Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Faculty

Religion and Culture

Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7240  |  GAR 3.310

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6400  |  WMB 6.102

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles
Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4358  |  GAR 2.104A

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University
Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor

benbrower@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6813  |  GAR 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University
Photo of Matthew Butler

Matthew Butler

Associate Professor

mbutler@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7972  |  GAR 3.414

Education   

Ph.D., University of Bristol
Photo of Jorge CaƱizares-Esguerra

Jorge CaƱizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7694  |  GAR 2.108

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola

Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.

toyinfalola@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7224  |  GAR 2.142

Education   

Ph.D., 1981, History, University of Ife
Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6375  |  GAR 2.109

Education   

Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University
Photo of Van A. Herd

Van A. Herd

Lecturer

herd@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-692-9310

Interests

  Neurophysiology, Baroque Science, and Jacob Boehme

Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6110  |  GAR 2.146

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Brian P. Levack

Brian P. Levack

Professor; John E. Green Regents Professor in History; Distinguished Teaching Professor

levack@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7204  |  GAR 3.502

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, Yale University
Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Assistant Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6171  |  GAR 0.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Associate Professor Emeritus

amarcus@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University
Photo of G. Howard Miller

G. Howard Miller

Professor Emeritus

hmiller@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1970, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor

gminault@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7214  |  GAR 3.118

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania
Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor; Chair, Religious Studies Department

newman@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2264/ 512-475-8660  |  BUR 532 / GAR 3.408

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University
Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Prof. Asian Studies, History, Religious Studies; Affiliated, Ctr. Women & Gender Studies

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6044  |  WCH 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University
Photo of Alan Tully

Alan Tully

Professor; Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professorship in American History

tully@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6320  |  GAR 3.504

Education   

Ph.D., 1973, Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Andrew Villalon

Andrew Villalon

Senior Lecturer

avillalon@austin.rr.com  |  512-475-8004  |  GAR 4.120

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Yale University
bottom border