Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Race, Ethnicity and Nation

Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6400  |  WMB 6.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles
Photo of Daina Ramey Berry

Daina Ramey Berry

Associate Professor

drb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.104

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, United States History, University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4358  |  GAR 2.104A

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University
Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7253  |  GAR 2.104C

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University
Photo of Matthew Butler

Matthew Butler

Associate Professor

mbutler@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7972  |  GAR 3.414

Education   

Ph.D., University of Bristol
Photo of Seth W. Garfield

Seth W. Garfield

Professor; Director, Institute for Historical Studies

sgarfield@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7269 / 512-232-2414  |  GAR 2.120 / SRH 1.304A

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Virginia Garrard-Burnett

Virginia Garrard-Burnett

Professor and Associate Chair

garrard@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7822  |  GAR 2.204

Education   

Ph.D., Tulane University
Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7245  |  GAR 2.116

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Chicago
Photo of Kali Gross

Kali Gross

Associate Professor

kngross@mail.utexas.edu  |  GRG 234F

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, History, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Frank A. Guridy

Frank A. Guridy

Associate Professor; Director, John L. Warfield Center for African and African-American Studies

fguridy@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7267  |  GAR 2.202/ JES A232

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, History, University of Michigan
Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7850  |  GAR 3.106

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Jacqueline Jones

Jacqueline Jones

Professor; Chair, History Department; Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History, Ideas; Mastin Gentry White Prof. of So. History

jjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261  |  GAR 1.106A

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor; Mary Helen Thompson Centennial Professor in the Humanities; Co-Director, Program in British Studies

philippa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1236  |  HRC 3.202B

Education   

D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)
Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6171  |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Leonard N. Moore

Leonard N. Moore

Professor; Senior Associate Vice-President, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement

leonardmoore@austin.utexas.edu  |  GAR 512-475-7254/ SSB 512-232-2913  |  GAR 2.111/ SSB 4.118

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, History, Ohio State University
Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9123  |  BUR 456

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Assistant Professor

osseo@utexas.edu  |  GAR 0.112

Education   

Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests

  history and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor; Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs

suri@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7242  |  GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education   

Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University
Photo of Ann Twinam

Ann Twinam

Professor

anntwinam@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7213  |  GAR 2.114

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Juliet E. K. Walker

Juliet E. K. Walker

Professor

jekwalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5581  |  GAR 2.136

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, American History, University of Chicago
Photo of Emilio Zamora

Emilio Zamora

Professor

e.zamora@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8706  |  GAR 2.104B

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
bottom border