Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
government masthead
Robert G. Moser, Chair BAT 2.116, Mailcode A1800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-5121

Teaching Awards Continue Rolling In

Posted: May 11, 2009

The Department of Government faculty has received two more undergraduate teaching awards. Kenneth Greene has received a 2009 Liberal Arts Council Teaching Award, and Sean Theriault has received a 2009-10 Dad’s Association Centennial Teaching Fellowship.

The Liberal Arts Council reinstated their teaching award after it had been dormant since 2001. Four recipients were chosen from nominations submitted by students for extraordinary professors and lecturers in the College of Liberal Arts. The Council received more than 20 nominations, which were reviewed and voted on by the Liberal Arts Council Academic Affairs Committee. Professors selected for the awards demonstrated an outstanding commitment to their students, both within and beyond the classroom, often taking extra time to work individually with students.

The Liberal Arts Council Teaching Award was discontinued in 2001, but the current council leadership was informed that the award used to exist, and upon realizing that the award could be reinstated, did not hesitate to do so. Nominees were judged based on the following question: How has this nominee demonstrated excellence in teaching undergraduates? Professors were judged on the strength of specific examples of how they impacted students’ lives. Greene’s nomination thoroughly listed and described the various ways he works with his students to ensure their understanding of classroom material, as well as their overall success as undergraduates.

Along with Juliet Hooker, Greene directs the Department of Government Honors Program.

Tressa Westerman contributed the text about the Liberal Arts Council Teaching Award.

bottom border