Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Alan Tully, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Diaspora and Migration

Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7240  |  GAR 3.310

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Daina Ramey Berry

Daina Ramey Berry

Associate Professor

drb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.104

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4358  |  GAR 2.104A

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University
Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor

benbrower@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6813  |  GAR 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University
Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7253  |  GAR 2.104C

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University
Photo of Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola

Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.

toyinfalola@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7224  |  GAR 2.142

Education   

Ph.D., 1981, University of Ife
Photo of Seth W. Garfield

Seth W. Garfield

Associate Professor; Director, Institute for Historical Studies

sgarfield@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7269 / 512-232-2414  |  GAR 2.120 / SRH 1.304A

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Kali Gross

Kali Gross

Associate Professor

kngross@mail.utexas.edu  |  GRG 234F

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Frank A. Guridy

Frank A. Guridy

Associate Professor; Director, John L. Warfield Center for African and African-American Studies

fguridy@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7267  |  GAR 2.202/ JES A232

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7850  |  GAR 3.106 / BUR 476

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Jacqueline Jones

Jacqueline Jones

Professor; Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History, Ideas; Mastin Gentry White Prof. of So. History

jjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4193  |  GAR 2.109

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6110  |  GAR 2.146

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6171  |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Anne M. Martínez

Anne M. Martínez

Assistant Professor

ammtz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7268  |  GAR 3.214

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Interests

  Mexican Americans, religion, migration, nation

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Prof. Asian Studies, History, Religious Studies; Affiliated, Ctr. Women & Gender Studies

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6044  |  WCH 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University
Photo of Sarah Steinbock-Pratt

Sarah Steinbock-Pratt

Lecturer

sarahsteinbockpratt@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7250  |  GAR 3.210

Education   

Ph.D., 2013, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor; Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs

suri@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7242  |  GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education   

Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University
Photo of Alan Tully

Alan Tully

Professor; Chair, History Department: Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professorship in American History

tully@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.106A

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Juliet E. K. Walker

Juliet E. K. Walker

Professor

jekwalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5581  |  GAR 2.136

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Chicago
Photo of Emilio Zamora

Emilio Zamora

Professor

e.zamora@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8706  |  GAR 2.104B

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
bottom border