), Assistant Instructor (Germanic Studies)

rgmueller@utexas.edu  |  BUR 362

Jessica Plummer

PhD Candidate; Graduate Student

jeplum@utexas.edu

Interests

  19th- and 20th-century literature, popular literature and culture, theater, intersections of social class and literature, and German cultural history

Jake Reis

Graduate student

jake.r.reis@gmail.com

Jason Roberts

Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant II

j.roberts@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Kristina Saunders

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

kmsaunders@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

MA in Second Language Acquisition, Kansas State University

Interests

  Interactional Linguistics/Conversation Analysis, Applied Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Language Pedagogy, and Historical Linguistics

Matthew Sherman

Graduate Student

matthew.sherman@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Annika VanNoy

Graduate student

annika.vannoy@utexas.edu  |  471-5665  |  BUR 378

Cindy Walter-Gensler

Ph.D Candidate, Editorial Assistant for the German Studies Review

waltergensler@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

M. A. in Germanic Studies, University of Florida

Interests

  Feminist Theory, German Feminism, Representations of Motherhood in German Culture, Representations of State Violence

Zoë Wyatt

Assistant Instructor, Graduate Student

zoewyatt@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Education   

MA, University of Oklahoma
bottom border