Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
philosophy masthead
David Sosa, Chair 2210 Speedway, WAG 316, Stop C3500, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-4857

Graduate Conference 2007

conference  schedule

27-28 April, 2007

friday, 27 april

9:00 - 9:30  Breakfast

9:30 - 10:30  The Exclusion Argument Unmotivated, Mark Makin (Biola University)
Commentator: Enrico Grube (UT Austin)
Chair: James Sherman (UT Austin)

10:45 - 1145  Parthood and Location, Raul Saucedo (Cornell University)
Commentator: Briggs Wright (UT Austin)
Chair: Julie Hunter (UT Austin)

11:45 - 1:00  Lunch

1:00 - 2:00  Universals, Chad Carmichael (Stanford University)
Commentator: Bryan Pickel (UT Austin)
Chair: Dan Korman (UT Austin)

2:15 - 3:15  Future Persons and Victimless Wrongs, Johann Frick (Oxford University)
Commentator: Eleanor Vernon (UT Austin)
Chair: Tim Pickavance (UT Austin)

3:30 - 4:30 Least Common Denominator: The Propositional Content Hypothesis, Shawn Standefer (University of Pittsburgh)
Commentator: Malte Willer (UT Austin)
Chair: Nick Mantegani (UT Austin)

5:00 - 7:00 Keynote Address, Texas Union Eastwoods Room
Things We Don't Do, Achille Varzi (Columbia University)
Commentator: Rob Koons (UT Austin)
Chair: Aidan McGlynn (UT Austin)

7:45 Conference Dinner, Salvation Pizza

saturday, 28 april

10:00 - 10:30  Breakfast

10:30 - 11:30 What are Centered Worlds? Shen-yi Liao (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
Commentator: Derek Ball (UT Austin)
Chair: Alex Baia (UT Austin)

11:30 - 1:00  Lunch

1:00 - 3:00 Roundtable Discussion, Texas Union Eastwoods Room
Epistemic Normativity 
Daniel Bonevac (UT Austin) Jonathan Dancy (UT Austin and University of Reading)
David Sosa (UT Austin)
Chair: Enrico Grube, University of Texas at Austin

3:30 - 4:30 Disagreement between Peers, Nathan Ballantyne (University of Arizona)
Commentator: John Bengson (UT Austin)
Chair: Neil Sinhababu (UT Austin)

5:00 - 7:00  Keynote Address,
Texas Union Eastwoods Room Eternalist Actualism, Karen Bennett (Princeton University)
Commentator: Josh Dever (UT Austin)
Chair: Briggs Wright (UT Austin)

7:45  Conference Party, Location TBA

bottom border