Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Medieval and Early Modern Worlds

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor, Superior Oil Company-Linward Shivers Cenntenial Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Director of the Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7267; 512-232-3470  |  HRH 2.110B

Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4358  |  GAR 2.104A

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University
Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6375  |  GAR 2.109

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University
Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor; Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professorship in History

sguha@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7236  |  GAR 2.140

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge
Photo of Julie Hardwick

Julie Hardwick

Professor

jhardwick@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7221  |  GAR 3.112

Education   

Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6110  |  GAR 2.146

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Brian P. Levack

Brian P. Levack

Professor; John E. Green Regents Professor in History; Distinguished Teaching Professor

levack@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7204  |  GAR 3.502

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Yale University
Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7910  |  GAR 3.202

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Associate Professor Emeritus

amarcus@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University
Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor; Chair, Religious Studies Department

newman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2264/ 512-475-8660  |  BUR 532 / GAR 3.408

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University
Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7229  |  GAR 3.406

Education   

PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison
Photo of Alan Tully

Alan Tully

Professor; Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professorship in American History

tully@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6320  |  GAR 3.504

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Ann Twinam

Ann Twinam

Professor

anntwinam@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7213  |  GAR 2.114

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
bottom border