Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Alan Tully, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Past Events

Sat, Dec 11, 2010 10:00 AM | Historic Byrne-Reed House (15th and Rio Grande Streets)

Holiday Book Fair hosted by Humanities Texas

Fri, Dec 3, 2010

Fall 2010 class end

Mon, Nov 22, 2010 3:00 PM | TNH 2.111 (Sheffield Room), UT Law School, Level Two

Book Talk: Robert Perkinson presents his book on the prison system

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 8:00 PM | AT&T Conference Center's Carillon Mezzanine, PDR 4

Talk: "Bodies and Ruins: Imagining the Bombing of Germany, 1945-Present"

Tue, Nov 16, 2010 6:00 PM | SJH 207 AB, San Jacinto Conference Center

Beyond El Barrio Symposium and Book Signing

Sun, Nov 14, 2010 2:00 PM | Lady Bird Johnson Auditorium, LBJ Library and Museum

Spike Lee to screen, discuss latest documentary, "If God Is Willing and da Creek Don't Rise"

Thu, Nov 11, 2010 12:00 PM | Bass Lecture Hall, basement level of LBJ School of Public Affairs

Fall Leadership Lecture Series features H.W. Brands

Wed, Nov 3, 2010 12:00 PM | Belo Mansion & Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave., Dallas, Texas

Talk: "The Future of Capital Punishment in America"

Wed, Nov 3, 2010 6:00 PM | GAR 0.102

Film Screening: "When I Rise"

Thu, Oct 28, 2010 5:00 PM | Santa Rita Room, Texas Union 3.502

Lecture: "The 'Pre-Colombian' Era of Drug Trafficking in the Americas: Cocaine, 1945-1973"

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 3:30 PM | UT Law School, TNH 2.111 (Sheffield Room)

Talk: "Asylum Rights between Left and Right: The German Case"

Fri, Oct 22, 2010 3:00 PM | GAR 1.102

Gender Symp: "Rebecca Couch's Pan-Mississippi Journey"

Tue, Oct 19, 2010 3:30 PM | GAR 1.102

Talk: "Cooling the Land: Environment and History in Africa"

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 1:00 PM | GAR 4.100

IHS Symp.: New monograph on Civil War

Thu, Sep 30, 2010 | University of Texas campus

Conf: Cold War Cultures - four-day event

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 3:30 PM | UT Student Union, Eastwoods Room 2.102

Panel on Mexico's Independence

Thu, Sep 23, 2010 3:00 PM | GAR 1.102

Gender Symp.: "Gender at Work" panel

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 10:00 AM | Gregory Gym Plaza

Normandy Scholar Program hosts table at Study Abroad Fair

Wed, Aug 25, 2010

Fall 2010 classes begin

Tue, Aug 24, 2010 9:00 AM | GAR 1.102

Teaching Assistant Orientation

Tue, Aug 24, 2010 5:00 PM | GAR 1.102

Graduate student & faculty reception

Tue, Aug 24, 2010 8:30 PM | Main Mall

"Gone to Texas" welcomes new students

Wed, Aug 18, 2010 9:00 AM | GAR 1.102

Graduate Student Orientation

Sun, Jun 6, 2010 | LBJ Library and Museum

Humanities Texas: Summer Teacher Institutes

Thu, Jun 3, 2010

Summer 2010 classes begin

Sat, May 22, 2010 8:00 PM | Main Mall in front of the Tower

University-wide Spring Commencement

Fri, May 21, 2010 6:00 PM | Bass Concert Hall

Department of History Spring Graduation 2010

Wed, May 5, 2010 6:00 PM | Mexican American Cultural Center, 601 River Street

Panel: "Many Mexicos, 1810-2010: Texas and the Mexican Independence Movement"

Mon, May 3, 2010 2:00 PM | Texas Union, Texas Governors' Room 3.116

Lecture: "Memoirs of a Mujaheed"

Fri, Apr 30, 2010 11:00 AM | WCH 1.120

Littlefield Lectures #2: Dr. Annette Gordon-Reed

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 5:30 PM | AT&T Executive Education and Convention Center Auditorium

Littlefield Lectures #1: Dr. Annette Gordon-Reed

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 12:00 PM | Texas Union, Santa Rita Suite 3.502

Concert: Tardeada de Acordión

Sat, Apr 17, 2010 9:00 AM | AT&T Executive Education & Conference Center

IHS Conf.: Independence and Decolonization—DAY 3

Sat, Apr 17, 2010 3:00 PM | BookPeople, 603 N. Lamar Boulevard

Book Reading: "Cradle of Gold" by 2nd-year grad student Christopher Heaney

Fri, Apr 16, 2010 8:45 AM | AT&T Executive Education & Conference Center

IHS Conf.: Independence and Decolonization—DAY 2

Thu, Apr 15, 2010 3:30 PM | AT&T Executive Education & Conference Center

IHS Conf.: Independence and Decolonization—DAY 1

Wed, Apr 14, 2010 3:30 PM | Sinclair Suite, Texas Union 3.128

Symp.: "Many Mexicos, 1810-2010: Independence, Revolution, and Nation-State Formation in Mexico"

Sat, Apr 3, 2010 8:30 AM | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, Room 202

Rethinking Iranian Nationalism—DAY 2

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 8:30 AM | AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, Room 202

Rethinking Iranian Nationalism—DAY 1

Wed, Mar 31, 2010 3:00 PM | PAR 310

Discussion: "Nietzsche, Stöker, and the 'New Ethic'"

Sun, Mar 28, 2010 9:00 AM | Texas Union

Africa Conf.: Women, Gender and Sexualities in Africa—DAY 3

Sat, Mar 27, 2010 9:00 AM | Texas Union

Africa Conf.: Women, Gender and Sexualities in Africa—DAY 2

Sat, Mar 27, 2010 9:00 AM | Harry Ransom Center

British Scholar Conf.—DAY 3

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 8:30 AM | Harry Ransom Center

British Scholar Conf.—DAY 2

Thu, Mar 25, 2010 1:00 PM | Harry Ransom Center

British Scholar Conf.—DAY 1

Thu, Mar 25, 2010 4:00 PM | San Jacinto Conference Center 207AB

Lecture: CMAS Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series 2010

Fri, Mar 5, 2010 3:00 PM | GAR 2.112

Gender Symp: "From the 'Gayborhood' to the Small Town"

Fri, Mar 5, 2010 3:00 PM | Texas Union, Sinclair Suite 3.128

Gender Symp: "A Tale of Two Scandals: Sexual and Legal conflict in France and French Algeria"

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 8:30 AM | AT&T Conference Center

Dept. Faculty Retreat

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 4:00 PM | El Mercado Uptown, 1702 Lavaca St., Austin, Texas 78701

Book signing: "Beyond the Latino World War II Hero"

Sat, Feb 6, 2010 9:15 AM | Harry Ransom Center, Prothro Theater

Symposium: "Seaborne Renaissance: Global Exchanges and Religion in Early Modernity"

Fri, Jan 29, 2010 9:00 AM | UT School of Law, Eidman Courtroom

Conf.: Law Sch. hosts judicial biography and Supreme Court conf.

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 8:00 AM | GEB 3.312 & WCH 4.118

Conf: Women’s Autobiography in Islamic Societies: Defining the Genre

Tue, Jan 19, 2010

Spring 2010 classes begin

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 | San Diego, Calif.

American Historical Association annual convention

bottom border