Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
government masthead
Robert G. Moser, Chair BAT 2.116, Mailcode A1800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-5121

Faculty List

Photo of Jeffrey Abramson

Jeffrey Abramson

Professor, Fellow of the Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Chair in Government

jabramson@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1387  |  MEZ 3.148

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Bethany L Albertson

Bethany L Albertson

Assistant Professor

balberts@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-1737  |  BAT 4.124

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Political Psychology; Public Opinion

Photo of Michael R. Anderson

Michael R. Anderson

Affiliated Faculty

mra@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2009, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Zoltan Barany

Zoltan Barany

Professor, Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professor

barany@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7231  |  BAT 3.156

Education   

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Interests

  military politics and sociology, democratization, monarchies

Photo of Henry W. Brands

Henry W. Brands

Affiliated Faculty

hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Daniel M Brinks

Daniel M Brinks

Associate Professor

danbrinks@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., J.D., University of Notre Dame, University of Michigan
Photo of Jason Brownlee

Jason Brownlee

Associate Professor

brownlee@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7304  |  BAT 3.146

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Bruce Buchanan

Bruce Buchanan

Professor

bruceb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7212  |  BAT 3.122

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Presidential and American politics, American institutions, public policy and political behavior

Photo of J. Budziszewski

J. Budziszewski

Professor

jbud@undergroundthomist.org  |  512-232-7229  |  MEZ 3.106

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  See biography

Walter Dean Burnham

Professor Emeritus

tishmb@aol.com

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Terrence Chapman

Terrence Chapman

Associate Professor

t.chapman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7221  |  BAT 3.104

Education   

Ph.D., Emory University

Interests

  International organizations, international conflict, international law, international political economy, formal modeling

Photo of Frank Cross

Frank Cross

Affiliated Faculty

crossf@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

J.D., Harvard University
Photo of Victoria M. Defrancesco Soto

Victoria M. Defrancesco Soto

Visiting Scholar

drvmds@gmail.com

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University

Interests

  Campaigns and elections; political marketing; political psychology; immigration; race, ethnicity, and gender;

Erik Dempsey

Lecturer and Assistant Director of the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas

ed6335@mail.utexas.edu  |  WAG 401

Interests

  human virtue, and the proper place of politics in a well-lived human life, the different ways in which human virtue is understood in different political situations, and the ways in which human virtue may transcend any political situation

Photo of Henry Dietz

Henry Dietz

Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

h.dietz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7209  |  BAT 3.124

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of David Edwards

David Edwards

Professor

dedwards@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7254  |  BAT 3.126

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Zachary Elkins

Zachary Elkins

Associate Professor

zelkins@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7250  |  BAT 4.120

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

James Enelow

Professor

jenelow@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7211  |  BAT 3.102

Education   

Ph.D., University of Rochester
Photo of Rhonda L Evans Case

Rhonda L Evans Case

Adjunct Associate Professor and Interim Director, Edward A. Clark Center for Australia & New Zealand Studies

evanscaser@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Michael Findley

Assistant Professor

mikefindley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7208  |  BAT 3.108

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois
Photo of Gary Freeman

Gary Freeman

Professor

gfreeman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7278  |  BAT 4.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests

  Politics of immigration, comparative social policy, politics in western democracies

Jeffrey Friedman

Visiting Scholar

edcritrev@gmail.com

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  normative political theory, history of political philosophy, social-science methodology, public-opinion research, theory of social democracy

Photo of Eugene Gholz

Eugene Gholz

Affiliated Faculty

egholz@alum.mit.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of Terri Givens

Terri Givens

Associate Professor

tgivens@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7245  |  BAT 3.136

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles
Photo of Lawrence Graham

Lawrence Graham

Professor Emeritus, Fellow at IC2

l.graham@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Florida

Interests

  Comparative Politics, Regionalism, and Development Policy and Management

Photo of Kenneth Greene

Kenneth Greene

Associate Professor

kgreene@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7206  |  BAT 4.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Benjamin Gregg

Benjamin Gregg

Faculty

bgregg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7274  |  MEZ 3.138

Education   

Ph.D., Politics, Princeton University; Ph.D., Philosophy, Freie Universitaet Berlin

