Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Science, Technology and Medicine

Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7240  |  GAR 3.310

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7253  |  GAR 2.104C

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University
Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7694  |  GAR 2.108

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Sally H. Clarke

Professor

sclarke@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7241  |  GAR 3.114

Education   

Ph.D., 1987, Brown University
Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7245  |  GAR 2.116

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Chicago
Photo of Van A. Herd

Van A. Herd

Lecturer

herd@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-692-9310

Interests

  Neurophysiology, Baroque Science, and Jacob Boehme

Photo of Bruce J. Hunt

Bruce J. Hunt

Associate Professor

bjhunt@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6109  |  GAR 2.106

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Johns Hopkins University

Interests

  History of science and technology

Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6110  |  GAR 2.146

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor; Mary Helen Thompson Centennial Professor in the Humanities; Co-Director, Program in British Studies

philippa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1236  |  HRC 3.202B

Education   

D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)
Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Associate Professor

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-9426  |  GAR 0.138

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, University of Minnesota
Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor

matysik@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7251  |  GAR 3.402

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Assistant Professor

osseo@utexas.edu  |  GAR 0.112

Education   

Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests

  history and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Megan Raby

Megan Raby

Assistant Professor

meganraby@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7925  |  GAR 0.114

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  History of Science, Environmental History, US and Caribbean, 19th and 20th c.

bottom border