Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Undergraduate Program Financial Aid

The Department of History is pleased to have numerous scholarships available for undergraduate students in our History programs. Specific procedures and deadlines are determined annually by the Department Chair and the faculty Undergraduate Scholarship Committee. Looking for scholarships and funding resources takes a lot of time and research. Some funds are only available if you are working on your senior thesis; others are available for outstanding service to the university; and many are only available for juniors and seniors. Many require a letter of recommendation by a History faculty member.

The Fall 2015 application for History Scholarships and specific eligibility details will be available by early October 2015 with a deadline in early November 2015. Check this website for updates.

In Sping 2015, the department will nominate several students for scholarships for the 2015-16 academic year. Typically, they are available only to first majors in history. Nominated students will be notified at their official UT Austin email address.

To be considered for scholarships that are need based, you must complete a FAFSA.

Fall Scholarships

Anne Perkins Garrison Scholarship in History
Donor: Abigail Curlee Holbrook Estate
Amount: $1,000
For: Undergraduate History Majors

C. Stephen and Patricia W. Saunders Endowed Scholarship in History
Donor: The Charles and Betti Saunders Foundation
Amount: $1,000
For: Undergraduate students who have demonstrated academic promise and who show the desire and ability to do research and writing as History majors.

Judge James Benjamin Clark Endowed Scholarships and Fellowships
Donor: Mr. Charles Carroll Clark
Amount: $2,000
For: Undergraduate History majors who demonstrate exceptional academic merit. Students must be eligible for financial aid as determined by the Office of Student Financial Services.

Martin Parmer Scholarship in Texas History
Donors: The estate of Martin Parmer, donated by Dr. Frances B. Vick and Mr. Ross W. Vick, Jr.
Amount: $1,000
For: Undergraduate History majors studying Texas History

Matilda Weeden Barker Scholarship in History
Donor: Abigail Curlee Holbrook Estate
Amount: $1,000
For: Undergraduate History Majors

Rubert Scholarship
Donor: The Grace Rebecca Rubert Estate
Amount: $1,000
For: Undergraduate History Majors; preference is given to those who have studied American and Texas History.

Spring Scholarships

The History Department is pleased to nominate History majors for several scholarships each year.

Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarships
Amount: $2,500
For: History majors who have a University-wide GPA of 3.75 and at least 45 hours in residence. The Department is asked to nominate several majors each year from a list of eligible students provided by the University.

Scott Chamberlain Memorial Endowed Presidential Scholarship
Donors: Mr. David A. Chamberlain and Mr. John H. Chamberlain
Amount: $2,500
For: History majors who have a University-wide GPA of 3.75, a History GPA of 3.25 in History, and at least 45 hours in residence.

Dr. Bailey R. Collins/Ellene Collins Ward/Mary Sue Collins Hibbs Scholarship
Donor: Mary Sue Hibbs Estate
Amount: $1,000 - $4,000
For: Undergraduate History majors who have completed 30 hours of coursework, two semesters in residence at UT, and have a 3.5 GPA. The Department of History nominates students for this scholarship, which is awarded by the College of Liberal Arts.

Raymond Starr Scholarship in History
Donors: Dr. Raymond Starr, BA '58, Ph.D. '64. Dr. Starr is Professor Emeritus of History at San Diego State University.
Amount: $700 - 1,000
For: Undergraduate History majors. The Department of History nominates students for this scholarship, which is awarded by the Texas Exes Association.

Departmental Programs

Normandy Scholar Program
Thad W. Riker Scholarship
Donor: Nolie Richard Keenan, Jr. Estate
$1,000 - $3,000
For: Students admitted to the Normandy Scholars Program. Normandy Scholars also receive funding from a generous endowment established by Mr. Frank Denius and the Derek Schaver Memorial Scholarship in Liberal Arts.

History Honors Program
The Ferguson-Segre Best Thesis Prize for Excellence in the Study of History
Donor: Department of History. Established in memory of the late University of Texas professors John Ferguson (medieval history) and Claudio G. Segre (modern Italian history)
Amount: $100
For: History Honors student with the most outstanding thesis research and writing.

Awards and Prizes

The Department of History receives gifts from generous individuals who wish to reward outstanding efforts by undergraduates studying history. All awards are welcome. Large endowed scholarships are a lasting gift and can be donated to the Texas Exes, the College of Liberal Arts, or the History Department.  Even a small donation to the Department of History can be added with various donors to continue or increase existing awards or create an award for one or two years. The Chair and the Faculty Undergraduate Scholarship Committee determine procedures for distributing awards to deserving students. Past prizes have included the Professor Louis Tuffly Ellis Award in the Excellence in the Study of Texas History and a South Asian History Award in honor of Professor Gail Minault.

If you would like to make a gift for an undergraduate scholarship, please mail your pledge to:

Kathleen Aronson, Ph.D., Assistant Dean of Development
The University of Texas at Austin
Office of Alumni & Giving, College of Liberal Arts
116 Inner Campus Dr., Stop G6300
Austin, TX 78712-1260

You may also e-mail Kathleen Aronson, Ph.D. or call 512-475-9763 to receive more information.

Last updated: December 17, 2014

bottom border