Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
government masthead
Robert G. Moser, Chair BAT 2.116, Mailcode A1800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-5121

Archived News

Thu, Dec 22, 2011

Benjamin Gregg Publishes Book on Human Rights

Human rights are political, not theological

Wed, Dec 21, 2011

Sean Theriault Analyzes Payroll Tax Cut Impasse for CNN

Why The Gingrich Senators are no solution to DC gridlock

Thu, Dec 15, 2011

Clem Henry Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Professor emeritus honored by Middle East Studies Association

Tue, Dec 6, 2011

Policy Agendas Project Mined in Senate Report

Tom Coburn (R-OK) uses Policy Agendas Project data to defend GAO budget

Mon, Nov 21, 2011

Rights and American Constitutional Identity

Listen to Gary Jacobsohn's podcast

Fri, Nov 18, 2011

An Insider's Look at Tunisia's First Free and Fair Election

Matt Buehler reports from Tunisia

Tue, Oct 11, 2011

Understanding Military Responses to Revolt in the Arab World

Zoltan Barany analyzes the military’s role in revolution

Wed, Aug 31, 2011

Issue Attention and Presidential Elections

Matt Vandenbroek publishes article on why partisans defect in presidential elections

Tue, Aug 30, 2011

Testing the Media’s Impact on Politics

Austin Hart awarded NSF grant

Mon, Aug 29, 2011

Faculty and Alumni Receive APSA Top Honors

Awards won for research and teaching

Fri, Aug 19, 2011

William Astor Kirk, 1922-2011

Kirk broke racial barriers at UT

Tue, Aug 16, 2011

Is Rick Perry Electable?

Bruce Buchanan joins NYT debate

Wed, Jul 13, 2011

Policy Agendas Project Goes Global

Special journal issue dedicated to Comparative Policy Agendas Project

Thu, Jul 7, 2011

Elections in the Arab World: Do They Matter?

New article urges scholars to look beyond electoral arena

Wed, Jun 15, 2011

Obama's Trench Warfare

Peter Trubowitz publishes commentary in The National Interest

Wed, May 18, 2011

2011 William Jennings Bryan Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to the 2011 Honors class!

Tue, May 3, 2011

University Undergraduate Scholarships Awarded

GOV majors receive Presidential and Rapoport Scholarships

Thu, Apr 28, 2011

Political Theory Lectures Available Online

Pangle on education and democracy; Tulis on constitutional decay

Fri, Apr 22, 2011

Why do States Consult International Organizations?

New book analyzes domestic politics and multilateral authorization for war

Wed, Apr 20, 2011

Testament to a Longhorn Education

Shelby Carvalho named Dean’s Distinguished Graduate

Tue, Apr 12, 2011

Johnny Meyer Wins NSF Research Fellowship

Graduate student awarded nation’s premier fellowship

Fri, Apr 1, 2011

Politics and Strategy

New book helps explain American grand strategy

Mon, Feb 28, 2011

The Gingrich Senators and Senate Polarization

New research details House “contamination” of Senate

Thu, Feb 24, 2011

Texans Oppose Tax Hikes, Spending Cuts, Poll Finds

Public opinion: cut the budget, just not anything in it

Fri, Feb 18, 2011

New Democracies, Same as the Old?

New research expands comparative understanding of campaigns and elections

Tue, Feb 1, 2011

The Scholar’s Dilemma

Thomas Pangle analyzes civic virtue, skepticism and the hazards of theory

Wed, Jan 26, 2011

Tracking Latino Representation in American Politics

Jason Casellas publishes leading book on Latino representation

Tue, Jan 4, 2011

Are Democracy and Liberty Compatible?

Graduate student Steven Pittz analyzes Tocqueville

bottom border