Interests

  Political, social, legal, and sociological theory of complex modern societies

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Louann and Larry Temple Centennial Professor Emeritus in the Humanities

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Clement Henry

Clement Henry

Professor Emeritus

chenry@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of James Henson

James Henson

Director, Texas Politics Project

j.henson@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0090  |  MEZ 2.302E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7236  |  BAT 4.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Interests

  Comparative Politics, Political Sociology, Political Elites

Photo of Stephanie Holmsten

Stephanie Holmsten

Affiliated Lecturer

ssholmsten@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7215  |  MEZ 3.214

Education   

PhD, Political Science, University of Texas

Interests

  comparative politics, democratization, electoral institutions, race and gender, international organizations

Photo of Juliet Hooker

Juliet Hooker

Associate Professor

juliethooker@mail.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7273  |  MEZ 3.146

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University
Photo of Wendy Hunter

Wendy Hunter

Professor

wendyhunter@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7247  |  BAT 3.138

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Gary J. Jacobsohn

Gary J. Jacobsohn

Professor, Malcolm Macdonald Professor in Constitutional and Comparative Law

gjacobsohn@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1444  |  MEZ 3.110

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests

  Constitutional Theory, Comparative Constitutionalism

Photo of Stephen Jessee

Stephen Jessee

Associate Professor

sjessee@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7282  |  BAT 4.128

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Bryan Jones

Bryan Jones

Professor, J. J. "Jake" Pickle Regents Chair in Congressional Studies

bdjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9973  |  BAT 3.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Policy processes; models of decision-making and choice; agenda-setting; fiscal policy

Paul Kens

Visiting Scholar

pk05@txstate.edu

Photo of Alan Kuperman

Alan Kuperman

Affiliated Faculty

akuperman@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Professor

dleal@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.1343  |  BAT 3.140

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Latino Politics and Policy

Photo of Tse-min Lin

Tse-min Lin

Associate Professor

tml@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7248  |  BAT 4.144

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Amy Liu

Faculty

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7249

Photo of Xuecheng Liu

Xuecheng Liu

Visiting Associate Professor

xcliu814@yahoo.com  |  BAT 3.108

Photo of Robert Luskin

Robert Luskin

Associate Professor

rcluskin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7230  |  BAT 3.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests

  Public opinion, voting behavior, political psychology, and statistical methods

Photo of Xiaobo Lü

Xiaobo Lü

Assistant Professor

xiaobolu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7257  |  BAT 3.152

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-1724  |  BAT 3.150

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University
Photo of Raul L. Madrid

Raul L. Madrid

Professor

rmadrid@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7246  |  BAT 3.112

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Al P. Martinich

Al P. Martinich

Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professor in Philosophy

martinich@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-484-8186  |  WAG 416A

Education   

PhD, University of California at San Diego

Janice May

Professor Emeritus

j.may@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Photo of Eric McDaniel

Eric McDaniel

Associate Professor

emcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7268  |  BAT 4.122

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Photo of Patrick McDonald

Patrick McDonald

Associate Professor

pjmcdonald@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1747  |  BAT 4.136

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

John McIver

Senior Lecturer

mciver@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7271  |  BAT 3.134

Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Department Chair, Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7260  |  BAT 2.116G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Scott Moser

Scott Moser

Assistant Professor

smoser@austin.utexas.edu  |  512 232 7305  |  Batts 4.132

Education   

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

Interests

  Comparative Legislative Institutions; Social Choice Theory; Institutional Choice; Statistical Inference and Machine Learning

Photo of Michael W Mosser

Michael W Mosser

Lecturer

mosserm@austin.utexas.edu  |  232.7280  |  MEZ 3.222

Education   

PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Clinical Professor and Fellow of the Charles Wilson Chair in Pakistan Studies

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-7270  |  BATS 4.102

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Shannon Bow O'Brien

Shannon Bow O'Brien

Lecturer

shannonbow@hotmail.com  |  512-232-7213  |  MEZ 3.226

Education   

Ph.D., University of Florida
Photo of Lorraine Pangle

Lorraine Pangle

Professor and Co-Director, Thomas Jefferson Center

lorrainepangle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1447  |  MEZ 3.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Thomas Pangle

