Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
linguistics masthead linguistics masthead
Richard P. Meier, Chair CLA 4.304, Mailcode B5100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1701

Archived News

Tue, Dec 15, 2009

Fellowships Go to Three Linguistics Doctoral Students for Studies of Endangered Languages

Recipients are Wikaliler Daniel Smith, Telma Can, & Justin McIntosh.

Tue, Nov 24, 2009

Five Linguistics Majors Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Award Recognizes High Academic Achievement

Fri, Nov 6, 2009

Texas Linguistic Society Conference to meet Nov. 13-15

Topics include research in semantics & pragmatics anchored in naturalistic or experimental data. Workshop on Discourse Structure honors the work of Carlota Smith.

Thu, Nov 5, 2009

Rapoport-King Scholarship to Alisha Van Eimeren.

Prof. Robert D. King to advise Linguistics major's research.

Mon, Sep 21, 2009

David Beaver Awarded NSF Grant for "Modeling Discourse and Social Dynamics in Authoritarian Regimes"

Multi-Site Project Links UT Researchers with Groups at Cornell and University of Memphis.

Tue, Sep 8, 2009

NSF Award For Research on Developmental Language Disorders of Signed Languages

David Quinto-Pozos will study spatial cognition in native-signing children.

Mon, Aug 17, 2009

Linguistics Welcomes New Faculty

Colin Bannard and David Quinto-Pozos Join Department

Mon, Aug 17, 2009

Tony Woodbury Interviewed on New York Public Radio

Listen to the Discussion of Language Endangerment

Wed, Aug 12, 2009

Five-year NSF Grant to Katrin Erk for Studies of Word Meaning

CAREER Award of $433,449 for Research in Computational Linguistics

Thu, Aug 6, 2009

ASL Faculty Member Franky Ramont Wins Instructional Technology Award

Innovative Instructional Website Honored

Wed, Aug 5, 2009

Endangered Language Documentation Programme Awards Scholarship to Eric Campbell

Award Supports Field Research on Zenzontepec Chatino, a Language of Oaxaca, Mexico

Tue, Aug 4, 2009

B'alam Mateo Toledo Dissertation Honored

Award made by the Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA)

bottom border