Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
linguistics masthead linguistics masthead
Anthony C. Woodbury, Chair CLA 4.304, Mailcode B5100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1701

Graduate Student List

Eric Adell

Graduate student

adell@utexas.edu

Cynthia Blanco

Teaching Assistant (UGS 303 - Minds and Machines)

cindyblanco@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4th floor

Education   

MA, Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  (bilingual) first language acquisition, speech perception and the perception of accented speech, development of children's social and linguistic networks

Christopher Brown

Teaching Assistant

chrisbrown@utexas.edu  |  512.522.2462  |  CLA 4.400

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Computational Linguistics, Semantics, Pragmatics

Eric Campbell

Graduate student

ericcampbell@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.700

Interests

  Linguistic description and theory, historical linguistics, language documentation, linguistic typology, lexical semantics, and lexicography, Mesoamerica, Otomanguean languages

Telma Can Pixabaj

Graduate student

kaantelma@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 519B

Luis Chacartegui Quetglas

Graduate student

CAL 423C

Stacy (Po-Ting) Chen

Teaching Assistant

ptchen@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.400

Zach Childers

Assistant Instructor

zchilders@utexas.edu

Justin Cope

Graduate Research Assistant

copejl@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-771-9894  |  CAL 430C

Interests

  Semantics, Pragmatics

Hilaria Cruz

Graduate student

layacruz@gmail.com

James Evans

Graduate Research Assistant

jsevan@email.wm.edu  |  CAL 430B

Laura Faircloth

Graduate student

Joseph P Frazee

Graduate Research Assistant

jfrazee@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 430D

Gabriela Garcia

Graduate student

ggsalido@gmail.com  |  CLA 4.7001

Education   

PhD Candidate in Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Language Documentation, Descriptive Linguistics, Linguistic Typology and Uto-Aztecan Languages (Southeastern Tepehuan).

Rachael Gilbert

Graduate Research Assistant

rachaelgilbert@gmail.com  |  CAL 423F

Interests

  Phonetics, Communication Disorders, Computational Linguistics

Lynn Y Hou

Graduate student

lyshou@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.400M

Interests

  Documentary sign linguistics, child language acquisition and socialization, linguistics of signed languages with a focus on morphology & morpho-syntax, cross-modal typology

Kyle Jerro

Graduate student

jerrokyle@gmail.com

Interests

  Syntax/Lexical Semantics. Argument Structure. Linguistic Typology. Bantu Languages.

Vijay G John

Teaching Assistant

vijayjohn@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 425

Niamh Kelly

Teaching Assistant

niamh.kelly@utexas.edu  |  CAL 536B

Interests

  Phonology (experimental phonology), phonetics, historical linguistics, typology

Jinung Kim

Graduate student

borgesk@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 525B

Jungsoo Kim

Graduate student

jungsookim@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.400P-AD

Interests

  Syntax; Corpus linguistics; Construction grammar

Jorn Klinger

Teaching Assistant

klinger@utexas.edu  |  CAL 423D

Interests

  Learning in Social Networks

Juwon Lee

Graduate student

jwlee@mail.utexas.edu

Elena Liskova

Assistant Instructor

eliskova@utexas.edu  |  CAL 531B

Cornelia Loos

Graduate student

cornelia.loos@utexas.edu  |  CAL 519E

Maria del Mar Bassa Varnell

Graduate student

mbassa@mail.utexas.edu  |  Workstation W13 4th floor, CLA.

Education   

BA in English Literature and Linguistics, University of the Balearic Islands (Spain)

Kate Mesh

Teaching Assistant

kate.a.mesh@gmail.com  |  CLA 4.400R

Jason Mielens

Graduate Research Assistant

jmielens@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.422

Adan Francisco Pascual

Graduate student

adanfp@utexas.edu  |  CAL 528D

Justin Power

Graduate student

Wikaliler D Smith

Graduate student

wdsmith@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 538A

Tammi Stout

Assistant Instructor

stoutt@utexas.edu  |  CAL 432

Education   

MA, Boston College

Interests

  Semantics, Mayan languages

Ryan Sullivant

Graduate Research Assistant

jryansullivant@utexas.edu

Interests

  Documentary and descriptive linguistics; Phonology and phonetics; Chatino

Adam Tallman

Teaching Assistant

ajrtallman@utexas.edu

Education   

Master of Arts (Linguistics), University of Manitoba

Interests

  Functional Typology, Laboratory Phonology, Prosody, Syntax-Phonology Interface, Field Methods, Algonquian (esp. Saulteaux-Ojibwe), Panoan (esp. Ch├ícobo-Pacaguara) and Amazonian generally, Statistical and Probabilistic models in linguistics

Daniel Valle Arevalo

Graduate student

davalle@utexas.edu  |  CAL 430A

Interests

  Language documentation and description, Historical linguistics, Information structure

Daniel Velleman

Graduate Research Assistant

dvelleman@gmail.com  |  CAL 423B

Interests

  Semantics and pragmatics; corpus linguistics; information structure; Mayan languages

Stephanie Villard

Graduate Research Assistant

stephvillard@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 434C

Sarah Wagner

Graduate student

swagner@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 527C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Sociolinguistics; Language, Gender and Sexuality; Family Talk

Benjamin Wing

Graduate Research Assistant

ben@benwing.com

Tony Wright

Graduate student

tonywright@mail.utexas.edu  |  CAL 427

bottom border