Thomas Pangle

Professor, Joe R. Long Chair in Democratic Studies; Co-Director, Jefferson Center for Core Texts and Ideas

tpangle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1529  |  MEZ 3.154

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Affiliated Faculty

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Ami Pedahzur

Ami Pedahzur

Professor, Arnold Chaplik Professor in Israel and Diaspora Studies

pedahzur@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1452  |  MEZ 3.140

Education   

Ph.D., University of Haifa, Israel

Interests

  Terrorism, counterterrorism, political radicalism,special operations forces, Israeli politics.

Photo of H. W. Perry, Jr.

H. W. Perry, Jr.

Associate Professor, Joint Professor with UT School of Law

hwperry@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1852  |  TNH 3.245

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Tasha Philpot

Tasha Philpot

Associate Professor

tphilpot@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3681  |  BAT 4.140

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Lucas Powe

Affiliated Faculty

spowe@law.utexas.edu

Photo of David Prindle

David Prindle

Professor

dprindle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7214  |  BAT 4.104

Education   

Ph.D., MIT
Photo of Brian Roberts

Brian Roberts

Professor

brian.roberts@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7243  |  BAT 4.156

Education   

Ph.D., Washington University

Interests

  American Political Institutions, Interest Groups, and Positive Political Economy

Victoria Rodriguez

Affiliated Faculty

victoria@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph. D., University of California, Berkeley

Alan M Sager

Lecturer

amsag@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-7233  |  MEZ 3.232

Karl M Schmitt

Professor Emeritus

Thomas K Seung

Affiliated Faculty

t.k.seung@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-6808  |  WAG 431

Education   

PhD, Yale
Photo of Daron Shaw

Daron Shaw

Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

dshaw@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7275  |  BAT 4.146

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Bartholomew Sparrow

Bartholomew Sparrow

Professor

bhs@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7207  |  BAT 3.142

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Dana Stauffer

Dana Stauffer

Lecturer

danastauffer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1448  |  MEZ 3.136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Devin Stauffer

Devin Stauffer

Associate Professor

dstauffer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1462  |  MEZ 3.144

Education   

Ph.D., Boston College
Photo of Sean Theriault

Sean Theriault

Associate Professor

seant@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7279  |  BAT 3.130

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  American political institutions

Photo of Jeffrey Tulis

Jeffrey Tulis

Associate Professor

tulis@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7244  |  MEZ 3.152

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Political Theory and American Politics

Photo of Maurizio Viroli

Maurizio Viroli

Professor

maurizio.viroli@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7256  |  MEZ 3.150

Education   

Ph.D., European University Institute in Florence

Interests

  History of political thought; classical republicanism and neo-republicanism; Niccolò Machiavelli; Jean Jacques Rousseau; republican iconography; the relationship between religion and politics; patriotism; constitutionalism, classical rhetoric; political communication; citizenship and civic education

Photo of R. Harrison Wagner

R. Harrison Wagner

Professor Emeritus

rhwagner@utexas.edu  |  512-232-7271  |  BAT 3.134

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  International conflict, international political economy, the relations between domestic and international politics, and formal theories of foreign policy and international politics

Photo of Rachel Wellhausen

Rachel Wellhausen

Assistant Professor

rwellhausen@utexas.edu  |  512.232.7202  |  BAT 4.138

Education   

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Interests

  International political economy

Photo of Kurt Weyland

Kurt Weyland

Professor, Lozano Long Professor of Latin American Politics

kweyland@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.7253  |  BAT 4.126

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Democratization, market reform, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America

Photo of Christopher Wlezien

Christopher Wlezien

Hogg Professor of Government

Wlezien@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Iowa

Interests

  Public opinion, public policy, political institutions, elections, research methods

Photo of Scott Wolford

Scott Wolford

Assistant Professor

swolford@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7210  |  BAT 4.152

Education   

Ph.D., Emory University

Interests

  International Conflict, International Institutions, Game Theory

bottom border