Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
germanic masthead germanic masthead
Kit Belgum, Chair 2505 University Avenue, Burdine Hall 336, Mailcode C3300, Austin TX 78712-1802 • 512-471-4123

Graduate Student List

Elizabeth Alexander

Graduate Student

lizalexander@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Matt Anderson

Graduate student, Assistant Instructor

andersmo@utexas.edu  |  BUR 366

Interests

  19th century German literature, historiography, nationalism and national sentiment, canonicity, collective memory, Swedish literature and culture

Steve Bartels

Graduate Student, LBJ School of Public Affairs

stevebartels@utexas.edu  |  BUR 362

Margo Blevins

Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant

mblevins@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Collin Brown

Graduate student

browncl@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 362

Interests

  (Old) Icelandic, Norwegian, Medieval Studies, folklore, historical linguistics, Dutch/Afrikaans

Ryan Dux

PhD Candidate, Graduate Research Assistant

ryandux@utexas.edu

Interests

  Syntax, Semantics, Historical Linguistics, Grammatical Change, Language Pedagogy, German-American Dialects

Matthias Fingerhuth

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

fingerhuth@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Jenny Fischer

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

jennyfischer@utexas.edu  |  BUR 378

Education   

M.A. in German as a Foreign Language (DaF), University of Leipzig, Germany and University of Paraná, Brazil

Interests

  Applied Linguistics; Second Language Acquisition; Comparative Linguistics, Foreign Language Pedagogy; German Language Teaching Material Development; Curriculum Development; Applying Differentiated Instruction in Foreign Language Education; Translation in Communicative Language Teaching

Katrin Fuchs

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

k.fuchs@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Maggie S Gemmell

Assistant Instructor, Ph.D. Candidate

gemmell@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

M.A. Germanic Studies - Linguistics, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Metaphor, Politeness, Lexical Semantics, Conversation Analysis, Foreign Language Pedagogy

David Huenlich

PhD Candidate, Assistant Instructor

david.huenlich@googlemail.com  |  Burdine 362

T. Adams LaBorde

PhD Candidate, Assistant Instructor

adams.laborde@gmail.com  |  Burdine 362

Cornelia Loos

Graduate student, Department of Linguistics; Assistant Instructor

cornelia.loos@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Alexander Lorenz

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

alorenz@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Education   

MA, University of Mississippi

Interests

  Second Language Acquisition, Curriculum Development, Language Contact & Variation, Syntax & Phonology, Multilingualism

Karin Maxey

Ph.D. Candidate

karin.maxey@utexas.edu

Interests

  Teaching culture, content-based teaching, second language reading, literature and culture of the Weimar Republic, 20th century German literature

Jessica Plummer

PhD Candidate; Graduate Student

jeplum@utexas.edu

Interests

  19th- and 20th-century literature, popular literature and culture, theater, intersections of social class and literature, and German cultural history

Amanda Ziemba Randall

Ph.D. Candidate; Assistant Instructor

azrandall@utexas.edu  |  Burdine 378

Education   

M.A. in cultural anthropology, Rice University

Interests

  comparative Germanophone cultural studies, 19th-21st-century Germanophone literature, intellectual history, history of science, ethnography, translation studies, film studies, foreign language pedagogy

Jake Reis

Graduate student

jake.r.reis@gmail.com

Jason Roberts

Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant II

j.roberts@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Tavis Sartin

Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant

sartin.tavis@gmail.com  |  BUR 366

Kristina Saunders

Graduate Student, Assistant Instructor

kmsaunders@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

MA in Second Language Acquisition, Kansas State University

Interests

  Interactional Linguistics/Conversation Analysis, Applied Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Language Pedagogy, and Historical Linguistics

Matthew Sherman

Graduate Student

matthew.sherman@utexas.edu  |  BUR 370

Annika VanNoy

Graduate student

annika.vannoy@utexas.edu  |  471-5665  |  BUR 378

Cindy Walter-Gensler

Ph.D Candidate, Editorial Assistant for the German Studies Review

waltergensler@utexas.edu  |  BUR 382

Education   

M. A. in Germanic Studies, University of Florida

Interests

  Feminist Theory, German Feminism, Representations of Motherhood in German Culture, Representations of State Violence

Zoë Wyatt

Assistant Instructor, Graduate Student

zoewyatt@utexas.edu  |  BUR 374

Education   

MA, University of Oklahoma
bottom border