Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Gender, Sexuality and Family

Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6400  |  WMB 6.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles
Photo of Daina Ramey Berry

Daina Ramey Berry

Associate Professor

drb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.104

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7253  |  GAR 2.104C

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University
Photo of Ruramisai Charumbira

Ruramisai Charumbira

Assistant Professor

r-c@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8361  |  GAR 0.134

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7252  |  GAR 3.412

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Photo of Judith G. Coffin

Judith G. Coffin

Associate Professor

jcoffin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7235  |  GAR 2.206

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, Yale University
Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7245  |  GAR 2.116

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Chicago
Photo of Kali Gross

Kali Gross

Associate Professor

kngross@mail.utexas.edu  |  GRG 234F

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Julie Hardwick

Julie Hardwick

Professor

jhardwick@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7221  |  GAR 3.112

Education   

Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7850  |  GAR 3.106 / BUR 476

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Jacqueline Jones

Jacqueline Jones

Professor; Chair, History Department; Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History, Ideas; Mastin Gentry White Prof. of So. History

jjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.106A

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor; Mary Helen Thompson Centennial Professor in the Humanities; Co-Director, Program in British Studies

philippa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1236  |  HRC 3.202B

Education   

D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)
Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7910  |  GAR 3.202

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6171  |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor

matysik@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7251  |  GAR 3.402

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University
Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor

gminault@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7214  |  GAR 3.118

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7219  |  GAR 2.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University
Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9123  |  BUR 456

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington
Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor; Chair, Religious Studies Department

newman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2264/ 512-475-8660  |  BUR 532 / GAR 3.408

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University
Photo of Megan Seaholm

Megan Seaholm

Senior Lecturer

seaholm@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7243  |  GAR 3.214

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Rice University
Photo of Ann Twinam

Ann Twinam

Professor

anntwinam@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7213  |  GAR 2.114

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
bottom border