Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Student Organizations for History Students

Phi Alpha Theta

National Honor Society in History, Beta-Alpha Chapter

What is Phi Alpha Theta?

We are a national professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through:

  • the encouragement of research
  • good teaching
  • publication
  • the exchange of learning and ideas among historians

We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways.

How do I know if I am eligible for Phi Alpha Theta?

Beta-Alpha Chapter requirements for membership are:

  • For undergraduates: Completion of at least 12 semester hours of history taken at any college or university with a minimum 3.1 GPA; minimum of 3.0 GPA in overall coursework.
  • For graduate students: A major or minor in history, completion of one semester in residence and a grade point average of 3.5 in history and 3.0 in non-history courses taken in the Graduate School.

How can I join?

Students eligible for membership will be contacted by a representative of Phi Alpha Theta with the necessary information to join. (There is no longer an application process.) Questions about eligibility: contact History Undergraduate Advising Office, 512-471-7670.

How much are the membership dues?

The membership fee is $40. An additional $20 is required for local chapter dues. Payment of the $60 fee entitles the member to a lifetime membership in Phi Alpha Theta and a one-year subscription to The Historian, a scholarly journal published by the national office of Phi Alpha Theta.

Current Members


-Catherine Harris (President)             -Russell Lang
-Hailey Thomas                                -Nancy Yuan
-Jennifer H. Harris                            -Savannah Compton
-Jenny Klingshirn                              -Lauren Schaefer
-Katlin Wilcox                                   -Matthew Levinton
-Mary Murphy                                   -Charlie Pendergraft


•Hannah N. Abbasi                        •Ernest Walter Brown                    •Rachel N. Carter
•Emma E. Davis                            •Steven R. Denman                      •Ashley N. Jaros
•Christopher E. Johnson-Meyers      •Adrian Jurado III                        •Mary Martha Kidd
•Phillip R. Kreyche                         •Dan Foster Laney IV                    •Kirsten Mariee Martinez
•Ramon Daniel Mejia                     •Snigdha Merugu                          •Lawrence J. Najvar Jr.
•José M. Ordóñez                          •Keith Pitstick                               •Derek Polston
•Randall G. Reinhard                      •Christopher G. Riggs                   •Robert P. Sheffy
•Sasha K. Schellenberg                  •Carson Y. Stones                        •Sara B. Teel
•Katherine Tiambeng                     •Junqin Li                                    •Natalie Ngoc Tuyet Tran
•Douglas L. Waldrep                      •Alexandra M. Wetegrove              •Kimberly Ann Carroll
•Adriana Y. Cásarez                       •David L. Christiansen                   •Mackenzie Coplin
•Edwin Garica                               •Grant D. Glenewinkel                   •Brenda Gonzalez
•Scott K. Jameson                         •Jamie Lynn Jones                        •Kaitlin Janelle Kirk
•Peter H. Liddell                            •Jake A. Malone                            •Kayla M. Marvin
•William Angus McLeod IV              •Madelyn R. Morgan                     •Parick Gilbreath Naeve
•Ryan Alexander Neel                    •Lauren R. Proctor                        •Andrew S. Rachlin
•Laurel L. Richards                        •Milton G. Rogas                          •Daniel Jay Rusnak
•Kevin C. Stewart                         •Jameson C. Tieman                     •Jacob T. Troublefield
•Ben N. Weiss                              •Taylor Ryan Yetter                       •Nancy F. Yuan

Last updated: August 6, 2012
bottom border